We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The George Hotel
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I stayed with my husband and we chose this hotel as we had a penthouse suit,which include its own private sunbathing patio, plus a lounge, fridge and free in room wifi.

The rooms were spotless when we arrived and kept to that standard by the cleaners.

The hotel staff were all very helpful especially Josef and Bjorn, who made restaurant and taxi reservations for us.

The hotel pool is only small, but as I only chose to swim in it early morning before others were up that was fine.

The hotel has a large lobby which is airconditioned and offer free computor use as well as Wifi.

The positioning of the hotel is very close to the very lively Paceville area but we were never disturbed by this. Although we think you might be on the otherside of the hotel.

All in all we had a great stay and would recommend to anyone paying the extra for the Penthouse Rooms.

Room Tip: Rooms above the hotel enterance on Paceville Street are probably quieter and offer a limited sea vie...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaynor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,209)
There are newer reviews for The George Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

580 - 586 of 1,209 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2013

I have mixed feelings about this hotel. Though I liked the very clean look and modern feel, I really hated the location. This was not my choice, however, since it was a company trip. This area of town is so obnoxious at night and littered with underage kids going clubbing. Really weird seeing that the average age appeared to be 12, but I digress. My room was nice enough, the view was...meh. It appeared clean enough and the staff was helpful. I think it was overpriced for the location and digs.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melissa h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

My wife and I spent four nights at the hotel as we were in Saint Julian's for our friends' wedding.

The George is excellently located, a short walk from the bars and restaurants. Service from all staff was friendly and helpful at all times and the hotel was spotless, with our room cleaned on a daily basis.

The theme of the hotel is very modern and this is reflected in the decor; its a really smart looking place.

The rooftop bar and pool is a little small (loungers around the pool were snapped up very quickly) but this is minor quibble - a beautiful, modern hotel in a great location - highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank youjusthaventearned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We found the hotel to be a good base. We did find street noise to be intrusive at times but we knew this before we booked. Mostly the hotel was quiet but on one night a party took place in the early hours. This can happen anywhere but the hotel attracts a very mixed clientele from young to old. So you may ever quite know who will be in rooms near you.
Breakfast was ok. What you would expect from a mid range meditterean hotel. Some guests were thoughtless and greedy but you can get that anywhere. The staff were discreet and we found our cleaner to be excellent. I found the hotel to be clean with effective air conditioning.
There is a mini bar which is unstocked but kept drinks cold.
The pool is relatively small and shallow. Somewhere to cool off rather than swim. For a hotel of a few hundred there were comparatively few beds. The hotel allows people to hog beds for long periods by reserving with a towel. By one in the afternoon no one had come to the beds a times. Inconsiderate people and the hotel could and should improve this situation. People were too polite and left rather than move towels.
The area is very urban and quite unappealing but a short walk away there are more appealing spots. Again we knew this before arriving.
Good transport links and near a party area with gentleman clubs if that's your bag.
The hotel matched my expectations.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmMT, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Hi Craig,

Thanks for taking your time in reviewing The George. We appreciate your feedback and we will be passing on your feedback to all staff. As we are a city center hotel, our rooftop pool deck does sometimes have it's limitations. We have also noted the issue regarding the availability of sunbeds and we are looking into ways of reducing this inconvenience.

Kind regards,
Malcolm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Had an enjoyable 2 week stay during July/Aug and found the George a good base from which to explore. The hotel itself is modern, spacious and nicely designed with some friendly, attentive staff. Our rooms were spacious with comfortable beds, fantastic showers and I have to give a special shout out to our Housekeeper (on floor 1) who worked so hard to make sure everything was kept spotless whilst remaining incredibly cheerful every day!

The rooftop pool and bar are a great facility to relax and the young (Lithuanian?) staff in this area were particularly friendly. Breakfasts were good, with plenty of choices to start the day.

My only issue throughout the stay was with a large party (30-40) of business travellers who were using the conference facilities at the hotel and seemed to clash with the otherwise relaxed vibe of the George. At one point, the whole group took over the pool area for a team-building exercise which ended with team leaders "bombing" the small pool and soaking the surrounding guests. I appreciate it's difficult to successfully mix large groups of business travellers (loud, brash, competitive egos) with clients looking for a relaxing break but on several occasions during their short stay, this group managed to irritate other guests and lead to an exodus from the area they were using.

Good points: Spacious, well-designed, comfortable, helpful staff, good breakfast, nice pool and bar, centrally located.

Improvements: Wireless coverage in communal areas quite unreliable and charging for wireless in rooms seemed a little mean in view of this, impact of business parties (see above)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank betweencloudshadows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Perfect location for a week in Malta - short walk to lots of bars, restaurants and shops in St Julien's yet hotel itself is quite quiet and chilled. Also easy to get the bus to the town of Valetta (about 45 minutes). Staff were very friendly and hotel has great facilities - rooftop pool, spa and indoor pool, great food and drinks. Our room wasn't ready when we arrived a little early but the staff suggested we change in to our swimwear and they stored our bags and took us up to the rooftop pool - a great start!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We have just enjoyed a wonderful two weeks at the George Hotel from 23 July - 6th Aug. All the staff were so helpful, polite and knowledgeable about the island of Malta. The room was airy and cool and although it is located in the busy part of Paceville we did not hear any noise at night time. Great location for a family with two teenagers who were able to go out clubbing and feel safe. The roof top pool is a delight and yes it can get busy late afternoon but we never had to wait long to get a sunbed. Breakfast was good with a selection of cooked dishes, cereals and fruits. Illy coffee too - my favourite! Thank you for helping us to have an amazing holiday and a big thank you to the Dutch, Latvian and Bulgarian staff!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel get the afternoon sun on the balcony
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Julian's hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,751 reviews
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,003 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Argento Hotel
Argento Hotel
#10 of 33 in Saint Julian's
912 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#8 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,675 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: Triq Paceville Ave, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ3103, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#6 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: £76 - £234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George is located in the heart of Paceville St.Julians, the foremost entertainment and leisure area on the island. Just a short stroll away from the sandy beach at St.George’s Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing