We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, modern hotel - with room for improvement!”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The George Hotel
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Bremen, Germany
Level Contributor
99 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Very nice, modern hotel - with room for improvement!”
Reviewed 27 October 2010

We booked this hotel because it was brand new and had very good ratings on relevant websites. It is very stylish and has a nice design. Our room was very comfy and quite big - we booked a twin room and got a room with 4 beds! As it is still quite new, there are still some things that are not working properly/can be improved. There was no information material in the room, not on the hotel and its facilities itself, nor on Malta in general. We would have also liked tea/coffee making facilities in the room. There is free wifi in the lobby, but not in the rooms. The nice flat screen TV only has a limited selection of free channels, the rest need to be paid for (and I am not talking about the adult channels...). A big minus was that our room was never cleaned properly during our 5 days stay. The first day our towels weren't even replaced, beds were never made. The breakfast was not included in the room rate and is overpriced at 12€ for a pretty basic selection of low quality food. The location is quite handy, but we weren't big fans of St. Julian's, as it is more of a party town for language students. We had a rental car though and could get around quite conveniently. There are loads of nice restaurants nearby though. The hotel has two pool areas, one indoors one on the roof with a brilliant view, which are very nice, but can be improved. The sauna, steam room and jacuzzi are only turned on in the afternoon, for example. There is a car park in the hotel which, unfortunately, is not included. The staff was generally very helpful and made up for some of the minuses of the hotel. Taking everything into account, I would say at the George again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dulin38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    456
    476
    159
    45
    16
See reviews for
127
559
47
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Province of Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
120 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2010

This hotel has recently opened and you can tell judging from the inexperience of the staff at handling guests.
Overall the hotel has potential to become a popular one but the management need to work on several areas:
1-train your staff on guest service.
2-improve your breakfast quality.
3-Fix air vents throughout the hotel as it was stuffy.
4-need to have some standards across all employees as each seems to work independently of the other.
5-TV system too complicated to manage.

Overall i enjoyed my stay here , room was clean and spacious, bathroom was on the small size but shower was good size.
One thing i didnt like was the breakfast and the fact there was no restaurant in the hotel and that the mini bar was not stocked.

Location of the hotel is perfect for singles, couples and families alike as it's very central, and even though its in St. julians(the nightlife center) you couldn't tell unless you crossed to the parallel street.

I imagine there sre some teething issues with the property as its new but if its a 4 star hotel then the george need to get their act together quick.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2010

I don't usually take the time to review the places I stay but this one deserves it. I've been to Malta several times and this was defintely my best hotel experience. It's a great hotel that easily acommedated myself, husband and 2 young children. Facilities are really nice, location is great and the staff was very helpful. Will stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cleg1587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2010

Recent reviews seem to sum this hotel up pretty well. Fortunately our experience wasn't nearly as negative those of some previous reviewers. Perhaps they were unfortunate, or maybe the hotel management and its staff are making steady improvements.

We stayed here between 10 and 20 October. Our room (on the sixth floor, large and with a large balcony) was nicely furnished. On arrival there were a few minor problems, but once reported the hotel staff responded immediately. Really excellent service. The room faced the livelier side of Paceville but noise was never a problem. The standard of cleaning in the room iself was good, although the bathroom could have done with a little extra attention (although nothing worth making a big deal over). One issue though, of a potentially more serious nature, related to our balcony doors which were often left unlocked by the housekeeping staff who cleaned the room. This wouldn't have been so bad if the balcony was inaccessible to others. However, on the sixth floor the balcony area is shared with a number of other rooms, with no fence to divide each one. Clearly, leaving a door to a shared balcony unclocked is something of a security risk. We raised this issue the hotel staff on a couple of occasions. Hopefully housekeeping have taken this on board as it would be unfortunate for any guest to discover something missing from their room as a result of the hotel's carelessness.

Fortunately, all our other experences of the hotel were excellent. The breakfast selection was varied and plentiful, the lobby was smart and relaxing and the pool areas (on the roof and in the spa in the basement) were clean and relaxing. Moreover (and notwithstanding the issue with the balcony door) the hotel staff were friendly, attentive and very helpful.

On balance we would certainly return to this very good hotel in a lovely part of Malta.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rocky_Racoon76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2010

If you like to try nice new modern hotels, then this one is probably for you.

The George Boutique Hotel is located on Paceville Avenue - just a short walk from the lively nightlife of St Julians (and if you have visited this part of St Julians before, you will know how lively it can get at night).

We found a good deal on Octopus Travel's website (although I believe Thomson are also featuring it from next summer). We booked a 'Courtyard Room' for our weekend in Malta. The taxi driver from the airport knew it was 'the new one' in St Julians, and he dopped us off oustide a lovely modern building, and we entered a a big, shiny reception area and were immediately welcomed 'To The George'.

Our air-conditioned room was located on the first floor; it was really quite large with an enormous comfortable bed with a memory foam matress & soft sheets. Free electronic safe in the room! The room had ample wardrobe space & drawers, a large LCD TV with a selection of UK/European channels & pay movies. Being the cheapest 'Courtyard' room, our large window overlooked an atrium-type feature which had some natural daylight but never any sunshine due to its position. Strangely, this also provided natural insulation from the hustle & buslte of the area at night, so we got a decent night sleep as well. Other more expensive rooms had balconies overlooking either Paceville Avenue or Ball St.

The hotel has a lovely rooftop pool & terrace (pool towels are free from reception). We also used the heated indoor pool & jacuzzi in the spa area, open all day. The sauna & steam room are freely available from 4.30 to 8.30pm.

We did not eat at the hotel so cannot comment on the restaurant facilities - but it all looked very nice.

The only criticism was with the bathroom. It was large & airy - nice soaps & shampoo etc. - but there was no light over the mirror which made shaving difficult, and the shower was slow to drain which meant a 10 minute gap between the two of us being able to freshen up. I reported this to reception at check-out and they logged it for the maintenance guys to investigate. I am sure the hotel will fix these kinds of niggles in teh course of time.

Overall, we were really impressed and will definitely stay here again. There are plenty of bars & restaurants nearby - one nearby bar/restaurant complex was open 24 hours, so you will not be stuck for somewhere to eat or drink even if you arrive late at night.

Hope this helps you make a decision!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyingFella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zandvoort, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2010

We organised our incentive together with Hotel The George and included all the aspects such as the total package Food and Beverages, the excursions and a Sailingtrip. We stayed in The George for 5 days with a large group and everything was taken care off. Especially the extra service at the poolterrace, friendly personel and the extra attention we received was very good. All 70 ladies will recommend this hotel! We would like to thank The George again for the total organisation and good service of our group. We hope we can make a reservation to a sister-hotel of The George in 5 years.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CallistaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2010

We stayed seven (7) nights at The George Hotel in mid-September 2010. We selected this hotel after much consideration based upon the TripAdvisor, location and price. Comments as follows:

AIRPORT PICKUP:

- We selected an airport pickup transfer on our online booking and the driver was at the airport as expected. Unfortunately, the driver was not friendly as he did not utter a single word to us until asking about payment upon final arrival to the hotel. Maybe this is because the hotel contracts this service out to another company? He was not a hotel employee.

HOTEL FIRST IMPRESSION & CHECK-IN:

- The hotel lobby is nice and new with all new furnishings and décor of a modern, boutique hotel. It’s very spacious and the style is very pleasing to the eye.
- Check-in was quick and efficient. Ms. Csilla was pleasant and welcoming which was nice. The following morning, we received helpful information from a friendly gentleman working as the concierge. Professional and courteous service received.

HOTEL CASH / CREDIT DEPOSIT SYSTEM:

- It was not mentioned anywhere in our booking / confirmation (nor anywhere on the hotel website at the time of booking) but we were informed upon check-in that there is a €15 per day “deposit” to be paid upon check-in to cover extra expenses incurred during the stay (drinks at the bar, snacks from the snack room, etc).
- Payment may be made either by: (1) payment of cash up front - or - (2) charge on your credit card. Thus, for 7 nights, we were obliged to pay up front an additional €100.
- At the end of stay, the hotel either deducts what amount is left over or you pay any additional amounts upon check-out.
- We were surprised by this system and opted to pay the deposit in cash up front (with cash to be refunded at the end) since issuance of credit by credit card is not always guaranteed or timely. Better to be safe than sorry.

BEDROOM and AMENITIES:

- Our bedroom was on the 3rd floor and facing the interior so not much natural sunlight in the room unfortunately.
- The bed was large and soft and was very comfortable to sleep in. There was a sofa, a chair, a mini-fridge, a large safe (big enough for an iPad, laptop, netbook) and plenty of closet space and storage space for luggages, suitcases, etc.
- The bathroom was clean and modern, with a hairdryer and a very nice walk-in shower. It’s big enough for two!
- Oddly enough, there were no bedside table lamps so you cannot read in bed.
- Air con system was efficient and worked well though there was no remote control as typically provided by hotels which would have been helpful.
- The telephone system does not come with much instruction, no telephone extension for maid service or housekeeping or even an extension to call the front desk. This would have been useful.
- Only shower gel is provided for hand washing, but no hand soap. Hand soap would have been nice, as well as a box of Kleenex tissues. (There is combination shampoo + body soap provided for in the shower though.)

TV SYSTEM:

- The TV system is rather complicated and not very “user friendly” nor very intuitive. Every time you turn it on, you must select a TV entertainment package (which includes TV, movies, and internet) either for the next 24 hours or for a week. This is a bit cumbersome.
- Although at the start of our stay, the TV entertainment package was free of charge, we noticed that beginning on our 3rd day, the hotel had implemented some changes to their TV offering and prices charged henceforth. Here are new charges as follows:
* €15 per day for full TV, internet and movies; OR
* € 9 per day for TV only; OR
* €50 per week for everything; OR
* No charge to view 8 “free” channels. Note that only BBC World News is the only English free channel (the other “free” channels were EuroNews in Arabic, Al Jazeera Children in Arabic, Chinese news channel, etc.)

BREAKFAST:

- We did not opt for a breakfast to be included in our stay so we have no opinion as to the quality of the breakfast. There are plenty of breakfast options near the hotel and with a fridge in the room; it was easy to self-cater (the Arkadia food market around the corner). Breakfast at the hotel costs €15 per person if you do not reserve / pay in advance and €12 per person if you reserve / pay in advance for one week.

POOLS, SAUNA, STEAM ROOM, JACUZZI (INDOOR & OUTDOOR) and ANNOYING TOWEL SYSTEM:

- The pools (unheated) are quite nice and refreshing to enjoy after a long day sightseeing. There are amenities like showers, changing rooms, restrooms, etc. located both the rooftop pool and in the basement pool areas.
- Lots of sun and deck loungers available which was nice.
- Note that the basement room area including Jacuzzi, sauna and steam room are only open from 16:00 onwards.
- The sauna and steam room in the basement pool area are nice as well though they run on timers so you must turn them on and keep them on manually for the duration of usage. - There were no instructions provided for the steam and sauna rooms, these would be helpful for guests.
- The towels for the pools are provided free of charge but you must request them from the lobby and after usage, you must return them back to the lobby. If you do not return them straight to the lobby, you will be charged accordingly.
- This towel system is very inconvenient; we ended just using our own towels instead of having to go up and down to fetch and return towels all the time.
- The hotel should have a towel attendant on the rooftop pool as well as an attendant working in the basement pool area to provide towels for the guests.
- After all, if they can have an employee on the rooftop to sell ice cream, surely they can have an employee give out towels at the same time without requiring guests to go back and forth to and from the lobby.

HOTEL CHARGES:

- It is useful to keep a ledger or expense log of the food and drinks you charge to your room because the hotel employees do NOT always have you sign for charges like a drink at the bar or a bottle of water or can of beer from the snack area for example. You do not always get a receipt.
- The hotel bar needs to have a menu of drinks as well as price list. We ordered a double espresso and a cup of tea on two occasions and on both occasions, the total price was different (only by one or two Euros but nevertheless.) Maybe this is due to changes in coffee and tea prices (?) from one day to the next but this is not appropriate. At a minimum, prices for such drinks like coffee and tea should be consistent and clearly indicated.
- It is also recommended that when requesting towels from the lobby and upon return, make sure the employee duly records that you have returned your pool towels to the lobby.

INTERNET ACCESS

- There is no Wi-Fi access in the bedrooms and for a new hotel, this is a surprise. There is free Wi-Fi in the lobby and it is stable and the signal is strong so bring your iPads, iPods, iPhones, netbooks, etc.
- There are also 4 or so computers in the lobby that are free for guests to use but there are no “courtesy policy” for use of the hotel computers so you may end up having to wait.
- We noticed that the Russian guests in particular tended to monopolize the computers for lengthy periods of time, even “holding” a computer for others while the absent friends were busy elsewhere in the hotel. This occurred even though it was clear that other hotel guests were standing by politely and patiently waiting.

IDEAL HOTEL LOCATION

- The hotel is ideally located, with the post office and bank at the corner (a mere 10 second walk) and plenty of restaurants, food shops, bars, souvenir shops, pharmacy, dive centers, etc. all located within easy walking distance. Bus stops are within easy walking distance as well.

LOCAL RECOMMENDATIONS:

- Pastizzerias: located all over Malta and Gozo and the place to get hot snacks like meat pies, flaky savory pastries, drinks, etc. Very cheap and very tasty!
- Il Rokna Restaurant: delicious and reasonably priced Italian and Maltese food with great service.
- Arkadia Food Market: across from Il Rokna for self-catering needs.
- Zest Restaurant: excellent Asian and Mediterranean fusion cuisine.
- The Gozitan: traditional Maltese cuisine.
- Divewise at the Westin: thanks to Vivienne, Howard, Jacqui, Fran and the whole Divewise team for excellent diving in Malta!

HOTEL PLUSES:

+ Ideal location, close to all necessities and public transport
+ Quiet and peaceful for relaxing stay
+ Indoor and outdoor pools, sauna, steam room
+ Pleasant and welcoming staff
+ Tastefully appointed, nice new furnishings and nice décor throughout the hotel
+ Reasonable room rates and comfortable rooms with good amenities

HOTEL MINUSES & SUGGESTIONS FOR IMPROVEMENT:

- Include bedroom tableside lamps in the rooms
- Include a remote control for the air con system
- Simplify the TV entertainment system and provide more channels for free in English.
- Include privacy window shades / drapes so you can allow some natural light inside the room during the day (otherwise, closing the main drapes cloaks the room in total darkness)
- Include some hand soap and a box of tissues in the bathroom
- Improve the pool towel system for guests so they don’t have to run back and forth to and from the lobby
- Improve the hotel charge system for guests
- Include drink menus at the bar so guests know exactly what the correct price should be for drinks and ensure that the pricing is consistent from day to day
- Provide free Wi-Fi for guests in hotel rooms
- Provide a hotel welcome sheet or welcome booklet in the rooms with telephone instructions as well as extensions for housekeeping, front desk, management, etc.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at The George Hotel and would stay there again and recommend it to our friends and family in the hopes that it improves its service and hotel processes and procedures for the future. We realize that it is a new hotel and that there’s room to grow and improve and we sincerely hope that it continues to get even better and better.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrs_VL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.0 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,790 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,478 reviews
0.2 mi away
Argento Hotel
Argento Hotel
#8 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Juliani
Hotel Juliani
#2 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,322 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Property: The George Hotel
Address: Triq Paceville Ave, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ3103, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#6 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George is located in the heart of Paceville St.Julians, the foremost entertainment and leisure area on the island. Just a short stroll away from the sandy beach at St.George’s Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Lastminute, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing