We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing hotel and service”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The George Hotel
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel and service”
Reviewed 14 May 2013 via mobile

Just rtn from a great weekend at the urban boutique hotel. On arrival we were greeted by Malcolm the hotel manager who was very helpful and advised us on the best places to go and also booked us into a restaurant as there was 14 of us. The rooms were amazing very clean and modern and with Molton brown toiletries which was also a nice touch. We spend a lot of our time at the roof top pool which had amazing views of Malta. The service round the pool was great we were served by Peter who was very helpful and friendly . All in all we had a amazing time and will be returning very soon.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelzaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmMT, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
Hi there,

Thanks for taking your time in reviewing The George. We are very glad that you enjoyed your weekend stay at The George and in Malta.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Regards,
Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    478
    159
    45
    16
See reviews for
128
559
48
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We arrived at this hotel by a mis-communication as thomson would say. We were after a sea view hotel near Valetta which this hotel was certainly not.

However, plus points: Hotel clean, staff helpfull nice Italian restaraunt 200 mtrs away.(Bella Napoli).

We booked a junior suite with easy chairs and sea view through a renowned travel agent and on arrival was shown a roon with a double bed with around 18 inches of space around the bed.

After protestations we were moved to a room which was much larger and with two easy chairs and a small table.

Balcony View over looks 3 building sites and the towns roof tops

Nightclubs which are the main attraction for young Maltese people all of 800 meters away.

Bus stop to Valetta 800 meters in the opposite direction.

Shops ih the area around 30- 40 / restaurants including Burger King around 20+

Sea somewhere two or three streets away.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FletchSouthampton_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmMT, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
Hi there,

Thanks for taking some time in reviewing The George. We do apologise that your initial room assignment was not up to your expectations and glad that we sorted this issue out.


Kind regards,
Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

In no particular order.........but before I start, I am currently sat at hotel pool in the sun, and wind, writing this. Our stay is from 7-21 May 13

1. Location. Within easy walking distance of bay with lots of bars, restaurants and harbour. Although, street is really scruffy and not clean, in fact general area is surprisingly badly kept when it comes to rubbish, fag butts and stuff. Such a shame as area is picturesque once you get to the bay. It is also quite noisy, but it does say that in so many words on the website, say its in the vibrant area.......

2. Staff. Really helpful and friendly with only one or two not so, but that's usual. For the most part, very polite and this is the case across Malta too.

3. Hotel room. We paid extra for Junior Suite, but to be honest, the outlook is poor onto building and the street below. The extra space is good, and you get an external view, but I'd save your money. The room is very modern and quite stylish. However, attention to detail is needed as the rooms are starting to show wear and tear and unless this is kept on top of will only get worse. Particularly the bathroom, the shower was a huge walk in and really nice, but the space is howling extended use and is disappointing to see. Just general points like blackened sealant around sink, metal bin seen better days, shower leaks a bit. Maybe I am fussy, but it doesn't say that on the website.

4. Internet/wifi. Absolutely shocking in this day and age that you have to pay to get it in your room! Euro 9 per day or as part of TV film package you can get it. Everywhere is advertising free wifi, except hotels. As for TV, very few English TV channels, mainly news, but you can as part of extra package get fils of any description, and I mean absolutely any!

4. Food. We only has breakfast in hotel, which was pleasant enough, not very busy and decent selection. Outside, we ate and for the most part, had excellent food, from cheap pizzas to lovely romantic meals. My advice, try as many as you can for the first part of holiday and then revisit in the second. Just an idea that works for us.

5. Spa. We enjoyed the spa, with the pool and facilities. We have yet to have any treatments, but we will and there's a good selection. However, it is in need of some maintenance which is easy to see. I can not for the life of me understand why things are not maintained. Paint is peeling, the lovely slate water wall is all uncovered, just no need and attention to detail is needed.

6. Outdoor rooftop pool. Quite a nice area, but far too small when it gets busy. Definitely a sun trap and you can see the sea from there. The pool bar is a disappointment and has huge room for improvement. Again, the staff are very friendly, but depending on who is working depends on what you get. Our last stay in Malta (Maritime Antoine) saw the pool bar staff constantly coming and asking if you wanted anything, and got tipped a whole lot more! They are missing a trick, and service too. As for the food, it could be so much better, with much much more choice. There is plenty of room, and again, we have seen much better at other hotels. We would have spent much more has the food been better and someone actually came round to ask what you wanted. As I write this now, there ate 8 people at the pool with 3 members of staff, and no one has come round.

7. Bar area. This a very nice area in the hotel lobby. But again, crazy that there is no drinks menu, just what you see was a response we had one night. You have to go up for drinks, which again, is not what you expect.......of course I am very capable, but having a really nice pre dinner of after dinner drink is what is asked for. Again, at a previous hotel the cocktail bar was lovely, with excellent service, drinks delivered to your table, with a few nibbles to eat and a much nicer experience. Again, we spent a whole lots more money, but not this time.

8. Overall. I would rate this hotel as average to good. It could though be so much better if it kept on top of maintenance, focused on service and tried to go that extra mile. That said, I am enjoying the holiday and focussing on the good bits, the weather, the food and complete relaxation. If the hotel looked at attention to detail, then things would be identified and i guess sorted. Lastly, the staff are very very good, helpful and courteous.

Room Tip: Rooms on stree side (hotel entrance) is noisy. We were on 3rd floor, need to be higher to get decent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmMT, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
Hi there,

Thanks for taking in time in reviewing The George, I must say there is a lot of attention to detail and we need this very constructive feedback to improve our product and service. I will try and be brief with my feedback:

1. Staff. I would appreciate if you could e-mail me at ma@thegeorgemalta.com and let me know which members of staff were not too pleasant., Positive attitude is a basic.

2. I understand that internet use is considered a basic requirement and we in fact offer complimentary wi-fi in the lobby and by the pool bar. We have chosen not to include this service in the room rates as based on feedback from our guests they prefer to pay only for services which they use.

3. Spa. We have noted that the pool requires maintenance. This in fact has been scheduled for late June when the water temperature in the outdoor pool is slightly warmer and guests would prefer to be outdoors.

4. Outdoor Pool. We have taken note of your service comments and I have passed on to all involved. As regards to limited space, this in fact is a challenge at times. We have already partnered with Baia Beach Club located in the north of the island (wonderful crystal clear blue sea !!) who offer us a limited number of beach beds on a complimentary basis for our clients and we are also looking at closer options to alleviate this challenge.

5. Bar Menu. We are just reprinting the content and the menus will be available within a few days.

We hope you enjoy the rest if your holiday !!

Regards,
Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Just back from St George Urban Boutique Hotel
very good we had a deluxe room with two large beds, balcony which is just on the road. towels changed daily, staff very good Donat, Philip in the bar very good, the maids also very cheerful and chatty, reception staff good too. Manager Malcolm very friendly also. Breakfast adequate, bar area and reception area good. Very handy for the bus just up the road. The hotel is just on the edge of all the bars, handy if that is what you want. was not too noisy April but imagine summer would be very noisy. Would visit this hotel again.

Room Tip: have a room with a balcony not a courtyard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bren j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brno, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

I love this hotel because of it's location in the heart of Paceville, St.Julian's. Very nice boutique hotel with very friendly staff. Just in one/two minutes walking distance you can finf shops, restaurant, fastfoods (Mcdonald's, Budger King), bars, disco's etc. Nearest small sandy beach in cca 5-10 mins walk from the hotel. There's free wifi in lobby area and another one in pool terrace. Hotel has two swimming pools - one outside on the rooftop with amazing views + another indoor one with jacuzzi, steam and sauna. Also many other spa procedures are availiable. American breakfast was really good, I enjoeyd maltese fresh bread with butter :)

Telephone, flat TV, fridge in the room. Some TV channels in TV (news like CNN, BBC, Euronews etc.) Bathroom clean, really big.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lukas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2013

2 nights in St. Julians on business trip. no room ready at around 10 am so came back later around 12.30 hrs, still no room (junior suite booked) ready. Got offer to upgrade to Penthouse Suite room for additional 15 € per night so took up offer. Room with separate living room with flat screen tv and sofa etc. Unfortunately, no tv in bedroom. tv only offers very few channels free of charge, everything else costs extra. breakfast average, nothing special. nice outside pool but not very private. rooms are made up very late (later than 15 hrs) so not surprised early arrival is a problem. On the other hand, I had someone knocking on my door for check out around 10 am when official check out was 11... Internet connection free of charge in lobby but did not work the first day... hotel is quite new but already wear and tear signs especially in bathroom, appliances (shower) fell apart and where not put together by anybody. Very nice & helpful reception staff (woman with Polish name).

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom_B_1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencian Country, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I had a 3 day business trip to Malta and the hotel suited me perfectly. It is located in the center of St. Julian's with many good restaurants around and communication links to other parts of the ireland. The room was modern with a nice flatscreen TV. The only upset was to have a free Wi-Fi in the public areas and not in the room.

Room Tip: I have seen a couple of rooms and could not find a big difference with mine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Youri_ly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.0 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,794 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,486 reviews
0.2 mi away
Argento Hotel
Argento Hotel
#8 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Juliani
Hotel Juliani
#2 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,327 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Property: The George Hotel
Address: Triq Paceville Ave, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ3103, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#6 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George is located in the heart of Paceville St.Julians, the foremost entertainment and leisure area on the island. Just a short stroll away from the sandy beach at St.George’s Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Lastminute, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing