We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“fantastic holiday”
other travellers have booked this property
St. George's Bay & Paceville
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
St. George's Bay & Paceville
Dining area and jacuzzi spa with zip-up winter gazebo St. George's Bay as seen from apartment outside walkway
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
20 reviews
St. George's Bay & Paceville
Dining area and jacuzzi spa with zip-up winter gazebo
St. George's Bay as seen from apartment outside walkway
Spare bedroom with 3 single beds
Spare Bathroom
Dining Area, Kitchen, Lounge
Hallway and entrance to bedrooms
St. George's Bay
Neighbouring Villa Rosa
St. George's Bay by night
Eating arrangement in a tropical environment
Lounge area
Jacuzzi spa, with adjacent dining area; and side garden area with deckchairs
Jacuzzi spa, dining area and deckchairs
Jacuzzi spa with zip-up winter cover
Hammock swing & deckchairs
Barbeque, deckchairs and hammock swing in tropical setting
Main Bedroom Entrance & Ensuite Bathroom
Dining table which overlooks TV area with Ethanol fireplace
Spare Bedroom with door leading to private garden area
Open Plan Lounge, Dining Area, Entrance Hall, and Kitchen in background
Kitchen, Breakfast Table, Dining Area, and Lounge Extension in background
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
2jackiemo...
Athy, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fantastic holiday”
Reviewed 24 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

we arrived at the apartment late and there was a food package for us which was great. we were right beside the niightlife but the apartment was very quiet. It was exactly as it was advertised,it is a very spacious apartment and the location is great. The owners let us spend the last day of our holiday at their home, which was wonderfull, they welcomed us and brought us to the aerport . they were very kind and friendly. would recomend it for all ages.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2013
We thank you for your lovely review. Even though our encounter at our house on the last day was brief, it was a wonderful hour spent together and wished there could have been more opportunities to get to know our guests more. It is always our prerogative to make our guests feel at home, and sometimes, when our busy schedule allows us the time and space, we actually live up to that promise by having our guests invited over to our house to spend the last few hours (or day) lounging by the pool to wind off before going back home again.

Our love and hugs to this lovely family.

Paul, Josanne and Nathaniel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarahstev...
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great location but a few issues on arrival”
Reviewed 21 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

I want to start with the positives; the location is excellent, close enough to the main strip for a night out in the bars/clubs of paceville but located so you don't hear the nightlife ; a very short walk to st George's bay beach; 10 mins walk to portmaso / 15 mins to Spinola bay and well serviced by buses to Villamoura and the rest of the island.

The apartment is large, nicely furnished, has a well equipped kitchen and gas BBQ and small courtyard garden and plunge pool (though we didn't use it being so close to the beach) large screen tv with satellite tv and fast broadband. The provision of basic tea coffee, milk bread, wine etc on arrival was also a nice touch.

However there were a few issues with the apartment, it was obvious that the apartment had been trashed by the previous party; there was no glass in the main entrance door; there was no glass in one of the bedroom doors; the washing machine was broken and the door hanging off ; there was stains on the ceiling; cracked floor tiles and a large number of lights had blown. We appreciate that at the end of the season a rental apartment has been well used and is a little tired but we weren't expecting to find the place in quite so poor a condition, there was obvious damp on the internal walls, skirting was hanging off, some of the timber floor was decaying: damp plaster in the bathrooms and mould

As we were picked up from the airport by the owner had we been informed before arriving at the apartment that there had been a few issues so we were prepared and given timescales for the problems to be put right it would have been appreciated, as it was we had ask the owner to rig a sheet over the bedroom door with tape to give our friends some privacy.

The repairs were done by the Wednesday and to their credit the owners did do some washing for us. We appreciate that the owners can't control the guests (the location is its biggest plus but also it's biggest downfall as it no doubt attracts groups who are looking to take advantage of its proximity to paceville) but if there's damage they need to let their incoming guests know before arrival and some ongoing maintenance needs to be done to address the condition of the apartment.

All this said we enjoyed our stay and compared to hotels in the area the apartment is great value for money and we would recommend it.

(Take with you: washing up liquid; hand soap; toilet roll; bin bags- these are not provided, you can buy these obviously but you'll end up leaving half behind)

Whilst you can hire sun beds etc from a shop on the beach you can pay €10 to use the intercontinental beach club at st George's bay for the day or €5 to use the roof top pool at the Baystreet hotel. It's well worth paying for the beach club but get there before 10.30 for the best spots (showers/ towels provided).

Bar soho has a happy hour Bogof on cocktails between 5-9pm, you must try the mango mojito!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Condition
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2013
We would first of all like to thank our guests for having chosen to stay with us and also for recommending our property to others.

As mentioned in the review we did have an issue with the previous guests who, on their day of departure (earlier in the day) we had to find out that these caused us extensive damage which unfortunately could not be repaired in one day, and also especially being a Saturday. The glass to the main bedroom door had been literally ‘walked through’ and although we made an emergency order for this it could not be delivered before the beginning of the week. Likewise, some of the doors for the kitchen cupboards also lost some of their adjustments due to mishandling.

As mentioned by our guests, ALL of these were repaired by the middle of the week (unfortunately it will take a little longer to repair the broken tiles mentioned in the email, but we made sure that these are secure and not in a position to cause any harm or accident to our guests).

Although the previous guests were sorry for the damage they caused and paid up for their misbehaviour, it is not so much the repayment for the required repairs, but the hassle, delays and inconvenience of getting things back in shape again. These same words were also relayed to the guests upon their arrival in the apartment – it was impossible for us to inform these guests about the required repairs anytime earlier because it was only earlier that morning, when probably they were still on the plane, when we discovered the damages in the apartment.

As luck would have it, the washing machine also decided to pack it in and although we did look for a similar replacement (the machine is a washing machine/drier combination with specific measurements for the built-in cupboard space), we were informed that this would be available by the end of the month. Because of this, and as also noted by our guests, we provided a free laundry service to them.

We are also looking into the other repairs as mentioned by our guests and will made amends as soon as possible. Having said that, we assure our future guests that attention is already being addressed towards the issues mentioned by the guests (most of which were resolved while they were still in the apartment as confirmed by the guests themselves, and for which we thank them for having appreciated our prompt attention).

The complimentary food pack mentioned by the guests consists of Maltese bread, sliced bread, butter, Maltese cheese, Maltese crackers, packet of ham, bottle of water, bottle of sparkling wine, small cake or biscuits, 2 packets of milk (skimmed and full cream), and small packets of tea, coffee and sugar – food packs are normally meant to last for a day but these definitely go beyond this. We also provide bin liners and toilet paper in each bathroom, but we do not supply for the whole stay. Reference the hand soap and detergents, we have stopped supplying these following an incident with past guests who were allergic to some of the products provided.

The guests have also complimented us, and for which we thank them, to have mentioned the fast internet service we provide in the apartment. We aim for the highest service in all the facilities we provide in all of our apartments to ensure satisfaction for an increasingly challenging market and customer demands.

We would like to close off by thanking the guests for having compared Sands with the hotels in the vicinity and also for noting that the apartment is great value for money.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Reviewed 5 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location and the owners
Liked least: Providing our own TP and soap
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
10 May 2013
It is always our pleasure to make sure that our guests enjoy their holiday to the fullest; if we can add that little bit of extra personal touch to help make this a truly memorable experience on the island, it will always come from the heart.

A big thank you to this lovely young couple for having stayed with us and also for posting their experience with us on this website. We also have to apologize for not having provided the apartment with the mentioned toiletries and assure you this was an oversight on our part as it is standard procedure and practice to have our guests greeted in the best way possible on arrival.

Malta is infact a great place to see and if you love diving, then you can say that you couldn't have chosen better. It would be a real treat to have you bringing friends along next time around because notwithstanding its size, Malta is a place which offers a lot and has to be visited again (even if that's a biased opinion, but still shared by most).

Once again a big thank you to our guests,

Hugs

Josanne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ljubljana...
Ljubljana, Slovenia
1 review
“Thank you Josanne for everything!”
Reviewed 3 May 2012 for a stay in May 2012

Josanne really surprised us cause she fixed up driver to drive us from the airport to the appartment and at the end of holidays back to airport. When we came her son was waitting for us on the parking place and in the appartment was also Josanne. She made us such a lovely surprise for welcome in - champaigne, cheese, bread, milk, butter and many other thinkg just to wish us pleasant staying in her appartment.
She was allways available on the phone during our stay on Malta to help us with any informations.
The appartment is really big and nice, we loved it, the beds were nice, it was clean, there's a little pool and a garden, wonderfull.
If we will ever come back to Malta, we will definitelly rent her appartment again!
Aldo you are in the main center where people is partying you still have calm night and the beach just in front of the appartment. We rent a car and there was a parking place for us, because we were afraid that we won't be able to park a car cause it's so much traffic there.
But once more, aldo we find Malta a big caotic, it's all so nice and peacefull and relaxing at Josanne's!
It is also a great location for taking a bus to everywhere cause there's really close a bus station and every kind food restourant you want.
Rent it, you won't be sorry!!
And Josanne if you are reading this - thank you again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hospitality
Liked least: The dirtiness of Malta but not of the appartment - it was really clean!
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 November 2011 for a stay in October 2011
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Ultra modern decor
Liked least: Would have prefered bedroom curtains to be thicker/darker
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Objective...
Leicester
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Perfect Holiday”
Reviewed 7 August 2011 for a stay in July 2011

I could say Paul and Josanne are the perfect hosts but that wouldn’t do them justice. They really went the extra mile in making our holiday wonderful.

They’d arranged for a driver to be waiting for us when we arrived, which made what could be a stressful part of the journey effortless and welcoming.

When we arrived at the apartment it’s exactly as it looks in the photos, and every bit as impressive! It’s got everything you need to make your holiday comfortable and the welcome food pack was very welcome indeed!

The apartment has every mod con you could wish for, from the Wi-fi to the washing machine, but my personal favourite was the swing seat in the garden, I spent many happy hours gently swinging with a glass of wine.

St Julians has a lot of young people but this shouldn’t put off those that are young at heart, everyone we met was friendly and accommodating.

Everything is on your doorstep from this location. The bars restaurants and clubs of Paceville are just a minute’s walk away, but when you curl up on the sofa for the evening they could be a million miles away.
The beach is also just on your doorstep and has a beautiful restaurant overlooking St Georges bay, I can heartily recommend starting your holiday here with a nice bottle of bubbly and the squid pasta – exquisite!
You can also find pretty much everything you need at the Bay street shopping centre, the Marks and Spencer being a very welcome piece of home.
Also in the bay street shopping centre is a hotel that has a lovely rooftop pool, for only 5 Euros you can spend the whole day lounging by it and you get the 5 Euros back to spend at the bar!
There is a Cinema at the eden complex, and across the road there’s pool, bowling alleys and video games.

It’s also a great base to explore from, on the road next to the beach you will find several helpful people where you can book excursions all over Malta and Gozo.

The beach bar at midnight is a must, and if you’ve had a few too many the night before the bar at the far end of the beach does a great Full English breakfast.

On our departure we had a late flight but Paul and Josanne let us spend the day at their beautiful home and made us feel like part of the family. I was touched by their hospitality.

We had a wonderful holiday and Paul and Josanne played a large part in that, thanks to you both for everything x

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxime L
Lyon, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing