We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay at the George!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The George Hotel
Ranked #11 of 34 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay at the George!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

I would recommend The George to everyone! We had a wonderful stay at this trendy beautiful boutique hotel. We arrived 2 weeks ago and we stayed for 9 nights and enjoyed every bit of it! The staff at the reception was very helpful. Especially Josef and (a Russian?) lady who helped us find a doctor/pharmacy for my boyfriend who was caught by the rocks!
The lobby area is very nice to relax and to make use of the free wifi. At the rooftop pool you can enjoy a nice cocktail together with a great view over the sea!

A big thank you to all staff of The George! You made our stay unforgettable, and if we would return to Malta we would book you again!

With kind regards,
Laura van Schaik

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    446
    460
    158
    44
    15
See reviews for
120
546
47
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for four nights and since our vacation was not intended as action packed, we spent most of our time in the hotel - either in the room or on the rooftop next to the pool.
We enjoyed everything, only minus was the breakfast which was uninspired.
Especially the front desk staff was very helpful and helped us with all requests.
The studio room/apartment is recommendable and has a small kitchen with all you need.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Musling18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We visited this hotel to celebrate our engagement. The hotel is in the centre of St julians and 5 minutes walk to St George Bay so it was easy to get to everything. Beaches are limited here and we managed to find a very rocky beach on the strip. Lots of lovely restaurants around the area. The hotel had no entertainment areas, No pool tables etc. this could have made our stay better.

The room was clean and had a good layout but the bed was very hard, me and my partner both kept waking up throughout the night because we were uncomfortable and made our backs hurt.

The pools - Sun beds were too close together and not enough beds for the capacity of the hotel but the pool was clean and pool bar always had great staff on duty. However the pool facilities in the down stairs area inside was a completely different case, the sauna and steam room were broken and in regards to the Jacuzzi, someone had been sick inside the water but yet no member of staff told us this on our way in, luckily another guest told us before we actually got into the water. We told the lady on the desk on our way out and she said that she new someone had been sick in there and was waiting for someone to come and clean it but failed to tell us this when we entered!

The breakfast was terrible. The scrambled eggs were awful cooked with lots of butter and barely edible, sausages like cocktail sausages. We were given a room with a kitchen area so we ended up skipping their breakfast and buying some cereal, although we had paid for the breakfast there when we booked it.

Staff were all very friendly and helpful apart from the lady at the pool.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 894lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed here 7 nights 8th to 15th July Junior suite room 403 first impression of Hotel was good check in was fast room ok not sure why it was called a junior suite as just looked like a normal double room a refreshment centre was mentioned in the welcome book in the room nothing was in the room a call to reception denied this until I mentioned it was in the welcome book 10 mins later a kettle and two cups were delivered nothing else.
Air con was to noisy to leave on during the night and you could not leave the balcony door open due to the noise from the street below which often went on till 3am it is not the Hotels fault as the noise is from drinkers moving from several bars around the Hotel to the other bars just down the road from the Hotel Breakfast ok nothing special and just warm most days.

Room Tip: Highest floor possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevinelliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

This place is awesome, well furnished and decorated. The staff are really friendly especially Philip at the pool bar. We had the b&b package which was buffet breakfast and was good. The roof top pool is really good but there is limited bed space so I'd imagine in the height of the season it would be busy. I'd recommend anyone to stay here a real gem!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveMacEFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Booked in for 10 nights for a diving holiday. We like the general quirkiness of non chain hotels and from the website and reviews the George seemed to fit the bill. On arrival all seemed well…nice reception, friendly staff, efficient check in. All good so far. Got to the room on the sixth floor…one of the 'penthouse' rooms….not cheap but hey, its the main holiday. All looked good. Clean, nice touches of an Illy espresso machine, two TVs, Molton Brown toiletries. Despite the location close to the raucous Paceville (this really isn't ST. Julian's), the room was quiet.

So the first problem. TV didn't work…..well to be accurate, one TV did, but only if you used the remote in the other room. The other was completely lifeless. A call to reception, and a guy turned up and asked the obvious…had we pressed the buttons….well duh! After some fiddling he got the main TV in the living area working, but explained that the bedroom TV did not work as it was recently installed..I'm still trying to get my head around that one.

A few hours later, a knock at the door, the same guy with a couple of others,asking if the aircon was OK. We the noticed the fault light flashing…a scratching of heads, and the promise of a replacement part and they went away….never did quite figure that one out, but the aircon did work, much to our relief.

So all good(ish). Next day, noticed no replacement of toiletries or coffee….wasn't too bothered about the toiletries but the coffee was an issue. You couldn't get the capsules of coffee in the local shops and had to rely on the room service replacing the complimentary coffee on a daily basis. This issue of was consistent through out our stay despite daily calls with ever increasing tones of dissatisfaction to the reception staff. Also, had to ask for replacement glasses which had not been cleaned/washed from the previous days. I know this may seem petty, but really for the price of one of these rooms you expect a certain level of service - such as replacing the complimentary coffee and cleaning the glasses…

Otherwise the hotel was fine. We didn't have breakfast at the hotel, and at 12 Euros a pop, this was a good move…there was a fantastic little cafe around the corner where you could get a great breakfast for about 3 Euros.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank RichRG7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

I have nothing but praise for the George hotel! We booked around 15 rooms to attend a conference and everyone said the same. Our studio room was large, modern, clean and very comfortable; the Molton Brown toiletries were another nice touch. Both the spa and roof top pool got plenty of use and were the perfect places to relax. Paceville wouldn't be our first choice for a holiday, but it was good to get some decent night life and there were plenty of good restaurants to choose from. The George is haven amongst the madness!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.0 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,734 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Juliani
Hotel Juliani
#2 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Argento Hotel
Argento Hotel
#8 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,249 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Property: The George Hotel
Address: Triq Paceville Ave, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ3103, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#6 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George is located in the heart of Paceville St.Julians, the foremost entertainment and leisure area on the island. Just a short stroll away from the sandy beach at St.George’s Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing