We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel - Great Staff”
Review of Argento Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Argento Hotel
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel - Great Staff”
Reviewed 20 August 2011

I am very surprised with the negative comments of certain reviews. Normally I do not post a review but sincerely cannot fault this hotel. We have stayed at Argento recently and were concerned with some of the reviews posted but all I can say that hotel is a gem. Great staff, excellent location, variety of breakfast and stylish decor. Managers are hands on. It is a city hotel with a great lobby area design with a very elegant look. Breakfast was great with a wide variety of items. Rooms are very clean and nicely decorated. Laptop safe available together with tea & coffee making facilities. Free highspeed wifi in rooms and all areas of the hotel. Lovely pool on the roof with a superb view over St Julians Bay. Will certainly return in Autumn. Would recommend it to anyone looking for a peaceful and relaxing holiday or even a business trip.

Room Tip: Good restaurant and nice bar area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank maskie73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    393
    372
    83
    23
    8
See reviews for
86
465
62
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Valletta, Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Stayed in this new hotel on buisness for 4 nights in what i deem is the peak month in Malta. Arrived at night and had a warn welcome, staff was very friendly and room better than expected. The service was excellent and very friendly.

I seldom praise properties however reading from this site I checked-in wary due to comments i read on this site so for you out there note that the swimming pool is large and has excellent views. The A/C in the room works well and so it does in the whole building - (it was one of my worries).
The cleaning staff are a dream, they never came to my room before 08.30 and i always found the room in tip top condition when i returned to my room after work.

all in all an excellent hotel with a better than expected value.
I will definately choose this hotel for my next visit and

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jorge R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

This hotel was modern, comfortable, clean and very convenient to all st. Julian's has to offer. We stayed 4 nights and overall it was good value for money, However there are a couple of things I experienced which would make me doubt whether the hotel deserves its 4 star classification.

The hotel is new and therefore very clean, we had a standard room which was decorated nicely. It had two single beds as opposed to a double ( a pet hate of mine) it was spacious and had a nice bathroom. However, the air conditioning was terrible, it may as well have been non-existent and I found it too hot to sleep most nights, the fridge in our room did not work and the balcony was puny-literally just big enough to stand on. A few other mild inconveniences occurred during our stay, for example there are no hairdryers in the bedroom and I had to wait 20 mins for one to be delivered up to me by room service. The breakfast was ok....but only just, we didn't even bother getting up for it after the first morning.

Another issue I had was the pool area, while the pool itself is quite lovely, it is up on the roof and has a few sun loungers around it, there is absolutely NO shade from the sun, not one umbrella or awning or anything to protect poor fair skinned creatures like myself from the blistering sun up on the roof. As a result I had to avoid the pool totally during the hottest parts of the day. Leading up to the pool area is five or six steps which are LETHAL after getting out of the pool, very slippy-some idiot failed to use non-slip tiles here and I had a very bad fall, I can only imagine how awful it would be for a young child or elderly person to slip here.

All in all I can rate this hotel positively for its cleanliness and location, other than that I really do not think it deserves its status as a four star hotel. Customer service and attention to detail is sorely lacking. Perhaps the problems I experienced are merely teething problems.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kita01043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
INGLEBY BARWICK, STOCKTON-ON-TEES
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Third trip to Malta & very disappointed with this hotel choice.

Good points = Comfy beds, free safe, nice modern furniture, very clean, good location.

Bad points = 2 daily towels for a family of 4, 6 coat hangers for a family!, 1 plug socket, no freezer compartment in fridge, balcony is totally pointless, pool only big enough for 18 people, only 12 poolside sunbeds, pool out of order for 2 days of our 7 day holiday, breakfasts are the worst I have ever had, staff are friendly but definatly didn't receive any 5* service, trying to get additional tea/coffee each day was like pulling teeth, mirror in hallway of rooms not in a position suitable for plug - therefor drying hair/doing makeup a problem (bring your own hand mirror), t.v. mostly foreign channels, only 1 chair in room (non on balcony), bathroom window opens up into an internal shaft - no ventilation, no "do not disturb" signs available (print your own) - luckily we were only woken twice.

We had tried to get in the Intercontinental where we had previously stayed & enjoyed but had left it too late to book & thought we would try something new - best to stay with what you know is good. We actually went there and used there pool as the Argento pool was not suitable for us.

Hotel Argento is far too expensive for what you get & definatly not a boutique hotel.

Room Tip: Don't get a deluxe room, all you get is a balcony, which give the poorer views & tea/coffee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JANJIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We’ve given this hotel the highest rating because of the excellent customer care provided. Steve and his team were extremely helpful and friendly (special mention must go to Alison, who went out of her way to assist us). Transfer from the airport was arranged by the hotel and went very smoothly, even though our flight was delayed by nearly two hours. Our double room was very comfortable but could have benefited from a little more decoration (there were no pictures at all) and a couple of comfortable chairs to sit in – there was just one upright chair in the room which tended to get draped with clothes most of the time. The rooftop pool was excellent with panoramic views over the town – not much shade up there, though, so it was hard to relax and read a book. Be warned: the corridors have no carpeting and any noise made by drunken guests is amplified many times over. The hotel is brilliantly situated – very close to restaurants and the bay area of St Julian’s, but quiet too because of its location.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DocNarrative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Have just stayed at The re-vamped hotel the Argento in Malta and loved it. The hotel had just opened a week before and was spotlessly clean...very modern.... very helpful and freindly staff and in a good spot too.

We had a deluxe room and had a double bed each....have to say the most comfortable bed i have ever slept on in a hotel. The bars were real close but far enough away not be heard and the beach was a 10-15 minute walk though to the other side of the bars and clubs area. We couldn't find fault with the place at all was not dissapointed at all........if I could improve anything it would only be breakfast...but it was what we expected really a bit samey each day but adequate ...didn't eat in the restaurant so cant comment on that. The pool area on the roof had great views and was small but spotless .

Would recommend the hotel just hope it's nice new fittings dont get ruined by careless holiday makers.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shelly504160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

We stayed at the Argento for one week in July, about a month after the hotel had opened. Our first impression was that of disappointment. There was still some construction going on in the lobby. We had asked for a double bed and got twin beds with no possibility to change. One of the lights in the room was out, one of the electrical sockets not working, there was no hairdryer (could be borrowed from reception, though), no chairs or table on the balcony etc.

The biggest problem, however, was the extremely feeble AC. During our stay, we never got the room temperature below 24 degrees, even though the AC was on full all the time. Most of the time the temperature was around 26-27 degrees, sometimes more, which was way too warm especially during the night. The AC was also very loud. We asked to have the AC fixed two times, but apparently there was nothing wrong with it as such - it's just not very good.

Another letdown was the breakfast buffet. Plenty of choices, but all the fresh items, for instance cheeses, ham, vegetables etc, were left out in room temp for the entire duration of the breakfast service from 07.00 to 10.00. It didn't look very appetizing at 7 in the morning, even less closer to 10...

The location of the hotel is excellent, close to everything. The staff was very good and helpful. Rooftop pool and terrace was OK, even if quite small and could use some plants to make it more welcoming. No pool towels. The beds in the room were excellent, soft but firm at the same time. The free WiFi was fast and reliable.

In a nutshell, an OK hotel, but not quite what we expected for the price we paid. The AC was a major problem.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarkusHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.2 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,862 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,384 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.1 mi away
Hotel Juliani
Hotel Juliani
#2 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,359 reviews
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
3,905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argento Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argento Hotel

Property: Argento Hotel
Address: Qaliet Street, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta 3255, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#9 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#9 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Argento Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Argento St Julians Malta is perfectly situated in the quiet residential area of Spinola Bay, right next to St Julian's promenade with its beautiful scenery, a large variety of casual and fine dining seaside restaurants, bars and shops. Malta's nightlife hub is only a short stroll away from the hotel. St. George’s Bay sandy beach is reachable on foot as it is only 500 metres away from the hotel.All 74 luxuriously furnished rooms including 5 junior suites at this 4 star boutique hotel in St Julians are equipped with air-conditioning, proximity door locks, free Wi-Fi, mini-bar, complimentary tea & coffee making facilities, direct dial telephone, LCD HD TV, laptop safe deposit box, hair dryer, shaving point and smoke detector.A rooftop swimming pool and sundeck area enhance the hotel with breathtaking views over Spinola Bay. Fitness room is also situated on top floor. Cuisine for breakfast and dinner at Hotel Argento St Julians Malta is international. A Lobby bar compliments an elegantly designed reception area. Two multi-purpose rooms, The Astoria and The Savoy Suites can host a number of events including meetings and weddings. Complimentary Wi-Fi connectivity is available throughout all the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Hotels.com, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Argento Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argento Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing