We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The George Hotel
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
152 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I stayed here for a couple of days recently on a business trip. It is a very pleasant hotel, but as others write, the staff are what make the difference here. Basics are all there - clean, very spacious comfortable rooms, free wifi in the lobby area, I had ample amenities in my bathroom etc etc. The staff, with no exceptions, were very professional, cheerful and willing to help. It is a 4* with 5* service. I did an event and it went very well, from the booking of it to the conclusion. Very stress free and very relaxed indeed. A few other things I really did like - the slippers which were proper flipflops, the TV which had a very easy to use control, the 2 bars of soap, the coffee. I think it is a very good business hotel and depending on what one wants from a holiday, it could be an ideal place for holidays, although the sea is not outside the front door. We really enjoyed ourselves and a very big thankyou to all involved, both with our event and our stay. I am sure we will be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retro46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    456
    476
    159
    45
    16
See reviews for
127
559
47
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The George hotel staff is what distinguishes it among many other hotels not only in Malta. My boyfriend and I celebrated both birthdays during our stay in Malta and the staff of the George hotel did their utmost to assist each of us to surprise the other one while keeping the secret. Special thanks to Antoine, the hotel Operation's Manager who personally went to buy and procure a surprise gift for my boyfriend on my behalf on an Easter Monday morning!
The hotel enjoys perfect location and accessibility, the rooms are light and very spacious. Housekeeping service is impeccable, whereas the waiters in the hotel bars and breakfast facilities could not be more helpful and friendly, treating every guest with a smile and personal approach.
Overall, we greatly enjoyed our time in The George hotel. If again in Malta, that would be a no-brainer choice!

Room Tip: The higher the room the better due to the lively nightlife in St.Julian
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Anastasia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

The St George is a nice enough hotel, however we found the service to be slow and at times the staff didn't seem to care. Although there are managers walking around, however they don't seem to pay attention to detail. The reception staff are switched on, BUT there are certain points that we didn't appreciate. The TV channels are poor unless you pay to get some decent ones, the bed mattress was not very comfortable, they over charge for wife, in fact a rip off. So we had Molton brown toiletries. The food in the restaurants was ok can't complain, however I wouldn't rave either. All in all a good week. We may return??

Room Tip: Go for a corner Suite, and be cautious they hit you hard with wifi charges!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulmor1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I was very excited about this hotel. But I was soon disappointed as the bed clothes were dirty. They were not changed during our 4 day visit. Also, the room was very hot with central heating and we couldn't sleep with the amount of noise there was coming from Paceville. You have to pay for the TV and the wifi did not work at most of the time and when it worked it was very slow. I wouldn't recommend this hotel at all considering the price you have to pay. Its expensive and definitely not worth it!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ms-r-29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmMT, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for taking your time in reviewing The George. We are very unhappy we your experience at The George and would like to reassure you that we always do our very best to exceed our guest expectations.

We do have free TV channels in the hotel, however we also have a PAY TV option and this was probably not explained to you in a proper manner. We also offer free wi-fi in all our public areas and extend this service to all guests who book directly with the hotel.

As regards to linen changes , we change our bed linen every 2 days , we do however change daily upon request.

If you would like to contact me directly, please do so at ma@thegeorgemalta.com.

Regards,
Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We Stayed in The George for one week early in March. We found the location useful for busses, restaurants and parking the car we had hired (car-park in basement, at the cost of about £50 for the week). However, the area is noisy, even in low tourist season. The rooms are clean and of a very good size. The beds were likewise large and comfortable. The breakfast was fresh, varied and nicely presented. My only complaint would be the Coffee-machine.(Tiny cups of coffee, only one machine, so queues formed.) We found the staff friendly and helpful. We had booked in for B and B only and were very glad that was the case, as we tried COMPARUCCI RISTORANTE (in the hotel) once- and were glad we did not have to return. Neither the food, nor the service was up to standard. However, the neighbourhood has several excellent restaurants.

Room Tip: The higher you are, the further you are from the street-noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne Gerd C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmMT, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Hi Anne,

Thanks for taking time in reviewing The George. We are glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and as you correctly noted , we are in a very central location and with lots of restaurant and entertainment facilities around . This may at times generate more noise than is expected and in these instances we recommend that our clients ensure that the balcony doors are well closed. Our apertures are well suited to deal with the external noise and all rooms are air conditioned.

We can also confirm that we have added a coffee machine at breakfast to ease the waiting time. We now have various options of Illy coffee for breakfast. If you do have some time please contact me at ma@thegeorgemalta to explain what was not that good at Comparucci as we would be pleased to improve this too.

Kind regards,
Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I agree with the others; location is good, rooms are spacious and well furnitured but, the bed was very unconvertible, too many noises (construction in the day time and loud music at night) the AC was off and the room was too hot. you have to pay the TV, the breakfast was very minimal. the WIFI we very slow..... overall OK for yang people but not for business

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank HRH2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmMT, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Hi there,

Thank you for taking your time in reviewing The George. All our clients (business or leisure) demand fast and reliable wi-fi and internet service and we are continually trying to improve our connectivity. We have witnessed a huge increase in wi-fi traffic in the past few months and we are upgrading our hardware and internet speed on an ongoing basis.

We also offer complimentary wi-fi in all our public areas and extend this to in the rooms if clients book directly with us.

Please get in touch with me directly at ma@thegeorgemalta.com if I could be of any further assistance.

Kind regards,
Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
145 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

The location of the hotel is good, the rooms are spacious and clean and it has all the necessary facilities for a business meeting hotel. What is lacking is a more friendly and customer-oriented reception staff that are willing and able to assist the visitor with info about Malta.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank ABRAHAM T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.0 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,790 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,478 reviews
0.2 mi away
Argento Hotel
Argento Hotel
#8 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Juliani
Hotel Juliani
#2 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,322 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Property: The George Hotel
Address: Triq Paceville Ave, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ3103, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#6 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George is located in the heart of Paceville St.Julians, the foremost entertainment and leisure area on the island. Just a short stroll away from the sandy beach at St.George’s Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing