We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Maltese Cuisine”
Review of Gululu Restaurant

Gululu Restaurant
Ranked #63 of 318 Restaurants in Saint Julian's
Price range: US$11 - US$21
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Authentic Maltese Cuisine”
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Probably one of the best gastronomic experiences I had in Malta. The cuisine is Authentic Maltese, Tables are few meters away from the sea (the restaurant is located at Spinola Bay). Cost is definitely reasonable, Everything on the menu is tasty , but I loved the white beans with garlic and parsley on the starters and the pasta with rabbit as main course.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnYannopapas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    692
    900
    382
    138
    107
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great food, great setting”
Reviewed 5 December 2011

A really interesting menu, great for all types of dining whether it be a quick lunch, a sharing meal with friends or something more formal.
We shared a Maltese Ftira pizza topped with minced lamb, feta, cumin and hummous and a salad of goats cheese, honey roasted squash and rucola and we really loved all the tastes.
There are plenty of nice sheltered tables outside or also plenty of nice tables in the restaurant. A great place with great and different food.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank emjh77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Gululu! Fabulous place to be for local food”
Reviewed 2 December 2011

A delightful place to while away an hour or more - looking over the water
Friendly and helpful staff
Great food at reasonable prices - a place to return to!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank elaineDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Hordaland, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best meal I had in Malta”
Reviewed 16 November 2011

My husband and I ate here twice on our trip - once for an early dinner, and another time quite late. The first time because we couldn't find the restaurant called 'Lulu's' and assumed it might be the same place with just a slightly different name... Both times we were able to get a seat out the front on the terrace and the place was quite full. Service was quick, the Maltese staff spoke English with us, French with another table and German with yet another group. We were given a menu in English.

We tried different dishes both times - the menu is quite extensive and there is alot to choose from. Portion sizes for the mains were quite large - and it was difficult to fit in starters, main, dessert and wine. The menu apparenlty changes slightly with the seaons and also according to which festivals are occuring locally at the time. The menu is Maltese - we tried whitebait fritters, olives, roast lamb shanks, roast rabbit, chicken baked in a ceramic pot, slow cooked beans with parsley and garlic, cheese from gozo, deep fried cod, roasted seasonal vegetables, ricotta cannoli, lemon sorbet - and could not fault them. We chose the same wine both nights - a local Syrah.

Although I dined here with my husband, I noticed there were several large groups (8+) and also several solo diners. They also seemed to be enjoying their food, wine and the service.

Nice view across the bay, quite a quiet location and a short walk from the bus stop at Spinjola Bay, St Julians. I woudl not hesitate to recommend this place. Definitely value for money for the quality of food and service compared to some of the other waterfront eateries.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Top on taste”
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Eaten at 6/7 of TA top-ranked in the area this week and top on taste and service. Full on a Monday night and down to 3 waiters, the lads still made time to build rapport, explain menu and deliver good service. Salt cod as it should be (surprises me how reviewers say it's salty!) great tempura batter on it, good portion; best dips of the week esp. anchovy/paper/garlic; rabbit spaghetti was really tasty with depth, sweetened by carrot. Wide, varied menu, gives the 'Maltese Menu' a better show than anywhere I've been so far. Thanks Gululu.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthCoastRichie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gululu Restaurant also viewed

Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 

Been to Gululu Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing