We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury Hotel in the middle of nightclub land”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The George Hotel
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Leighton Buzzard, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Luxury Hotel in the middle of nightclub land”
Reviewed 23 February 2013

My GF and I stayed at the George for a couple of nights as a kind of holiday within a holiday (we were staying in Malta with Mum but wanted to get away a little) it was well worth it, a very pleasant hotel nicely decorated, was a bit miffed at having to pay for the hire of Bathrobes in a Spa Hotel and not having any tea or coffee facilities in room, but these are minor gripes.

Room Tip: We booked early but we could have saved €€€€ by booking later.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bear_and_Sidan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    475
    492
    161
    45
    20
See reviews for
136
579
48
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

A wonderful hotel in the middle of the busy Paceville nightlife. The staff were very helpful and friendly, the spa was wonderful and we upgraded to a deluxe room which was huge and had a balcony from where we could see the sea. The roof top pool area was a treat in the warm afternoons and as we are quite middle aged ( 60ish) we enjoyed the comfort of the hotel and weren't disturbed by the noise from the nightclubs and bars around Paceville. The hotel is ideally placed for the main Arriva bus stop and within walking distance to lovely bars and restaurants.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street side might be noisier in summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sudha_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Lithuania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

I stayed in Hotel for 6 days. Breakfast was excellent but coffee not. Coffee in bar was tasty, indoor pool and sauna - very nice. I used roof poolI too. My room was in 6-th floor, I did not hear noise from Pacewille. I will stay in hotel next time.
gintaras from Lithuania

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gintaras s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmMT, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Hi Gintaras,

Thank you for choosing The George for your stay in Malta and for taking time in reviewing the hotel. We actually agree with your feedback about coffee at breakfast and have upgraded the coffee to the same quality as the one at the coffee bar . As from the 1st February all guests having breakfast are entitled to complimentary Illy cappuccino and espresso. You will no doubt enjoy these on your return to The George !!

Kind regards,
Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannes, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

We were one week in a "studio". This hotel is very confortable because of its location (near the center of Paceville... ). We were very well welcomed by a kind staff. The rooms are clean and spacious, with a good and modern equipment. Bed is not too bad, exepted the pillows. We had a kitchen in the studio, very practical for us. There is an italian restaurant inside the hotel but we did not test it. Reception had differents services as internet desk, the ambiance is nice. There is a "spa" too : the swimming pool is nice, as the hammam and jaccuzi (we did not test the sauna).
Well, in conclusion i would recommand it and could be ready to have an other stay there...

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fab D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 January 2013

This hotel really meets the standard of an european city hotel. We stayed in the penthouse suite on fifth floor with a view on the sea. The sun leaves the big terasse very early at this time of the year but you can join the big pool terrace on the roof top. The room was big and very nicely furnished. Even if the hotel is in the middle of the night life area it is calm enough to sleep well. The spa offers a lot of treatments beside the sauna and the pool.

Room Tip: the penthouse suite on fifth are facing the sea, the penthouse suites on 6th floor are facing the to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_Arnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

I was pleasantly surprised on arriving at the George. It is decorated to a high standard and the room the front desk service was efficient. My bedroom was excellent (5th floor) with all necessary mod cons (flat screen TV, iPod speaker, fridge etc.).

I ate in the hotel the first evening. The food was great, the service friendly and the price reasonable. The ambience was not favoured by the quietness of the restaurant, it being January.

I was very disappointed by the spa. I had planned to have multiple treatments, but ended up just one due to an unsatisfactory experience (full body massage). Whilst the spa area is decorated well, the service details are not there. No changing area, no robes, I was kept waiting for my appointment and to top it off, my massage was performed by a masseur who spoke little English and wore latex gloves! Not what I had expected.

The only other issues experienced were with the plumbing (toilets not flushing) - although this was promptly resolved and delays with my room being cleaned (sometimes after 4pm).

The upstairs sun deck and pool area are lovely and would be ideal when the weather is better.

All in all, I enjoyed my stay but the service could be friendlier and the spa definitely need attention.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Gwann, Malta
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2013

My boyfriend and I had an overnight stay at The George Hotel for his birthday. The overnight package included the Junior Suite, which includes a king-sized bed, living room area, terrace and a bathroom. Everything was spacious and nicely decorated. Included in the price was also the indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam bath. When dining in the downstairs restaurant, a free bottle of wine was given to us with our delicious meal as well as a buffet breakfast! The view was spectacular. It was clean and quiet. The people working there were also extremely genuine and friendly. We couldn't have asked for a better day and night! Thank you!!

Room Tip: Everything was excellent, can't rate the fitness center, because I didn't go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank balticblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Julian's hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,681 reviews
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
3,961 reviews
0.2 mi away
Argento Hotel
Argento Hotel
#10 of 33 in Saint Julian's
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,908 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#9 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,643 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Property: The George Hotel
Address: Triq Paceville Ave, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ3103, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#6 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George is located in the heart of Paceville St.Julians, the foremost entertainment and leisure area on the island. Just a short stroll away from the sandy beach at St.George’s Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing