We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The George Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$261
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$247
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$229
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$218
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
InterContinental Malta(Saint Julian's)
US$222
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Le Meridien St. Julians(Saint Julian's)
US$280
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$252
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Argento Hotel(Saint Julian's)
US$217
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$305
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$246
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Malta(Saint Julian's)
US$300
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$265
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$309
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$268
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Valentina(Saint Julian's)
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$166
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Juliani(Saint Julian's)
US$221
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$216
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,292)
Filter reviews
1,292 results
Traveller rating
526
528
168
48
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
526
528
168
48
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolmolton brown toiletriespenthouse suitecourtyard roommodern hotelstreet noisesauna and steam roomspa areacoffee machinest juliansparty areawalk in showerspinola bayair conditioningnoisy at nightperfect hotelbusy area
Filter
Updating list...
719 - 724 of 1,292 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2012

My wife and I stayed there for four nights, between 14.10.2012-18.10.2012.
The hotel is located just near the center of St. Julians, from which one can go on every bus to everywhere.
The room was very nice, the bed was very very comfortable !
The service, the people at the reception and everybody else, were very nice, cooperative and informative.

I think that the spa could be a little bit better - the Jacuzzi wasn't very hot and the wet sauna wan't very wet... I opened a call and they promised to fix it, but I didn't get the chance to enjoy it.
It was very nice that the spa was free of charge.

Overall, we've had a very good time staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank orshaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmMT, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking your time in reviewing The George. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We apologise about the temperature issue in the spa, we can confirm that this has now been regulated and back to full working order.

Regards,
Malcolm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

I stayed there for english lessons at the ESE school..hotel is opposite and party area is close.
Bus station is 300m from hotel and busses are cheap (2,60€ for whole day). 40 minutes by bus to Valetta, one hour to Gozo ferry.
Rooms are nice and well decorated. Player with docking station for Iphone , new flat screen television and a big bathroom !
People are fríendly.

Room Tip: no tips , everything was fine had a room to the yard..was quite ! nice pool on the roof top
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kauthmarkus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmMT, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for finding time to review The George. We are glad that you had a good stay with us and took advantage of our great location to discover St.Julians and Malta

We look forward to seeing you soon.

Malcolm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012 via mobile

Arrived late for a weeks Autumn break and was met by a very helpful reception member. Key was quickly given and check in was under 5 mins.
We had booked a courtyard room. Room was big, clean and had fridge. Went out straight away and were given easy directions by helpful concierge.
We used rooftop pool every morning and it is a good size, clean comfortable loungers and great poolside service. Free wifi available here.
Front reception is a very nice place to relax. Lots of big comfy armchairs, free wifi and nice bar area.
Cannot fault the hotel as everything has been faultless and all the staff professional and courteous.
We still have 3 days left and will be sad to leave.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Montysadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmMT, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking your time in reviewing The George. We are glad that you enjoyed all the facilities that the hotel offers in Autumn. Our newly added spa facilities are also a great way to end or your start your day in the hotel.

Enjoy the rest of your stay !!

Malcolm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

We stayed here as wanted to get away for a quick end of Season break at a reasonable price. The overall ambiance of the recepetion, spa and rooftop pool were more than pleasant. All these features were definate plus's. Where the George suffered were the little details.The room finishes were slightly rushed. Our wet room shower always blocked flooding the whole room and you could tell that this had been a consistent problem. Additionally the cleaning left a bit too be desired. We Intentionally left a massive CobWeb above our bed,(Unfortunately it was still there at the end of our week long stay). By the end of our stay it seemed that the room staff simply made the bed and replenished the soap and Shampoos. That said we would definately reccomend this place, Its in a central location,at a good price and the staff were always helpful and personable. Just that little10%extra and would have been a 4.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigDollarRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmMT, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking your time in reviewing The George. We are glad that you enjoyed the overall experience at The George however also apologise about the issues encountered in your room.

I would appreciate if you could forward your room number when you were staying with us to ma@thegeorgemalta.com so we could rectify the issues reported accordingly.

Thank you and regards,
Malcolm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Me and my husband stayed four nights in George. The hotel is modern and stylist and the bed was extreme comfortable, however I had a bad experience in this hotel which made me feel the hotel is good at hardware but the service is not.
We made two separate reservations for our stay, first night stayed in the standard room and the rest stayed in the suite as we had late flight on the first night and we didn't want to pay for a suite for only few hours sleep. When we check-in at front desk, we already reminded the receptionist that we made two reservations and we understood room change would require on the second day. However I doubt why the receptionist still asked us to pack our luggages and check-out the first room and then to do the re-check-in again at the reception on the second day. I don't know why the hotel can bother the guest to do two times check-in even they know we stay for 4 consecutive nights. Ok, fine! we followed their instruction anyway. The hotel staff promised me that they would move our luggages to the suite directly once the room is ready so that we could just simply pick up the key when we back to the hotel. However when we return to the suite, luggages were not there and still in their luggage room and we eventually moved back by ourselves.
After we moved to the suite, we realized that we left a little fabric Paul Frank on the bed in the first room after check-out the room, we told the receptionist about this and they said they would need times to check with the housekeeper and would get back to us, however no one update us after two days. We chased for the result on the forth day with the reception again, they said they were still checking and would get back to us.....but I didn't receive any positive or negative feedback until we left the hotel. We are totally disappointed!! There's no other excuse that other person else can take away my Paul Frank except the housekeeper as he/she is the one to clean up our room and she has to make sure to tidy up the bed before the next guest so I don't think she didn't notice about it. We also brought up the point to the receptionist that if there's any possibility the Paul Frank was wrapped with the bed sheet and sent to the laundry or it dropped into the edge of the bed, the receptionist said they needed to check with different housekeepers. I don't know why they need to do it, simply check with the housekeeper on duty on that day and on that floor, not too difficult, right? The hotel staffs were not helpful at all! The little Paul Frank has a special meaning to us and we didn't expect we can't take it back even we 100% sure it was on the bed.

Room Tip: room is quiet on upper floor
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HongKongSusu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmMT, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking your time in reviewing The George. We apologise about this mishap and we can assure you that we have made every effort possible to locate the Paul Frank fabric. I would appreciate if you could contact me on ma@thegeorgemalta.com and help me understand what the fabric actually looks like. If you are sure that you left it in the room, we will ensure that we replace this for you.

Look forward to receiving your feedback.

Thank you,
Malcolm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews