We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel in the middle of "partytown"”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The George Hotel
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Slagelse, Denmark
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in the middle of "partytown"”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

I have just returned from a one week stay in Malta (English teachers' training course in St. Julian's). The hotel is conveniently placed just next to the school - that's why I chose it. I found the hotel very pleasant, nice interior decoration. Most things seemed to work well, and those that didn't (blocked drain, problems with air con) were quickly taken care of. The noise from drunken youngsters at night was to be expected.

Only two minuses: I gave up using the wi-fi in my room (which cost 9 euros a day) because it only worked properly late in the evening and early in the morning. Moreover the mattress seemed to lack the top mattress! Otherwise helpful staff and good room on the 4th floor (junior suite) with a view of the Med. Room was very clean. Recommendable!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roenne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    456
    476
    159
    45
    16
See reviews for
127
559
47
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

This is a really lovely hotel and really modern. The staff are all friendly and accommodating. We had a room on the 6th floor and had asked for a courtyard room after reading comments that it is noisy at night. We heard no noise from our room and the beds are really comfortable.

The room seemed like it got a really thorough clean each day so well done to the cleaners as they do a fantastic job!

The location of this hotel is really good too as its so close to all the pubs / clubs and also to Spinola Bay which has a great selection of pubs and restaurants with a fantastic outlook.

I would not hesitate recommending people to this hotel if they are visiting Malta.

Room Tip: I emailed in advance asking for a court yard room and we were placed in the upper pent house suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Stayed at The George for three nights, May 23-26. Got a deluxe room on the first floor with a glimpse of the ocean from the balcony. Room was OK. It felt smaller than 40 sqm though. Nice with two king size beds, but where were the mattress pads?

Had the fortune to check in early, around 11am, which was much appreciated. The information at the front desk could be improved. For example there was no information about the free day pass at the SPA for hotel guests, they gave us a map over St Julians and Malta but didn't point out the hotel at the map or any tips for things to see or visit, no information about the opening hours for the pool and we had to ask for the wifi passwords. The didn't say "Hello" when you passed the reception during the days/nights which isn't too much to ask.

The location is excellent. Close to everything; bars, restaurants, night clubs, busses (to Valletta), supermarkets, the ocean in a short walking distance. I wasn't disturbed at all from the street noise or night clubs, but there was some sensitively from corridors. In my opinion it was a very quiet and silent hotel.

The thing that annoyed me the most was the wifi. The wifi is not included in the room. Very dissapointing. It was free in the lobby and at the pool and poolbar on the roof. However, when the lobby was crowded it was impossible to get access to the wifi. And the wifi on the roof did not cover the sunbeds futhest from the bar.

The pool was great. The vibe at the pool were very peaceful and relaxing. Free bath towles. No need to get up early to reserve sunbeds which was nice. However one day at the pool a group of people were very loud and disturbing and the staff let it be.

Breakfast was ok, not bad, not extraordinary. They seem to have a little toaster issue during our visit. First morning, big toaster that didn't work properly. Second morning, another toaster that didn' work properly. Third morning, no toaster at all. Scrambled eggs was unfortunately only served the first morning of our stay.

The selection of tv channels was poor. No entertainment or movie channels. Just one channel for sports, Eurosport Germany. A wider range of channels is desirable.

All in all. Decent hotel. Like the design, atmosphere, cleaness, pool and location. The customer service was polite but not friendly or personal. I expect more from a four star hotell. If I go back to St Julian's I would try The Westin or Hilton.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HisSword
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmMT, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Hi there,

Thanks in taking your time in reviewing The George. We really do apologise about our shortcomings regarding information about the hotel and it's surroundings. We do find this challenging as most clients want a very speedy check in so we do not want to keep them waiting for too long.

We are however designing a welcome 'information' sheet that will in a very brief format highlight hotel facilities and seasonal city highlights. We hope to find the right compromise in this way.

As regards to wi-fi, we have taken corrective action by extending our bandwidth in the lobby area and introduced complimentary in room w-fi to any clients that book online via The George, Urban Boutique Hotel official website.

Thanks once again for choosing The George for your stay in Malta.

Regards,
Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

We stayed during one week at the George, and it was a very good experience. It was also our first travel with our 10-month old son.

Staff was friendly and always willing to help if there was a request.
Atmosphere in lobby, breakfast room and at roof-top pool was pleasant.
Good choice of breakfast food.
Spacious rooms, that were cleaned every day in a correct way.

Only minor point could be the noise coming from the streets but the windows isolate very well (we had a room on the 4th floor). The airco though makes too much noise to keep it activated during sleep

Certainly a place to be revisited.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank tomsterBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Let's start at the beginning ,we booked this holiday with skytours and asked for a high room as we knew that it would be noisy !! On arrival we were given a 1st floor room and were not impressed and were told that only one other room was available and that was on the 2nd floor so we had no choice and went for that and it was okay , we did hear occasional noise but it is early in the season!!
I also have to say that in the bathroom there is room for improvement not only with the decor which is looking very shabby du eto having a "curtain" across a pretty large shower that just lets the water go where i twants and that is mostly on the floor and it is rotting the wall !! also there is no shelf in the shower so anything that you take into the shower i.e shampoo etc has to be put on the floor !!!!! and in the shower there is a retractable mini washing line so mini that it doesn't go across the shower !!!!
We read your improving the environment in your room book and it stated that you want to look after the enviroment does that mean that you don't change sheets for the week even when there is "blood" on them !! totally ignored but the towels got changed every day whether they had been used or not !!!!!
We also had problems with the air con which was eventually sorted out at the second attempt !! Your staff are excellent but it seems that the "higher ups" are not too bothered about the decor around the hotel as long as they get there money !!!
One last comment in the lobbly bar you have Decaf tea but it is not available at Breakfast and i was told it was not included with breakfast !! unbelievable but i did win but had to explain to all the breakfast staff that i could have decaf tea !! not a good way to run a business and the General manager couldn't even be bothered to talk to me about this !!! So sad to say we wouldnot return to the George unless it improves in every way !

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theoldsWeymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm A, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Hi there,

Thank you for taking your time in reviewing The George. We apologise for not living up to your expectations and will analyse our shortcomings to modify our levels of service immediately.

I would also appreciate if you could e-mail me directly at ma@thegeorgemalta.com and forward your room number so we could look into the linen change issue. Our standard is to change sheets every other day. As regards to customer requests we do look at these requests at reservation level and try to accommodate accordngly however as the hotel was full we could not allocate a room on a high floor as requested. Also, 95% of our bathrooms have a glass sliding door and not a curtain in the shower so the water issue is less relevant. We do have a few rooms with curtains that are there to accommodate guests using wheel chairs.

Last but not least, we will ensure that guests do not have to ask for decaf tea to be included in their breakfast service and will be readily available. I was made aware of this issue when you were in the hotel and I thought that this was not right and instructed staff to ensure we offer decaf tea accordingly.

Thanks once again and rest assured that we take these comments constructively and use in order to up our service levels.

Regards,
Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2013

My wife and I had a worrying start to our stay when we were told that there was no booking for us; after a couple of minutes it was found, but starting on the date we were due to leave. We had booked through Thompsons and don't know whether the fault was Thompsons' or the hotel's. The type of room which we had booked was not available so we upgraded (at a discount) to deluxe room with balcony. This was probably a mistake, as although the room was excellent the area is very noisy (until 3-4 a.m. with loud music, shouting etc. and again with traffic a couple of hours later). The standard rooms overlooking a central courtyard may be less noisy. As we couldn't sleep with a balcony door open, we turned the air-conditioning (efficient but a bit noisy) on for a while before going to sleep - ok in early May, maybe not when the weather gets hotter. Otherwise - room clean, toiletries excellent, breakfast very good; we didn't call on staff services much and didn't try the restaurant for dinners. The area is lively (too much so for our taste) but convenient for lots of restaurants, bus stops and pleasant harbour-side promenades.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking courtyard are probably less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter_S190822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm A, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Hi there,

Thanks in taking your time in reviewing The George. As we are a city centre hotel, we have in fact invested in high end double glazing windows and doors to eliminate noise pollution when inside the rooms. I believe this does in fact solve the issue when the doors are closed. The individually controlled air conditioning system then allows you to control the required temperature in your room. I would however appreciate if you could send me your room number directly at ma@thegeorgemalta.com as I would like to look into the noisy ac unit accordingly.

Thanks,
Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013 via mobile

Just rtn from a great weekend at the urban boutique hotel. On arrival we were greeted by Malcolm the hotel manager who was very helpful and advised us on the best places to go and also booked us into a restaurant as there was 14 of us. The rooms were amazing very clean and modern and with Molton brown toiletries which was also a nice touch. We spend a lot of our time at the roof top pool which had amazing views of Malta. The service round the pool was great we were served by Peter who was very helpful and friendly . All in all we had a amazing time and will be returning very soon.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelzaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmMT, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
Hi there,

Thanks for taking your time in reviewing The George. We are very glad that you enjoyed your weekend stay at The George and in Malta.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Regards,
Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.0 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,790 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,478 reviews
0.2 mi away
Argento Hotel
Argento Hotel
#8 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Juliani
Hotel Juliani
#2 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,322 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Property: The George Hotel
Address: Triq Paceville Ave, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ3103, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#6 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George is located in the heart of Paceville St.Julians, the foremost entertainment and leisure area on the island. Just a short stroll away from the sandy beach at St.George’s Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Lastminute, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing