We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food; iffy service”
Review of Estilo

Estilo
Ranked #162 of 311 Restaurants in Saint Julian's
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Excellent 24-hour restaurant offering wide range of cuisines of high quality at reasonable prices. Part of the Tropicana Hotel in Ball Street, Paceville, Malta
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food; iffy service”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

The food was great although it took ages to arrive on a Saturday night. The waiters were blend of pushy and satirical and we weren't really sure whether they were making fun of us or being nice. However they were a marvel to look at as they seemed to dance about as they carried their trays and plates! The value was quite good too. Improve the service and its a five.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank TumbleB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    93
    41
    26
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canvey Island, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Average eatery in pleasant surroundings”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Good for average food and value for money prices. Atmosphere was o.k. and surroundings are nice but service was a little lacking, seemed like everyone got served before us!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Edwina40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Don't be fooled by the fountain!”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Came to this restaurant with my friend for dinner after seeing the table by the fountain which we thought would be a nice spot to eat. After taking a seat we then chose our drinks and food which seemed well priced and there appeared to be a good selection. The bad experience started when after 15 minutes we had to ask someone if we can order. The waiter yelled at a young man to come and serve us although he looked like he couldn't be bothered and had a better place to be other than his job. We made our order and the food and drinks arrived fairly swiftly. We finished our food and waited and waited for someone to offer to take our plates or take a look at the dessert menu. Our waiter (young man who looked as if he had a better place to be) looked me in the face atleast 5 times whilst he strolled around by the bar, completely ignoring the fact we'd finished our food going on 45mins ago and we now had friends come to share our leftovers (flies!). I said excuse me to another waiter who ignored me and then finally a female waiter shouted at said lazy young man to come to our table. We had decided by then it would take another 4 'excuse me's to get dessert and the bill so we left it at just a main meal. He reluctantly shoved us the bill, leaving our fly infested plates, in which we gave the exact amount (definitely no tip!) And commented on the receipt saying 'bad service :(' which we are hoping another waiter saw. I do hope that someone cleared that table after we left otherwise the place will be like lord of the flies by now. So the moral of this story... don't get sucked in by the lovely fountain like we were, unless you want to experience this atrocious service too.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Summersun122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Prices went up, quality went down”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This review is about Estilo's delivery service, not the actual restaurant, but I'm sure most of it will apply to the restaurant as well. We ordered several times from here in the past and were always happy with the quality - nothing spectacular, but good average food. The last time we ordered, however, it was clear that things have gone down the drain.

When we called to place the order we were told that one of the items we wanted to order was no longer available since they have recently "changed their menu". Translation: they increased the prices by anything between 20% and 40% and in some cases made portions smaller. So now, apart from below average food, they have above average prices. So i asked if the other items were still on the menu, and was told they were. But there's a twist - they kept the same names for some of the items, but changed the ingredients. So, for example, it's still called pasta Chicken Divine (whether there's anything divine about it is open to discussion) but the ingredients are completely different. You'd think, since you're ordering over the phone and you don't have the latest delivery menu (which they haven't yet printed) the person taking the order would advise you of these changes. But no.

So we got the order on time (they got one thing right at least) and found the "wrong" pasta, a completely flavourless and inedible rack of ribs with little to no BBQ sauce, and two (very small) portions of grilled chicken with unidentifiable "hot veg". Called to complain but was told that i should have checked the menu online. I pointed out that i should have been told that the ingredients changed but the names hadn't, but common sense isn't their strong point apparently. Asked to speak to a manager but of course there was no manager available, and was promised i'd receive a call from him the next day. This was a week ago. I'm still waiting for the call...

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IanBuhagiar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good spot for a quick lunch and a cool drink”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stopped after a couple of hours walking around Saint Julian's, had a decent lunch and a cool drink. Outdoor and indoor seating, we sat outdoors and enjoyed the shade from the trees on the patio. The food was only average, but certainly acceptable. Prices were about normal, lunch was about 7 Euros per person, drinks about 3.50. Lunch for 2 was just under 20 Euros.

I'd go back if I was in the area but wouldn't walk across town to find it again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rugbyfanVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Estilo also viewed

Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Luqa, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 

Been to Estilo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing