We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable hotel”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The George Hotel
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 October 2012

The George is an excellent hotel. We rented a suite. The friendly staff was very helpful. What disturbed me, however, was that there were quite a few charges for "extra's" that should be included in the price of a 4 star hotel, like cappuccino at your breakfast. And all the time receipts to sign.
The accommodation is in St. Julian's in the area of Paceville, where you can easily find a good restaurant, or any other nice place to pass your evening and nights. As Malta itself is probably the most boring holiday destination on earth, bars, restaurants and entertainment are essential for your holidays.
The pricing of the hotel is quite OK; we also stayed in a 3 star hotel just across the street, where a double room is only slightly cheaper than a suite in this 4 star hotel. For that price you get sound proof rooms (not a luxury in Paceville), indoor and outdoor swimming pool and a very comfortable and modern room.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank HJSAlmere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmMT, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2012

Hi there,

Thank you for taking your time in reviewing The George. We have noted your comments regarding 'the extras' that need to be paid for. As you mention later in your review we are known to be a 'good value for money' hotel . We do this by pricing the room competitively then choose any extras you may need such as parking, breakfast, spa treatments or other services.

We do however believe that we should not charge extra for good quality coffee at breakfast. We are in the process of upgrading our breakfast offering and fresh orange juice and Italian style coffee (cappuccino, espresso, latte) will be included in the breakfast rate. We are in the final stages of putting this together and should go live in a few weeks.

Thanks once again for choosing The George for your stay in Malta.

Malcolm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

663 - 669 of 1,221 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2012

Had a good stay. Very clean and friendly hotel. Good central location near to Bars, restaurants and Marina.
Downside- no Tea/coffee maker in the room, no tissues or "nicities". Our room was very noisey on the Saturday night, we were on the 2nd floor at the front opposite a cafe. On the Sunday about 20 teenagers arrived, staying above us, guess what the noise was like then? Our room was not serviced until late afternoon, one day it was after 5pm and we had to ask which was a bit annoying especially when your waiting to have a shower.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoffCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

The area of St Julian's is full of restaurants and within walking distance of many clubs. This could have been a very noisy area, but in fact, this hotel is very quiet - unless you happen to be in the rooms close to the back corner near a basement club of an adjacent hotel. Unfortunately, the bass of the live bands can be heard into the second floor - which happened on a Friday and Saturday night. When we asked to be moved (at about 11.00pm, on a Saturday night), Peter behind reception very quickly sorted a room for us for that night (Thank you Peter) and also arranged for us to move rooms before the following weekend, as we had requested.

This hotel only offers B&B, but has it's own small restaurant for the evenings, plus there were about 8 restaurants in the street, so it took could have taken over a week before we had to go further afield.

The hotel is clean, stylish and the 3 rooms we ended up using were all well appointed -
huge beds and some of the best showers we've used.

The rooftop pool was gorgeous, towels and cushions provided, though often it was too windy to be able to put up the parasols.

If we had any minor criticisms it would be that the almost continuous ambience music in the reception and pool bar area did get irritating, although staff did turn this off when asked (hopefully not causing any problems for them with their managers - they weren't sure). Quiet can be good!

Also, the rooms that are not studios (which are really good), could do with a kettle for tea/coffee making.

That said - we would go back in a heartbeat. And this was primarily because the staff were just so good, so helpful, fun and good-natured.

So a big thank you to Peter, Donat, Karlis and Greg as well as Gundegar, reception girl with broken wrist whose name we didn't get, trainee girl on reception and security Joe.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 215, above and below on Fri or Sat nights due to bass of adjacent club. When quiet, roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graycee54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmMT, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2012

Hi there,

Thank you for taking your time in reviewing The George. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at The George. I have noted your comments about our staff , we really appreciate this feedback. We believe that service and staff attitude really make a difference and we try our best !! We will also be following up on your issue regarding live music.

Thanks once again.

Malcolm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

My partner and I have just returned having spent four days in The George Boutique Hotel in St. Julians. Excellent hotel and very friendly and helpful staff especially on reception. We had a courtyard room which was very quiet and the room very spacious. The hotel is very central with numerous restaruants and bars just outisde your door and Spinola Bay is a five minute walk away which is lovely to dine at or just sit and have a drink. Over all, would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to be in the centre of St Julian's Bay.

Room Tip: Go for a courtyard room which tends to be quiter as you are not overlooking the street which can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmMT, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2012

Hi there,

Thanks for taking your time in reviewing The George. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage of our great location. All the restaurants and bars worth visiting in St.Julians are really just a few minutes away.

Regards,
Malcolm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

The George was great, everything we could have hoped for. We stayed here for our first wedding anniversary and had a penthouse suite and it lived up to expectations!

It was huge, the bed was huge, the private terrace was huge and overlooked the city where the sun sets. The room was modern clean and nicely furnished. The bathroom had a separate shower and a bath with a shower over it. Air conditioning was v efficient and quiet.

The spa in the basement was fantastic, felt luxurious and was very relaxing. The rooftop pool and bar area were relaxing and a nice envrionment to spend time in.

The location of the hotel is great, in the middle of all the night life, however the double glazing works a treat! Lots of restaurants and bars very close by, a great range of cuisines and prices to suit all (2 Euros a pint is pleasing when you are used to London prices!).

We didn't have breakfast at the hotel which was an additional 12 euros per head per day as it seemed pricey when the local cafes etc did breakfast for less than this. Plus we aren't early risers. Had it been included in the price we would have gotten up for it!

We would stay here again if in Malta and would recommend to others.

Room Tip: We had an upper penthouse suite - was huge and on same floor as the rooftop pool - would highly reco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LottieTomS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmMT, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking your time in reviewing The George. We are very glad that your celebration for your first wedding anniversary exceeded your expectations. Our Penthouse Suites are great for that little extra special occassion !!

Thanks once again and please let us know if you intend in celebrating your second anniversary in Malta. We will be glad to have you both back.

Regards,
Malcolm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

My wife and I stayed there for four nights, between 14.10.2012-18.10.2012.
The hotel is located just near the center of St. Julians, from which one can go on every bus to everywhere.
The room was very nice, the bed was very very comfortable !
The service, the people at the reception and everybody else, were very nice, cooperative and informative.

I think that the spa could be a little bit better - the Jacuzzi wasn't very hot and the wet sauna wan't very wet... I opened a call and they promised to fix it, but I didn't get the chance to enjoy it.
It was very nice that the spa was free of charge.

Overall, we've had a very good time staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank orshaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmMT, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking your time in reviewing The George. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We apologise about the temperature issue in the spa, we can confirm that this has now been regulated and back to full working order.

Regards,
Malcolm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

I stayed there for english lessons at the ESE school..hotel is opposite and party area is close.
Bus station is 300m from hotel and busses are cheap (2,60€ for whole day). 40 minutes by bus to Valetta, one hour to Gozo ferry.
Rooms are nice and well decorated. Player with docking station for Iphone , new flat screen television and a big bathroom !
People are fríendly.

Room Tip: no tips , everything was fine had a room to the yard..was quite ! nice pool on the roof top
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kauthmarkus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmMT, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for finding time to review The George. We are glad that you had a good stay with us and took advantage of our great location to discover St.Julians and Malta

We look forward to seeing you soon.

Malcolm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Julian's hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,821 reviews
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,050 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,975 reviews
0.4 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,312 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#10 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: Triq Paceville Ave, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ3103, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#6 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: £77 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George is located in the heart of Paceville St.Julians, the foremost entertainment and leisure area on the island. Just a short stroll away from the sandy beach at St.George’s Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing