We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 week stay”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The George Hotel
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The George had impeccable service. We honeymooned there for 2 weeks. They provided a free hotel transfer on the way from the airport to the hotel because we were staying so long. We had a chilled bottle of champagne waiting in the room our first day.

The staff was always very friendly and helpful. We were able to book tours and our return airport transfer via the front desk. The hotel was always spotless as was our room. The maid services were very prompt. Sometimes we had only left our room for 30 minutes and when we would come back it was already cleaned.
The rooftop pool is very peaceful and relaxing.
The hotel location was great. It was close to many things/restaurants, but was not noisy. Absolutely nothing bad to say about this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in the penthouse suite which wasn't that much more money considering that you get a se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jamie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

518 - 524 of 1,223 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

Really enjoyed our stay at The George. Hotel was clean and modern, staff were very friendly and obliging, great facilities - 2 lovely swimming pools. Only ate breakfast there but this was a great buffet breakfast serving til 10.30 each morning.

The roof top pool is brilliant with views overlooking the bay. Drinks and food reasonably priced.

The hotel is in a street full of little local bars and Italian/Maltese restaurants, a few of which we sampled :-) Bus stop just down the road - $1.50 for an all day ticket, bargain!

Only little niggle was the bar downstairs - we went into the lobby to skype the kids at night and the bar closed early compared to other hotels we have stayed in. When it was open it wasn't always staffed. May have been different a bit higher in the season, but apart from that it was a nice relaxing, relatively inexpensive holiday. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VickyM834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Slick boutique hotel with cool, crisp interiors. We stayed in a inside room, pity thomsons did not give us an option to upgrade room which had been booked as a 50th Birthday present. We made full use of the heated indoor pool and rooftop pool area which was lovely .treat. The location is excellent, an easy walk to many good bars and restaurants and if you want to party a 2 minute walk to Paceville

Room Tip: A room at front of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Echofalls1021524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Slick boutique hotel with cool, crisp interiors. We stayed in a Penthouse Suite with a fabulous large roof terrace (though unfortunately without the weather to use it in January). We made full use of the heated indoor pool, sauna and steam room which were a treat. The location is excellent, an easy walk to many good bars and restaurants (of particular note is Chapter One, just down the hill).

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandman-at-large
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

After various trips to Malta and staying at the Hilton, Ta cenc and Le Meridian to name but a few, we came across The George. We booked a penthouse room facing the sea (503) for 8 nights as we were getting Married in Naxxar and our guests were staying at neighbouring hotels in the st julians area. From the moment we arrived we were incredibly well looked after, especially by Joseph on the front desk & Arthur. As we got to our room we had a bottle of prosecco and a platter of fruit waiting for us and a beautiful card. Every single day we were treated like royalty it was wonderful. The food was amazing, the petit fours were incredible. The pizzas were wonderful and it
was all faultless!

The noise that many have spoken on here about was no existent and I am a light sleeper. The room was so clean as was the terrace and balcony. It was just perfect. The only suggestion I would make would be to have a kettle in the room as a yorkshire lass I love a cup of tea! I asked for a kettle and the concierge brought one straight up! So attentive was everyone in the hotel and even on the day of our wedding nothing was too much! It was just wonderful! We highly recommended this hotel and the food here. We'd also like to mention il pirate restaurant and the the avenue restaurant on the same road. If you need a taxi the hotel will be happy to help you and Michael our driver was amazing taking us all over the place to collect our marriage documents!
The spa is fantastic too and sooo cheap!
All in all if you're looking for value for money, luxury and a place to relax and chill with staff who will go above and beyond this is the place for you!

We will 100% be back!!

Thank you to everyone at The George. X

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lexihol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Have just returned from a short break at The George. The hotel was brilliant, can't really fault it. We had a junior suite which was very spacious with a balcony overlooking the front of the hotel (the street which with the balcony doors closed at night wasn't too noisy). Every member of staff we came across was very polite including the cleaners who would say hello every time you passed. Both pools were excellent. We had the indoor pool to ourselves every morning and had no trouble getting a lounger at the rooftop pool even at the busiest times. The only minor fault being that the indoor pool should be open earlier than 10am.

The hotel itself is equidistant from the clubs in one direction to the pretty st Julian's bay in the other. We had a couple of very nice dinners at the bay which was a 2 minute stroll from the hotel. Special mention to the Blue Elephant thai restaurant nearby....amazing!

Room Tip: Book directly through the hotel website to get free WiFi in your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

It was our first visit to Malta and, in fact, our first holiday for a few years. We're not beach types so were happy that the hotel had a pool if we wanted to use it. There really is very little to fault at the George. The staff were extremely professional and courteous throughout from management through to cleaners, bar staff and the spa staff. In the first half of our week there was a young girl who was was working mornings in the downstairs bar who made the perfect coffee but sadly she was going back home halfway through our visit. Although all the staff were extremely attentive I do have to give a special mention to Abris, a young Hungarian barman who would go out of his way to make sure we relaxed and was friendly, helpful and engaging to talk to. He's definetely a credit to the hotel!

I wish I had used the spa earlier in the trip as it's a beautiful, relaxing space with an indoor pool, sauna and jacuzzi as well as spa treatment rooms. I had a 2 hour pampering session that was worth every Euro!

Breakfast was amazing, and after speaking to several other Brits at other hotels we realised that the variety and quality of the breakfast was indeed much greater at the George than at other hotels in the area.

We didn't use the main hotel restaurant in the evening as we were spoilt for choice locally with some amazing restaurants but the menu looked good and was reasonably priced. The pool bar area could get very busy round lunchtime but the two times we used it the service and food was fabulous.

Free wifi in the lounge and pool areas was extremely useful to keep up to date with things back home but I would have preferred if this was available everywhere in the hotel rather than the hardwired option in the rooms.

Cleanliness was perfect in all areas of the hotel and particularly in our rooms and I do also have to give a special mention to the water pressure in the showers which was always an amazing start to the day!

There were very few negatives for me, and certainly nothing that spoilt my enjoyment of the holiday but I would have a couple of small suggestions. An extra coffee machine in the breakfast area would be a great advantage as there was often a queue for this. I can only imagine that queue must get a lot worse during the busy summer months. My other coffee related suggestion is some more explanation of how the self service area should work 'out of hours' for charging items to the room and how to use the Illy Espresso machine for people that have not used one before.

Minor things in the context of how wonderful our stay was. We're already planning our next trip to Malta and will be looking to stay in this wonderful hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kessina25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Julian's hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,822 reviews
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,053 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,977 reviews
0.4 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#8 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,315 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#10 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: Triq Paceville Ave, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ3103, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#6 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: £77 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George is located in the heart of Paceville St.Julians, the foremost entertainment and leisure area on the island. Just a short stroll away from the sandy beach at St.George’s Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing