We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, friendly hotel. Good location.”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The George Hotel
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Relaxing, friendly hotel. Good location.”
Reviewed 27 October 2012

The area of St Julian's is full of restaurants and within walking distance of many clubs. This could have been a very noisy area, but in fact, this hotel is very quiet - unless you happen to be in the rooms close to the back corner near a basement club of an adjacent hotel. Unfortunately, the bass of the live bands can be heard into the second floor - which happened on a Friday and Saturday night. When we asked to be moved (at about 11.00pm, on a Saturday night), Peter behind reception very quickly sorted a room for us for that night (Thank you Peter) and also arranged for us to move rooms before the following weekend, as we had requested.

This hotel only offers B&B, but has it's own small restaurant for the evenings, plus there were about 8 restaurants in the street, so it took could have taken over a week before we had to go further afield.

The hotel is clean, stylish and the 3 rooms we ended up using were all well appointed -
huge beds and some of the best showers we've used.

The rooftop pool was gorgeous, towels and cushions provided, though often it was too windy to be able to put up the parasols.

If we had any minor criticisms it would be that the almost continuous ambience music in the reception and pool bar area did get irritating, although staff did turn this off when asked (hopefully not causing any problems for them with their managers - they weren't sure). Quiet can be good!

Also, the rooms that are not studios (which are really good), could do with a kettle for tea/coffee making.

That said - we would go back in a heartbeat. And this was primarily because the staff were just so good, so helpful, fun and good-natured.

So a big thank you to Peter, Donat, Karlis and Greg as well as Gundegar, reception girl with broken wrist whose name we didn't get, trainee girl on reception and security Joe.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 215, above and below on Fri or Sat nights due to bass of adjacent club. When quiet, roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graycee54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmMT, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2012
Hi there,

Thank you for taking your time in reviewing The George. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at The George. I have noted your comments about our staff , we really appreciate this feedback. We believe that service and staff attitude really make a difference and we try our best !! We will also be following up on your issue regarding live music.

Thanks once again.

Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    463
    485
    160
    45
    17
See reviews for
132
565
48
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

My partner and I have just returned having spent four days in The George Boutique Hotel in St. Julians. Excellent hotel and very friendly and helpful staff especially on reception. We had a courtyard room which was very quiet and the room very spacious. The hotel is very central with numerous restaruants and bars just outisde your door and Spinola Bay is a five minute walk away which is lovely to dine at or just sit and have a drink. Over all, would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to be in the centre of St Julian's Bay.

Room Tip: Go for a courtyard room which tends to be quiter as you are not overlooking the street which can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmMT, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 26 October 2012
Hi there,

Thanks for taking your time in reviewing The George. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage of our great location. All the restaurants and bars worth visiting in St.Julians are really just a few minutes away.

Regards,
Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

The George was great, everything we could have hoped for. We stayed here for our first wedding anniversary and had a penthouse suite and it lived up to expectations!

It was huge, the bed was huge, the private terrace was huge and overlooked the city where the sun sets. The room was modern clean and nicely furnished. The bathroom had a separate shower and a bath with a shower over it. Air conditioning was v efficient and quiet.

The spa in the basement was fantastic, felt luxurious and was very relaxing. The rooftop pool and bar area were relaxing and a nice envrionment to spend time in.

The location of the hotel is great, in the middle of all the night life, however the double glazing works a treat! Lots of restaurants and bars very close by, a great range of cuisines and prices to suit all (2 Euros a pint is pleasing when you are used to London prices!).

We didn't have breakfast at the hotel which was an additional 12 euros per head per day as it seemed pricey when the local cafes etc did breakfast for less than this. Plus we aren't early risers. Had it been included in the price we would have gotten up for it!

We would stay here again if in Malta and would recommend to others.

Room Tip: We had an upper penthouse suite - was huge and on same floor as the rooftop pool - would highly reco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LottieTomS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmMT, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 26 October 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking your time in reviewing The George. We are very glad that your celebration for your first wedding anniversary exceeded your expectations. Our Penthouse Suites are great for that little extra special occassion !!

Thanks once again and please let us know if you intend in celebrating your second anniversary in Malta. We will be glad to have you both back.

Regards,
Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herzliya, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2012

My wife and I stayed there for four nights, between 14.10.2012-18.10.2012.
The hotel is located just near the center of St. Julians, from which one can go on every bus to everywhere.
The room was very nice, the bed was very very comfortable !
The service, the people at the reception and everybody else, were very nice, cooperative and informative.

I think that the spa could be a little bit better - the Jacuzzi wasn't very hot and the wet sauna wan't very wet... I opened a call and they promised to fix it, but I didn't get the chance to enjoy it.
It was very nice that the spa was free of charge.

Overall, we've had a very good time staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orshaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmMT, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking your time in reviewing The George. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We apologise about the temperature issue in the spa, we can confirm that this has now been regulated and back to full working order.

Regards,
Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnweiler
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2012

I stayed there for english lessons at the ESE school..hotel is opposite and party area is close.
Bus station is 300m from hotel and busses are cheap (2,60€ for whole day). 40 minutes by bus to Valetta, one hour to Gozo ferry.
Rooms are nice and well decorated. Player with docking station for Iphone , new flat screen television and a big bathroom !
People are fríendly.

Room Tip: no tips , everything was fine had a room to the yard..was quite ! nice pool on the roof top
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kauthmarkus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmMT, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for finding time to review The George. We are glad that you had a good stay with us and took advantage of our great location to discover St.Julians and Malta

We look forward to seeing you soon.

Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
336 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012 via mobile

Arrived late for a weeks Autumn break and was met by a very helpful reception member. Key was quickly given and check in was under 5 mins.
We had booked a courtyard room. Room was big, clean and had fridge. Went out straight away and were given easy directions by helpful concierge.
We used rooftop pool every morning and it is a good size, clean comfortable loungers and great poolside service. Free wifi available here.
Front reception is a very nice place to relax. Lots of big comfy armchairs, free wifi and nice bar area.
Cannot fault the hotel as everything has been faultless and all the staff professional and courteous.
We still have 3 days left and will be sad to leave.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Montysadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmMT, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking your time in reviewing The George. We are glad that you enjoyed all the facilities that the hotel offers in Autumn. Our newly added spa facilities are also a great way to end or your start your day in the hotel.

Enjoy the rest of your stay !!

Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2012

We stayed here as wanted to get away for a quick end of Season break at a reasonable price. The overall ambiance of the recepetion, spa and rooftop pool were more than pleasant. All these features were definate plus's. Where the George suffered were the little details.The room finishes were slightly rushed. Our wet room shower always blocked flooding the whole room and you could tell that this had been a consistent problem. Additionally the cleaning left a bit too be desired. We Intentionally left a massive CobWeb above our bed,(Unfortunately it was still there at the end of our week long stay). By the end of our stay it seemed that the room staff simply made the bed and replenished the soap and Shampoos. That said we would definately reccomend this place, Its in a central location,at a good price and the staff were always helpful and personable. Just that little10%extra and would have been a 4.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigDollarRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmMT, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking your time in reviewing The George. We are glad that you enjoyed the overall experience at The George however also apologise about the issues encountered in your room.

I would appreciate if you could forward your room number when you were staying with us to ma@thegeorgemalta.com so we could rectify the issues reported accordingly.

Thank you and regards,
Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.0 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,829 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,538 reviews
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
3,867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Argento Hotel
Argento Hotel
#9 of 33 in Saint Julian's
866 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,350 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Juliani
Hotel Juliani
#2 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Property: The George Hotel
Address: Triq Paceville Ave, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ3103, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#6 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George is located in the heart of Paceville St.Julians, the foremost entertainment and leisure area on the island. Just a short stroll away from the sandy beach at St.George’s Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Lastminute, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing