We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service bad value”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The George Hotel
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Just checked out from there.
Our room 223 had a big moisture mold in the bath room.
Great room size!
Plain tv&wifi costs money (10-35€!!) very experncive!
Breakfast is very plain for this rank of hotel.
Great location and service.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rrallye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

744 - 750 of 1,263 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2012

Rooms were clean, spacious and nicely decorated. The "studio" rooms also has a small kitchen and extra space compared to the superior rooms.

Had some issues during checking in (non smoking room smelled cigarettes and we were promised to get upgraded to a balcony room when checked in which we did not get later on when we collected the keys.)

When we pointed out that we were promised a balcony room at check-in they reverted that promise and said that we could only get it if we paid extra. Strange. Anyway due to our issues we were compensated with free internet for one day for one (single) device (9€) which also was strange as we were two people staying in the room. When asked if they could allow us to connect two devices they just said blank NO.

Also, avoid the food at the roof top bar. The Hamburgers were horrible (microwaved quick burgers). Friends had similar experience with the fish and chips.

Anyway. Its a nice, clean, quiet hotel, but its starting to wear down (doors to rooms don't open properly (get stuck in the floor halfway), hotel front entry "doors" were typically malfunctioning. (We also experiences leakage of water from the ceiling in front of the hotel, but I assume that is not common).

Room Tip: Balcony rooms, and lower floors don't have any view except the building on the opposite side. Wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ForYouToJudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmMT, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking your time to review The George. We will look into the issues regarding the food at the rooftop bar and apologise that the food served was not up to standard.

Our hotel is a smoke free hotel , however we do have some guests that ignore our policy. We do have signage indicating this in all rooms.

Thanks for choosing The George for your stay in Malta.

Malcolm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Just got back from a two night stay, when we arrived at 9am we expected to get our bag kept there till check in but found the room was available so we got to check in early, which was very good. We booked the studio room, only as other reviewers stated no coffee making facilities in normal rooms, room was excellent, full size fridge, dishwasher, sink, oven etc it even had a ipod docking station so i didnt need my charger for my phone which was good. The steam room was excellent, so was the sauna, indoor pool nice and warm hot tub on first day, wondered if they were trying to boil people just for fun but second day the temperature was much more bearable, never tried the rooftop pool was a little windy for my choosing and as other reviews state, not a lot of sunbeds there, all the italians stole them! Had a massage was ok and somehow got charged 20 euro less than i was ment to so cant really complain!!
Not really any complaints regarding this hotel, wasn't expecting it to be as good, as previous stays in malta have dissapointed, only thing would be maybe some conditioner in the bathroom as there is only shampoo and body wash.

Room Tip: For an extra 20 euro go for the studio room, no balcony but u get the kitchen sink!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BorisBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We had 2 rooms in the George for our long weekend trip. It was a really lovely hotel, clean rooms and great Molton Brown toiletries! It was near bars and restaurants but not noisy at night. Cocktails in the roof bar were great as well.

Get up early if you want sun loungers by the pool - it gets pretty busy during the day.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We arranged to stay with the hotel for 7 nights, but 2 were in Gozo with a sister hotel. This was an exceptional package and included all transfers (including ferry) and allowed us to explore Gozo as well as Malta. The Gozo trip turned out to be a real highlight of our trip and break from the metropolis of San Julian. The George Hotel was excellent, clean and well located. My only grip, albeit very small, was no free Internet in the room - you could pay for it or use the free internet in the hotel lobby - so hardly any concern. Would highly recommend it, especially the Gozo package as the hotel there is exceptional. One tip though, if you hire a car don't use the in-hotel tour operator.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Massive room with 2 queen size beds, very clean.
Great service and felt very welcome here.
Spa is very well priced and offers a wide choice of treatments.
Can't wait to return!!

Room Tip: Choose external rooms rather than courtyard for good views!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kdaley91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

it was my first time in malta, and it will definitly not be my last! what a lovely place! i think there is something for everyone, sceneic, relaxing or partying...me and my boyfriend did all 3, and shopped too :-) the george was perfect for that! walking distance to shops, bars and restaurants. staff were friendly, and happy to help us with anything. breakfast was really nice...plenty of options. my only negative is not enough sun loungers around the pool, but we got there early and staff advised us to remove other guests towls if they were not there, which we did! some guests were so selfish as to save beds with towels then not be there all day! very rude!!! there is a italian style restaurant next door to the hotel...dont go there! slow, rude, and average food, when u eventually get it! me and my boyfriends meals came separate. .i ate and finished mine then hes arrived!rediculous!!! but 'the george' is a definate thumbs up!!! :-)

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank l444dyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Julian's hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,068 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
5,011 reviews
0.2 mi away
Argento Hotel
Argento Hotel
#8 of 33 in Saint Julian's
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Juliani
Hotel Juliani
#2 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,441 reviews
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,164 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: Triq Paceville Ave, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ3103, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#6 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#8 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: £70 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George is located in the heart of Paceville St.Julians, the foremost entertainment and leisure area on the island. Just a short stroll away from the sandy beach at St.George’s Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing