We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel Bad Neighbourhood” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The George Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The George Hotel
Ranked #11 of 34 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good Hotel Bad Neighbourhood”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

A really nice hotel, great staff, all very friendly. Spoilt by being in a very noisy neighbourhood. Spent 7 nights here, only got 2 full nights sleep.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmMT, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear Derek,

Thank you for choosing The George for your stay in Malta and taking time to review the hotel.

Although never foolproof, the hotel is equipped with double glazing balcony doors that are designed to reduce the noise levels within the rooms. We have very rarely had this complaint and trust that we will ensure allocating less noisy rooms if this issue arises again.

Kind regards,
Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    446
    461
    158
    44
    15
See reviews for
120
546
47
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

This hotel was luxurious and very comfortable with an excellent breakfast! The staff were welcoming and the location was ideal for exploring the island, you can walk all the way along the promenade to Sliema and there are buses to all parts of the island from the top of the street.

Room Tip: We selected a courtyard room which meant we had a balcony overlooking the back of the hotel, which w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egilsstadir, Iceland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Just back from our 5 night stay at the George. We had a studio and it was a good one.
The positives: A very friendly staff at the reception ready to help out right away with every request be it the electricity, the AC, the laundry, band-aids etc. Cleanliness was spotless and they get an A+ from me for not overusing very smelly cleaning stuff which I have sometimes found to be a problem in hotels. The breakfast had a good selection of healthy and not-so-healthy food and suited both of us. The roof-top was a great place to sit outside and enjoy the view and the sun. The neigbourhood has countless restaurants and bars and the location of the hotel is great.
The negative: The AC was not working properly one day and the fan didn´t work. The issue was however taken care of the next day and it worked well after that. But the AC was a bit noisy and that was a bit uncomfortable. The wi-fi didn´t work and had to be reset but nevertheless the only way to use the internet was through cable. The oven requires a PhD to make it work. The shower is a fixed one and has not a handheld option which I would have prefered.
On the whole, I recommend the hotel and would 100% book again for my next stay in Malta.

Room Tip: A room on the sunny side:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TinnaKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

We really liked this hotel and enjoyed our stay here. We stayed in a 'Standard Room'. However, there were a few negatives, but I'll get to those later. So, the positive things - well, I am pleased to say (or write!) that there is a list: The rooms were spacious (including the bathroom with its large walk-in shower) and the beds themselves were large. Extra bedding (two additional duvets) could be found in the well-sized wardrobe. We had a room with a balcony - you can smoke out on the balcony but you need to buy your own ashtray. Do be careful not to leave evidence of smoking in the room itself, or the hotel will charge you a 200 euro cleaning charge. Another impressive feature was that air conditioning & heating in the room was totally controlled by a panel within the room, allowing you to adjust the temperature to your individual needs. There was also a fridge in the room – very convenient to store your drinks & food in. The room also has a nice sized flat screen TV. The hotel has a relaxing & stylish lounge, where you can get free internet access. There is also a spa & a swimming pool on the roof. The lift had a nifty security feature; you had to swipe your hotel card (key card) to work the lift. The staff members were wonderful; always polite & helpful, and nothing seemed too much trouble for them. Hotel throughout was very clean.

The hotel is located near lots of restaurants (mainly Italian – but ‘The Avenue’ has a varied selection at reasonable prices), small shops, a shopping mall around the corner and bus services nearby.

Despite being one of the best hotels we’ve stayed in, there were a few negatives. Fundamentally please note that this hotel is very noisy. The noise I mention comes from outside the hotel itself – you can hear people talking & shouting quite clearly (NB: we had a 3rd floor room) throughout the night. It woke my partner up in the early hours of the morning as party-goers made their way home. We were in a 3rd floor room which faced out onto the street, so I can’t comment on how noisy the inward facing rooms would be. The windows are double glazed to help with this noise pollution problem, but it still remains noisy. The banging of doors as people come in/out at night can be heard clearly & we could hear the neighbouring rooms TV. However, the sound proofing was good compared to other hotels we’ve stayed at. Also, there was no coffee/tea making facilities in the room, which was unusual. The buffet breakfast was limited in its range (i.e. no fried egg), and was of a quality on par with a Premier Inn hotel.

The TV channels that are provided for free are basic news channels from different world regions. Apart from this no other TV channels are provided in the free package for entertainment purposes. We purchased a package for a week duration at 35 euros, that provided their full range of movies & TV channels. This package did include unlimited internet access in the room, but was poor in its range offered. For example, there was no entertainment TV channels provided, only more news channels. The movies provided were all dated and limited; we only spotted one movie worth watching.

The negative aspects I’ve mentioned can all be easily rectified by the hotel, and then this hotel would easily be of an excellent standard. As I previously mentioned, we really enjoyed our stay at The George and would recommended it to others.

Room Tip: Outward facing rooms (facing onto the street) are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GulliverTales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derry.ireland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

Just back from a 4 night break in the George with my Wife and our 19 month old son,
Positives
Staff- were very friendly and helpful without execption (especially Caroline who was very helpful in answering queries I had prior to arrival
Location- excellent location five mins walk from the bus stop to Silema/ Valetta, (there is also a beautiful promenade which you can walk to Silema in approx 30 mins), and there are also umpteen restaurants / bars in the immediate vicinity
Cleanliness - Both the studio we had and the communal areas of the hotel were spotless

Negatives
Room- we had taken a studio due to it having a kitchenette, whilst the room was of a good size and was spacious, a major issue we had was the A/C, we turned it up full blast and lowered the temp to 16 deg but the lowest the temperature got that night was 23 deg ( we had a room thermometer which we always take with us when travelling with our little one), This whilst being a tad uncomfortable would have been bearable if it was only the two of us but having a baby wake up in the middle of the night soaking in sweat made it an issue for us which had to be sorted.

We mentioned it the next morning and was told the A/C system was still on the winter setting and the that it could not be changed as it would mean changing the whole hotel over to the summer setting. We asked then could we get a fan in the room ( a technican did come up to the room and confirmed that I had the settings correct and went away and rebooted the A/C but it didn’t make any noticeable difference).
Upon returning to the room that night we found no fan in the room and after visiting the reception was informed that there were no fans available in the hotel, after another uncomfortable night I managed to purchase a couple of hand held battery operated fans the next morning which we used to cool the baby's cot.

Indoor Pool- we had hoped to use the indoor pool as a family but read in our room guide that this pool was restricted to people aged 21 and over - this was very disappointing as an indoor pool was an important criteria we had in choosing our accommodation
Taxi transfer- We has booked and paid for taxi transfers with the hotel, specifically requesting that there be a car seat for a 19 month old toddler, when we left yesterday this did not happen, I heard the receptionist when booking the taxi for us request the car seat so therefore it was the firm that they use who had made the mistake but it was still an uncomfortable and stressful journey to the airport with a toddler on your lap

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank derrygerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

After renting the Junior Suite it was a bit surprising to learn that major tv and in-room-internet needs to be payed extra. Breakfast was also charged extra and definetely below expectation in terms of quality. Location itself is perfect. In terms of view: Junior Suite was a good choice.

Room Tip: Junior Suite 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Klaus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmMT, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear Klaus,

Thank you for reviewing your experience at The George.

We appreciate your comments regarding the additional costs for the services listed, however we do this to ensure the best possible room rates for our clients. We choose not to package all our services as this may inflate the cost of the accommodation. This allows our customers to choose and pay for the services that they actually need.

We do however always have packaged rates available through the hotel's booking site that allows discounted rates for customers who choose to purchase all the services in advance.

Thanks once again and we hope you choose The George once again for your next Malta visit.

Kind regards,
Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
80 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

We had a wonderful 5 night stay at this hotel. The service was impeccable, our room was modern, spacious, and overlooked the water with a large balcony. Breakfast had a very copious selection of great food, the lobby and bar were spacious and sophisticated as well. Lovely pool and jacuzzi, the only small negative thing was that the sauna, while in perfect working order the first day we were there, wasn't working the other days. Less than 5 minute walk to the bus stop to catch the bus to Valletta. Overall, our stay was a real treat and we would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KOuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmMT, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear Kelli,

Thank you for finding the time to review The George. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We do apologise about the inconvenience encountered with the sauna however we have now rectified this issue accordingly. We hope that you choose The George once again for your next visit to Malta !!

Kind regards,
Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.0 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,734 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Juliani
Hotel Juliani
#2 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,303 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Argento Hotel
Argento Hotel
#8 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,254 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Property: The George Hotel
Address: Triq Paceville Ave, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ3103, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#6 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George is located in the heart of Paceville St.Julians, the foremost entertainment and leisure area on the island. Just a short stroll away from the sandy beach at St.George’s Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing