We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful break”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The George Hotel
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful break”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Just had a 4 night stay here and has a great time! The staff were excellent and made you extremely welcome! Josef goes out of his way to help! Young lady at the rooftop bar was also brilliant!
The entrance lounge was very relaxing with comfy sofas you can just sit and chill in (plus free wifi). The room we had was very clean and ok there's a lively atmosphere outside at night but you can either sit and enjoy it or close the glass doors and hear none of it! Air conditioning works when doors are shut so it's nice and cool!
Restaurant was ok, breakfast was ok - not a vast choice but enough, coffee was immense!
Rooftop pool could probably do with more loungers and less posers but I prefer the sea and albeit rocky beach! It is in a busy area but this has little to do with the hotel and I for one am looking forward to a return stay here! Thank you

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bev T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    463
    486
    160
    45
    17
See reviews for
132
566
48
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This place is perfect!
The location was a few minutes walk from everything you could possibly want, I was on crutches at the time & still had easy access to the beach, to Spinola Bay & it's fabulous harbour, Pachevillie & it's nightlife, shopping & restaurants, not to mention being a couple of minutes walk to buses that could take you anywhere else on the island. The hotel itself is also surrounded by numerous fantastic restaurants.
The hotels decor was beautiful, the rooms luxurious & spacious, the breakfasts catered for every possible taste & the standard of food was excellent.
The 'crowning glory' of The George has to be its staff, I've never experienced such wonderful service anywhere else! Nothing was too much trouble & every need anticipated. Thank you for a lovely holiday, I will definitely return!

Room Tip: If you're a smoker, request a room with a balcony or terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ieper (Ypres), Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Very nice hotel! My friend and I enjoyed every minute at The George. Very friendly people, modern and clean rooms, relaxing swimming pool and bar on the roof, good facilities; perfect for young people and young couples! If I ever go back to Malta, I already know which hotel to choose!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Lovely large rooms, amazing rooftop pool and bar and central too all that Malta has to offer. The cleaners were pretty poor however, they offered us free breakfast to apologise. Its walking distance (5minutes) to the nice restaurants and the harbor, about 200m from the central bar and club area. We went on a trip to Camino organized by the hotel which was good, but very touristy and the boat ride took 2/3hours. All in all a very nice place to stay with the girls for a long weekend.

Room Tip: Go for the junior suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tfm1402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2014

+ Nice modern room, including a kitchen
+ Rooms were very well cleaned
+ Friendly staff
+ Good location to visit Malta + bus at 500m
+/- A lot of choice for breakfast, but missing some variety (each day same buffet)
- Only free (slow) wifi in the lobby and at the pool, fee to pay for wifi in the room

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed here for a week's honeymoon, and whilst it didn't meet expectations, it was alright.

It's conveniently located for the airport, St Julian's, Paceville, and the bus stops to Valetta/big red bus tour etc.

We booked a 'junior suite' but it wasn't really a suite - there was no sitting area, only a bed & bathroom. The outdoor terrace was nice enough but had only one sun lounger, which was a bit pointless when there are two of you.

The breakfast was terribly disappointing - I would recommend if you do stay here you book room only then eat at the nearby Shoreditch bar - the breakfasts there are brilliant and great value.

The pool is nice, very cold, but there are nowhere near enough loungers for the number of rooms. The pool bar is convenient for drinks/snacks too.

We didn't eat in the hotel's restaurant, nor did we try the spa.

Disappointingly, despite the hotel knowing it was a honeymoon, no one said as much as congratulations.

We were also disappointed with the laundry service - the laundry booking sheet doesn't say it isn't returned on a Sunday, and so we waited 3 days for a t-shirt to be washed - and when it came back it wasn't even clean.

Overall I'd say this hotel is 3* only, it's average and alright but I'm sure there is better.

Room Tip: Given we had a junior suite and it was quite small, I dread to think how small the standard rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LondonLover99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed at the George for 11 nights recently. Room very big and airy , big beds, spacious bathroom , small balcony. Hotel clean .Staff polite and helpful.Did'nt avail of breakfast but had dinner one evening in the restaurant which was average. Had food a couple of times at the poolside bar , ok , nothing special and a little pricey.The downsides for this hotel are the street noise at night and the small pool area. Noise coming from people / bars until about 3am .Of course the hotel is not responsible for this but if you are a light sleeper this will not suit. The pool area is very nice but just too small .There is not enough room for the amount of sunbeds required and therefore you need to be an early riser to get your spot. Location of the George is good.Turn left if you want the very lively Paceville , or right if you want a calmer area with fantastic reataurants.Overall I enjoyed my stay at the George.I felt it was value for money. I would stay here again , and I would recommend this hotel

Room Tip: A corner room higher up , maybe at the back of the hotel, might help lessen the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank nuala c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmMT, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Hi Nuala,

Thanks for choosing The George for your stay in Malta and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay.
We appreciate your feedback regarding our location and our pool area. As an Urban Boutique Hotel our central location does, especially in the peak summer months, get busier however all our rooms have centrally controlled air conditioning units so noise can be drastically reduced when the doors are shut.

Regards,
Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.0 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,833 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,546 reviews
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
3,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Argento Hotel
Argento Hotel
#10 of 33 in Saint Julian's
869 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,354 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Juliani
Hotel Juliani
#2 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Property: The George Hotel
Address: Triq Paceville Ave, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ3103, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#6 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George is located in the heart of Paceville St.Julians, the foremost entertainment and leisure area on the island. Just a short stroll away from the sandy beach at St.George’s Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing