We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very very nice hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The George Hotel
Ranked #11 of 34 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Herzliya, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very very nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2012

My wife and I stayed there for four nights, between 14.10.2012-18.10.2012.
The hotel is located just near the center of St. Julians, from which one can go on every bus to everywhere.
The room was very nice, the bed was very very comfortable !
The service, the people at the reception and everybody else, were very nice, cooperative and informative.

I think that the spa could be a little bit better - the Jacuzzi wasn't very hot and the wet sauna wan't very wet... I opened a call and they promised to fix it, but I didn't get the chance to enjoy it.
It was very nice that the spa was free of charge.

Overall, we've had a very good time staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orshaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmMT, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking your time in reviewing The George. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We apologise about the temperature issue in the spa, we can confirm that this has now been regulated and back to full working order.

Regards,
Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    446
    460
    158
    44
    15
See reviews for
120
546
47
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winnweiler
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

I stayed there for english lessons at the ESE school..hotel is opposite and party area is close.
Bus station is 300m from hotel and busses are cheap (2,60€ for whole day). 40 minutes by bus to Valetta, one hour to Gozo ferry.
Rooms are nice and well decorated. Player with docking station for Iphone , new flat screen television and a big bathroom !
People are fríendly.

Room Tip: no tips , everything was fine had a room to the yard..was quite ! nice pool on the roof top
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kauthmarkus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmMT, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for finding time to review The George. We are glad that you had a good stay with us and took advantage of our great location to discover St.Julians and Malta

We look forward to seeing you soon.

Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
332 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012 via mobile

Arrived late for a weeks Autumn break and was met by a very helpful reception member. Key was quickly given and check in was under 5 mins.
We had booked a courtyard room. Room was big, clean and had fridge. Went out straight away and were given easy directions by helpful concierge.
We used rooftop pool every morning and it is a good size, clean comfortable loungers and great poolside service. Free wifi available here.
Front reception is a very nice place to relax. Lots of big comfy armchairs, free wifi and nice bar area.
Cannot fault the hotel as everything has been faultless and all the staff professional and courteous.
We still have 3 days left and will be sad to leave.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Montysadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmMT, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking your time in reviewing The George. We are glad that you enjoyed all the facilities that the hotel offers in Autumn. Our newly added spa facilities are also a great way to end or your start your day in the hotel.

Enjoy the rest of your stay !!

Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012

We stayed here as wanted to get away for a quick end of Season break at a reasonable price. The overall ambiance of the recepetion, spa and rooftop pool were more than pleasant. All these features were definate plus's. Where the George suffered were the little details.The room finishes were slightly rushed. Our wet room shower always blocked flooding the whole room and you could tell that this had been a consistent problem. Additionally the cleaning left a bit too be desired. We Intentionally left a massive CobWeb above our bed,(Unfortunately it was still there at the end of our week long stay). By the end of our stay it seemed that the room staff simply made the bed and replenished the soap and Shampoos. That said we would definately reccomend this place, Its in a central location,at a good price and the staff were always helpful and personable. Just that little10%extra and would have been a 4.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigDollarRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmMT, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking your time in reviewing The George. We are glad that you enjoyed the overall experience at The George however also apologise about the issues encountered in your room.

I would appreciate if you could forward your room number when you were staying with us to ma@thegeorgemalta.com so we could rectify the issues reported accordingly.

Thank you and regards,
Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

Me and my husband stayed four nights in George. The hotel is modern and stylist and the bed was extreme comfortable, however I had a bad experience in this hotel which made me feel the hotel is good at hardware but the service is not.
We made two separate reservations for our stay, first night stayed in the standard room and the rest stayed in the suite as we had late flight on the first night and we didn't want to pay for a suite for only few hours sleep. When we check-in at front desk, we already reminded the receptionist that we made two reservations and we understood room change would require on the second day. However I doubt why the receptionist still asked us to pack our luggages and check-out the first room and then to do the re-check-in again at the reception on the second day. I don't know why the hotel can bother the guest to do two times check-in even they know we stay for 4 consecutive nights. Ok, fine! we followed their instruction anyway. The hotel staff promised me that they would move our luggages to the suite directly once the room is ready so that we could just simply pick up the key when we back to the hotel. However when we return to the suite, luggages were not there and still in their luggage room and we eventually moved back by ourselves.
After we moved to the suite, we realized that we left a little fabric Paul Frank on the bed in the first room after check-out the room, we told the receptionist about this and they said they would need times to check with the housekeeper and would get back to us, however no one update us after two days. We chased for the result on the forth day with the reception again, they said they were still checking and would get back to us.....but I didn't receive any positive or negative feedback until we left the hotel. We are totally disappointed!! There's no other excuse that other person else can take away my Paul Frank except the housekeeper as he/she is the one to clean up our room and she has to make sure to tidy up the bed before the next guest so I don't think she didn't notice about it. We also brought up the point to the receptionist that if there's any possibility the Paul Frank was wrapped with the bed sheet and sent to the laundry or it dropped into the edge of the bed, the receptionist said they needed to check with different housekeepers. I don't know why they need to do it, simply check with the housekeeper on duty on that day and on that floor, not too difficult, right? The hotel staffs were not helpful at all! The little Paul Frank has a special meaning to us and we didn't expect we can't take it back even we 100% sure it was on the bed.

Room Tip: room is quiet on upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HongKongSusu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmMT, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking your time in reviewing The George. We apologise about this mishap and we can assure you that we have made every effort possible to locate the Paul Frank fabric. I would appreciate if you could contact me on ma@thegeorgemalta.com and help me understand what the fabric actually looks like. If you are sure that you left it in the room, we will ensure that we replace this for you.

Look forward to receiving your feedback.

Thank you,
Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bussum
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

Very central located modern and clean Urban Boutique Hotel. For more comfort I would advise a courtyard room as the rooms located on the main road can be somewhat noisy because of drunk people passing by.(mostly in summer) Flat screen and iPhone dock with speaker available in all rooms I've stayed in.
The selection of complimentary TV channels I found somewhat limited compared to the other hotels I've stayed in. All staff are very friendly and helpful.
Two disadvantages: For internet in the room there is an extra charge. Internet in the lobby is for free at good download speeds and there is no gym. Only a Spa and a very nice rooftop pool.
As for me, this is one of my preferred hotels in Malta.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are more quiet,but the view is very limited.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashdod, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

We have just returned from 4 night at this hotel. We arrived at the hotel at 13.00 and the room were not ready yet, they told us that the room will be ready after 15.00 so we left our luggage and came back latter.
The location is good, The rooms and furniture in new condition. The stuff is pleasant and professional. The food at breakfast very tasty.
Thank you for great vacation in Malta!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Igor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.0 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,734 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Juliani
Hotel Juliani
#2 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Argento Hotel
Argento Hotel
#8 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,252 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Property: The George Hotel
Address: Triq Paceville Ave, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ3103, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#6 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George is located in the heart of Paceville St.Julians, the foremost entertainment and leisure area on the island. Just a short stroll away from the sandy beach at St.George’s Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing