We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The George Hotel
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with work commitments on the island for a week hotel was good, free wifi in the lobby to keep me in touch with family, room was overlooking road on front but was still very quiet but the best recommendation I have is fir the staff especially the night shift reception as every day I had to leave for work before breakfast the staff made me a little breakfast in a bag I could eat on my way into work in Luqa
Thank you to all your staff

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank hammy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,210)
There are newer reviews for The George Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

548 - 554 of 1,210 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2013

The hotel is very nice with a trendy interior. Our room (de luxe) was very comfortable with a good size and a nice balcony. The staff was very service minded and the hotel has very fine spa and wellness facilities.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 365Jette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Myself and my two daughters stayed at the George in Oct 2013. Apart from a problem with plumbing on the first night when we were transferred to The Meridian for one night we have no complaints. The staff were lovely and friendly and our room was perfect very quiet despite the busy area. The only thing I would say is we ate in the restaurant on one night and were very disappointed with both the service and the meal. The chef seemed to be in a hurry to finish and was not in a good mood. However as there are a number of good places to eat in the area this was not a problem for the rest of our stay. Overall we enjoyed our stay immensely.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Deirdre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I stayed for 10 daysi in this hotel in the end of june 2013. I had my 16 years old son with me. We had a to-room suite wich was comfortable and had a big balkony. We spent a lot of hours taking sun at the balkony because pool area at the roof top was always crowdy.
When we arrived at the hotel we were very nicely wellcomed by lady at the reception disk and chek-in prosess took only a few minutes. We were pleased with service throughout whole stay at the hotel. It is mostly young people working here and they are doing a good job.
We liked breakfast restaurant - impressive design and quality food. It is a little pity that it was not possible to get a good lunch at the hotel( pool bar had little choice ).
All in all it was a pleasant stay and we are coming back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Myway43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We enjoyed a week at this central hotel. We opted for a Penthouse Suite which was a great choice however the view was not great. Same level as the swimmming pool so access there was easy. Pool small and sunbeds limited but not a problem at the time we were there.
Staff were really great in the breakfast restaurant and reception. All clean and comfortable.
We had a late flight and the hotel could not provide a room for us. We were able to utiise the spa faciities however all the electrics were broken that day and the heat was awful.
Overall - a good hotel and would recommend it for all of the above plus the convenience of all restaurants etc.

Room Tip: Would recommend the Penthouse Suites
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ChristineM191250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I stayed here last year, and had such an amazing experience. Stayed for 6 nights, and was thrilled, modern, stylish, comfortable, what more could you want. The rooms are average size, but are extremely clean. I found the reception staff to all be very helpful and friendly and always willing to help! Location is perfect, around the corner to the heart of paceville, which made in convenient for a night out. We hired a car for the week and were able to find street parking around the area to save some cash but did use the hotel car park one night when the streets were too busy. Pool is small, and there are limited deck chairs to use, however wasn't really an issue as we much preferred to drive around the country and discover all the difference beaches. Great hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MSyd88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmMT, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Hi there,

Thanks for taking our time in reviewing The George. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay in Malta and at The George. We appreciate your comments regarding our pool, however as an urban hotel we do have our limitation on pool deck size. We do however have a partnership with a great beach club, namely Baia Beach club for the summer months. And I could not agree with you more, our beaches, coast and sea are too good to miss.

Kind regards,
Malcolm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Like another reviewer, we too had a junior suite on the 4th floor overlooking the street - with the Med in view too, I hasten to add. Yes, there was a language school across the road. Noise day and night? It seemed to go dead around 5 p.m. and, even when operating, noise was minimal. Quite nice to see young people improving their skills actually. And closing the balcony door excluded any street sounds completely. Best sound-proofing I've ever come across.

We loved it. All the staff were ever so friendly, helpful and efficient. The breakfast on the Mezzanine level was amazing - such a range on offer. Loved the decor and all the comfy, squashy seats in the huge and lovely reception area. Even the corridors were so pleasant to walk down and could easily have pinched any of their gorgeous abstract paintings.

We paid a lot of money for a water bed at home, but would gladly exchange it for the one we slept in at The George. And would love the spacious,walk in shower here as well.

My only quibble? Would have liked a mirror near a plug in order to use my hair straighteners.

Was dismayed to read the negative reviews before we went, but needn't have worried. We had a delightful time and will be back. Thank you to all the considerate staff who looked after us so well.

Room Tip: We loved our 4th floor suite.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmMT, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Hi there,

Thanks for taking your time in reviewing The George. We really do appreciate this and are very pleased that you had a great time in Malta. As you correctly noted, we are in a prime location so our soundproofing does come in handy. We are also glad that you appreciated our mattress enhancers as they really do make a difference. I have in fact bought one for my home too !

We have noted that you intend on returning, when you do , please get in touch with me directly at ma@thegeorgemalta.com, we will be very glad to assist you with your booking.

Kind regards,
Malcolm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Julian's hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,759 reviews
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,008 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Argento Hotel
Argento Hotel
#10 of 33 in Saint Julian's
913 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#8 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,675 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: Triq Paceville Ave, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ3103, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#6 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: £76 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George is located in the heart of Paceville St.Julians, the foremost entertainment and leisure area on the island. Just a short stroll away from the sandy beach at St.George’s Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing