We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pay Extra”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The George Hotel
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2012

After renting the Junior Suite it was a bit surprising to learn that major tv and in-room-internet needs to be payed extra. Breakfast was also charged extra and definetely below expectation in terms of quality. Location itself is perfect. In terms of view: Junior Suite was a good choice.

Room Tip: Junior Suite 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Klaus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmMT, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

Dear Klaus,

Thank you for reviewing your experience at The George.

We appreciate your comments regarding the additional costs for the services listed, however we do this to ensure the best possible room rates for our clients. We choose not to package all our services as this may inflate the cost of the accommodation. This allows our customers to choose and pay for the services that they actually need.

We do however always have packaged rates available through the hotel's booking site that allows discounted rates for customers who choose to purchase all the services in advance.

Thanks once again and we hope you choose The George once again for your next Malta visit.

Kind regards,
Malcolm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

787 - 793 of 1,243 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2012

We had a wonderful 5 night stay at this hotel. The service was impeccable, our room was modern, spacious, and overlooked the water with a large balcony. Breakfast had a very copious selection of great food, the lobby and bar were spacious and sophisticated as well. Lovely pool and jacuzzi, the only small negative thing was that the sauna, while in perfect working order the first day we were there, wasn't working the other days. Less than 5 minute walk to the bus stop to catch the bus to Valletta. Overall, our stay was a real treat and we would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KOuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmMT, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

Dear Kelli,

Thank you for finding the time to review The George. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We do apologise about the inconvenience encountered with the sauna however we have now rectified this issue accordingly. We hope that you choose The George once again for your next visit to Malta !!

Kind regards,
Malcolm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

we appreciated the good service and had an enjoyable weekend break :) will be visiting again in 3 weeks time :) .. thanks to everyone at The George Hotel ...

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

My and my girlfriend planned to stay at this hotel for a much-needed weekend break, and we got just that, as although this hotel is situated in the heart of Paceville, inside there was perfect silence and the sort of ambience you would need for a good break :)

We really enjoyed the spa ambience especially where the pool, jacuzzi, sauna and background music made it a truly enjoyable experience !

The only thing we would have improved is the quality of the foods for breakfast, which still weren't bad, but we were hoping for something a bit better ....

Nonetheless, this was a great weekend break!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthaeus G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

When arriving at The George Hotel, we received a very warm welcome from the staff. Fantastic modern hotel as you glimpse around you, you see relaxing colours and a warm environment. Cleanliness is excellent. Our room was just exactly what we needed for our 2 night holiday.. cleanliness and a relaxing atmosphere. Well done to all the staff for making our holiday FANTASTIC!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AMMFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

The management was so helpful and always with a smile. The rooms are so cosy, clean and beautifully furnished. If you use the parking it's at a very special rate for the customers. I reccommend this hotel and will visit again SOON.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank l-imqarba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Very beautiful and nice hotel. Big rooms and modern style.
The only problem that we have was that they have a problem when paying with credit card, their system was not working, so they made me go to an ATM and I've been charged bank fees because of that. I would have been nice if they had let me pay later since it was their fault, or at least discount the bank fees from the invoice.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmMT, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2012

Dear Dan,

Thank you for taking time in reviewing The George. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We apologise about the inconvenience regarding the credit card payment. We would be happy to refund your charges incurred at the ATM withdrawal. Contact me directly at ma@thegeorgemalta.com and we will handle accordingly.

Regards,
Malcolm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Julian's hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,917 reviews
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,106 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Argento Hotel
Argento Hotel
#10 of 33 in Saint Julian's
954 reviews
0.4 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,375 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#8 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: Triq Paceville Ave, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ3103, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#6 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#8 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: £69 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George is located in the heart of Paceville St.Julians, the foremost entertainment and leisure area on the island. Just a short stroll away from the sandy beach at St.George’s Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing