We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The George Hotel
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Kfar Saba, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Lovely hotel, wonderful location, close to the bus stop, next door -several nice restaurants.
Very kind and attentive staff-do not forget to ask for the bus routes!
Large comfortable rooms, breakfasts hearty and hot! We spent five wonderful days!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 14011962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    468
    487
    160
    45
    17
See reviews for
132
571
48
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
milano
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Positive points: rooms are big, beds are comfortable and bathroom equipments are top. ( from pressure of the shower to the top brand bath foam provided) - a plus, no doubt.
Location: very central

To be improved: honestly it would make a lot of a difference to benefit from a nice fresh smell when entering the lobby, there are tons of ambient deodorants with sticks to dig in one could choose from.
I noticed over my two nights stay, the same smell of close, food, indoors that was not pleasant at all.
Breakfast: 18 € per person does not make it tempting.
Check in: I settled my bill in cash and left a credit card deposit as a guarantee on arrival. Then changed my mind and asked to pay in cash when checking out, STILL keeping my card as a guarantee of course. The lady at the reception refused and she insisted in keeping both the cash and the card stating it was not possible to change. In my extensive traveling have never seen anything similar.

Check out on the other side was perfect.

Final suggestions: implement a few adjustments to keep retain all year / low season customers not to let them fall onto the temptation of trying new small boutique hotels appearing like mushrooms in the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank loidina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This hotel is wonderfully situated near everything in st. Julian. The room was very comfortable as were the beds. Unfortunately there is a fee for wifi which hotels should not do. The pool area was great- very easy to hang out around but the pool is small.
There is an advertised happy hour which does not occur. When the staff was asked about it I was informed that in September there are not enough guests to make it worth while. Fair enough- but then take down the ads from the lifts. The pool bar never seemed to be opened although it was supposed be open every day.
The breakfast was hit or miss. It was not very good for vegetarians although very good for meat eaters. Some of the food was plentiful and some was finished quite quickly. The last day the coffee ran out completely.
Overall- it was pleasant. The rooms were nice and modern and beds are comfortable however the hotel needs to iron out the issues about the pool bar, happy hour and breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mogotravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitzbuhel, Austria
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Got an online deal for 3 nights, very helpful lovely staff, good rooms. Spa was excellent, would recommend to everyone and will definitely stay again. Is excellent location and close to restaurants bars and clubs. Shame I was there for work and on my own

Room Tip: Got an online deal for 3 nights, very helpful lovely staff, good rooms. Spa was excellent, would rec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaPetchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmMT, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Hi Anna,

Thank you for taking your time in reviewing The George. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage of the hotel's spa and excellent location.

Our online deals are always the best way to book The George, well done for taking advantage !!

Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Spent 4 nights at hotel on Business, Staff very polite and very helpful, Room on 6th floor was spacious, quiet and comfortable, could not have asked for more. Hotel location is good, can walk to plenty of restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noise77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmMT, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Hi there,

Thanks for taking your time in reviewing The George. We are all glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage of our great location. We trust that you will choose to stay with us on your next business trip to Malta.

Regards,
Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with work commitments on the island for a week hotel was good, free wifi in the lobby to keep me in touch with family, room was overlooking road on front but was still very quiet but the best recommendation I have is fir the staff especially the night shift reception as every day I had to leave for work before breakfast the staff made me a little breakfast in a bag I could eat on my way into work in Luqa
Thank you to all your staff

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank hammy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed 4 December 2013

The hotel is very nice with a trendy interior. Our room (de luxe) was very comfortable with a good size and a nice balcony. The staff was very service minded and the hotel has very fine spa and wellness facilities.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 365Jette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.2 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,618 reviews
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
3,916 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Argento Hotel
Argento Hotel
#10 of 33 in Saint Julian's
881 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#9 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,614 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Property: The George Hotel
Address: Triq Paceville Ave, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ3103, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#6 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George is located in the heart of Paceville St.Julians, the foremost entertainment and leisure area on the island. Just a short stroll away from the sandy beach at St.George’s Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Lastminute, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing