We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The George Malta”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The George Hotel
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The George Malta”
Reviewed 3 September 2012

I had one of the penthouse suits, that was really nice and convinient. Rooftop pool cool as well,
Breakfast could be a bit better organized. Good Hotel for a max trip for 10 days.
Most of the staff was very friendly.
I would go again, I liked the interior and the atmosphere

Room Tip: Penthouse suit in the 5th floor a really ad on!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HLtraveller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    468
    487
    160
    45
    17
See reviews for
132
571
48
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012 via mobile

Hotel is modern and well designed, generally very clean and tidy. Our room was on the 6th floor, Junior Suite which is right next to the pool - brilliant for us.

Pool is great asset for the hotel and we used it every day. Loungers were available up to about 1pm then some days it was full, others about 75% so no problems.

Do not however believe the reviews saying this is like a 5 star hotel, it isnt for some of the following reasons:

- No room service is offered which seems an obvious gap.
- Bath robes only included if you pay for them, never seen this anywhere before.
- WIFI is only free in lobby and pool although it is very fast.
- No coffee making facilities in room
- Pool needs a good clean, paint is coming off underwater and getting grimy, they could do a lot better with this.
- Some pool staff are seen sitting around watching videos on their phones when not working, often I was standing at the bar being ignored for this reason. Plates and glasses rarely collected, not nice. Lack of professionalism here and they could make a really great cocktail/snack bar to be proud of.
- Pool food is ok but limited, repetitive if you don't want to venture out.
- Finish on everything is a little poor, particularly noticeable in bathroom around edges. Light was broken for entire stay, these things should be inspected and repaired.

Overall a great stay, but could make It that little bit better

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovelyjubbly44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 September 2012

My stance in the george hotel was fantastic. The room was really nice and confortable and workers were really polite and nice people. I've passed a incredible week in this hotel thank you for making my holidays so confortables

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lexiarnaiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2012

I´m (42) working man from Czech Republic, Prague. Beeing on the business trip together with my Polish friend, we spent 3 nights in The George Hotel. As I lived three years in Malta (living partly in hotels and private flat) 20 years ago I was curiuos to see what has changed over the years in hotel industry. I chose the hotel based on my friends recommendation and it was a very good choice. I was greeted by professional General Manager of the hotel, telling us the short history of the hotel and describing the advantages. The location is excellent - close to the entertaiment center, yet quiet place to rest inside the hotel (including beautiful view to the see from my room) or having coffee while sitting in front of the hotel. Service is fine, staff helpful, food OK (having only breakfast). Nicely located is the outside swimming (clean) pool on the top of the building which I used evyr day. To sum it up, very good value for money with friendly people around. Go for it :-)
Jindrich

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jindrich C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We enjoyed our stay very much. It would be nice thought if there was standard a kettle in the room. We had to ask for one, because we came with a baby and needed one to boil water for his bottle. We did not use the spa or the fitness center, so our rating of it is arbitrary. Service was excellent, and maybe we come back! Thanks very much.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Israel d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

I stayed in the hotel for 2 weeks while attending a course there in June-July 2012. The public areas are acceptable but my studio room was very disappointing with a balcony looking out in part on a derelict building. The service was generally pleasant and attentive. And if were looking to stay out late in the bars around the hotel it would probably be ok. The pool and bar on the roof were fine if a little short of space around the pool. Very noisy at night with very noisy air conditioning.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJArnoux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmMT, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at The George, Urban Boutique Hotel. I am very sorry to hear that we did not manage to exceed your expectations on this visit.

I am afraid that we do not have control on the surrounding buildings in our vicinity , and we are pleased to say that our neighborhood is constantly undergoing upgrading. I would appreciate if you could contact me directly at ma@thegeorgemalta.com to pass on your room number so we could check the noise levels of the air conditioning unit .

Regards,
Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2012

I stayed at The George for 4 nights in July. I was travelling alone to attend a wedding in another hotel. From the moment I arrived (middle of the night) it was a fantastic experience. Very urban, very chic. All staff, from the front desk to housekeeping (Rachel) were extremely helpful and friendly. My room was lovely with a partial sea view. The sofa, chair etc were designers guild and lovely molten brown products in the bathroom. The roof top pool is an oasis of calm. The spa was amazing and I had an excellent manicure and pedicure, also very peaceful and tranquil. Staff there were so lovely. This is an amazing hotel which I highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.2 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,618 reviews
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
3,916 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Argento Hotel
Argento Hotel
#10 of 33 in Saint Julian's
881 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#9 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,614 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Property: The George Hotel
Address: Triq Paceville Ave, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ3103, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#6 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George is located in the heart of Paceville St.Julians, the foremost entertainment and leisure area on the island. Just a short stroll away from the sandy beach at St.George’s Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Lastminute, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing