We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, fresh, modern”
Review of Argento Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Argento Hotel
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, WA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Clean, fresh, modern”
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We stayed at the Argento for 4 nights. We had a few hiccups on arrival, firstly our room wasn't ready, so we killed some time and returned. Then we were given the wrong room type and there seemed to be a mix up about getting a twin room. Finally in the correct room, our balcony door wouldn't lock, which ordinarily I would ignore but this was on the second floor overlooking a construction site so we did not feel secure (no construction occurred during our stay). Finally 3 hotel staff took 40 min but eventually the door was locked. We were annoyed as we had wasted the betterbpart of the afternoon waiting for all of this to be sorted but overall it wasn't a huge deal.

The rooms were spacious (compared to the continent) and the fixtures and furnishings all seemed new. The bathrooms and all the linens were clean and fresh, there were new televisions, touch pad safes and free wifi in the rooms.

The hotel is in a good location, a short stroll to the main beach/bar area but far enough not to be disturbed by the noise during peak season. It was conveniently located for malta's comprehensive bus service (all of which were upgraded in July 2011, and are lovely,new and air-conditioned).

Breakfast each morning had a comprehensive selection of hot and cold items. The bar was more or less empty most times we passed by. The pool was a bit uncomfortable, it's a bit small, with more than one group up there you feel a bit odd, in any event the ocean is a better alternative. The hotel also has a terrible pool towel deposit system you have to pay a deposit for your towel which is not fully refundable. Since you can buy your own towel on the street for €3.50 you would be far better doing that as we did.

All in all, it's a good, new, clean hotel- it just doesn't have all the bells and whistles of an established chain.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shell_81_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    374
    85
    23
    8
See reviews for
88
471
63
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
amber412
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights and had a lovely time. The hotel was lovely and clean and in a great location. The staff were very welcoming and accommodating. There were a few negative points about the hotel our room was on the 4th floor but we were above the kitchen so could hear the clattering of plates early morning for breakfast and late evening after dinner had finished. Also the shower head is only as high as the taps on the bath which means just a hand shower unless you skillfully wrap a towel over the shower screen to hold the head higher. The hot water runs out quick as well. Breakfast was good although my partner said the bacon and sausages were very bland I dont eat meat so I cant comment on that. The rest of the breakfast was good though. The hotel was in a great location in st julians with the bus stop just along from the hotel along with the sightseeing tours which we can highly recommend. There were plenty shops round about. And we can highly recommend the restaurant sardinella which is just a wee 5 minute walk away offering fantastic value for money food with the best steak I have ever seen and my partner said it was the best steak he had ever had. They offer an early bird 25% off total bill from 6 til 7.30 for tea which is great. Watch out for the taxi drivers ask before you get in how much they will take as they just make it up we wanted one from sliema to st julians which is about a 20 minute walk they wanted 20 euro yet it was only 2.80 euro on the bus. Youll get entertainment on the bus too just dont get on the wrong side of the driver! Try and get along to the fishing village of marsaxlokk with its little market its lovely and quaint. I would stay at the hotel again I think 4 nights is long enough though and it only just earns its 4 stars as there isnt much in the way of toiletries which I personally think you should get in a 4 star and also not being able to have a proper shower. I cant stress enough how clean it is though and housekeeping are always on hand to help and the staff are really very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank amber412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

We stayed in Argento hotel for 3 nights on 10/2011.
We found the hotel a nice a friendly place to stay in Malta.
The rooms, even though not big, very well designed and comfortable.
The breakfast was good.
The two great things are the excellent location and the super friendly staff the gave a nice and comfortable stay.
For those looking for a nice, reasonable prices hotel in a good location thats the place.
Mike

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike55058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We have had a good stay overall at this hotel and would recommend it to others. They have carried out a stylish refurbishment. The staff are friendly and helpful and the service is excellent with a great breakfast to boot.

Our stay was only slightly let down by the fact that the refurbishment has not included replacing patio doors with double glazed units. This means that if you get the wrong room you will hear all the street noise plus if you are really unlucky the doors will shake all night if the wind blows! One other minor point and this is being picky, they need to improve the ambience in the restaurant at night to draw more people to staying and eating dinner at night. Overall though a good stay.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tadworth70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

We stayed for four nights for some winter sun, having booked through a speciality Luxury & Character hotels website which offered a heavily discounted rate. Arriving by air, route X2 offers a direct express bus service from Malta airport to St Julians and costs 12euro for a 7 day unlimited Malta-wide pass. We were allocated a deluxe room on the second floor on arrival. Check-in was straightforward.

The St. Julians/Paceville area is known for its vibrant nightlife and wide selection of bars, nightclubs, restaurants and entertainment venues. We were pleased that the hotel was located within walking distance of all of the action yet positioned in a peaceful side street, from where no obtrusive noise or traffic could be heard.

The hotel was opened in summer 2011 so, not unsurprisingly, everything is new. The photographs and descriptions on Tripadvisor and on the hotel's website are accurate. The room was functional with two single beds, TV, telephone, tea tray, fridge and safe. The room, bathroom and common parts of the hotel were extremely clean. The linens were freshly laundered and the room was serviced every day. The air conditioning was inadequate, leaving the room uncomfortably warm. Free WiFi was available throughout the hotel.

There were two surprises in the bathroom, which other reviewers have mentioned: the shower head was positioned just a few centimetres above the tap and the bathroom window opened into an internal void which interconnected with the neighbouring room's bathroom window. We found that the shower difficulty could be overcome by rolling up a hand towel, looping the shower head in the towel and draping the towel over the glass shower partition. This is quite a serious design flaw for a four star hotel.

The deluxe rooms feature a balcony which is 1 metre by 2 metres in size with no furniture. The balconies overlook adjacent residential apartment blocks. All residents have access to the rooftop pool and sundeck. There are some good views from the rooftop and we felt that an opportunity to present and make better use of the space had been missed.

The hotel has a restaurant, bar and comfortable library lounge. We did not eat in the hotel because of the vast array of excellent dining options in the immediate area. Room service was available.

We had a comfortable stay and were impressed with the quiet location and the closeness to the many local ameneties. The room rate represented excellent value for money. We were especially impressed with the friendly reception staff.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bellagi0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

This is a decent value hotel just a street or two back from the front in St Julian's malta. It was really affordable and had the mandatory rooftop pool. This was a business trip so I didn't have lots of time for crazy fun but if you need to work in this area and don't have cash to burn you'll be fine here

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We recently visited the newly refurbished Argento Hotel in Malta. I don't normally go to the bother of writing a review and would normally vote with my feet!. However, on this occasion, I feel I must disagree with some of the negative reviews I have read about this hotel. When on holiday, you want good weather and clean accommodation. We found this in Malta and the Argento Hotel staff could not do enough for us. Everything is clean and new. Staff are well presented and extremely pleasant. Managers are hands on and the food is as you would expect for a 4 star hotel - excellent. I would have no hesitation in recommending the Argento Hotel to anyone. It is close to St Julians shops, restuarants and night life. Thank you Argento Hotel and all your staff for a very pleasant stay in Malta. Ken and Kay. We will see you for sure again soon.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ken r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.2 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,899 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#4 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,674 reviews
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
3,957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,423 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Juliani
Hotel Juliani
#2 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,374 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argento Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argento Hotel

Property: Argento Hotel
Address: Qaliet Street, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ3255, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#9 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#9 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Argento Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Argento St Julians Malta is perfectly situated in the quiet residential area of Spinola Bay, right next to St Julian's promenade with its beautiful scenery, a large variety of casual and fine dining seaside restaurants, bars and shops. Malta's nightlife hub is only a short stroll away from the hotel. St. George’s Bay sandy beach is reachable on foot as it is only 500 metres away from the hotel.All 74 luxuriously furnished rooms including 5 junior suites at this 4 star boutique hotel in St Julians are equipped with air-conditioning, proximity door locks, free Wi-Fi, mini-bar, complimentary tea & coffee making facilities, direct dial telephone, LCD HD TV, laptop safe deposit box, hair dryer, shaving point and smoke detector.A rooftop swimming pool and sundeck area enhance the hotel with breathtaking views over Spinola Bay. Fitness room is also situated on top floor. Cuisine for breakfast and dinner at Hotel Argento St Julians Malta is international. A Lobby bar compliments an elegantly designed reception area. Two multi-purpose rooms, The Astoria and The Savoy Suites can host a number of events including meetings and weddings. Complimentary Wi-Fi connectivity is available throughout all the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Argento Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argento Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing