We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfy, quiet”
Review of Argento Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Argento Hotel
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Trondheim, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Clean, comfy, quiet”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We spent 4 nights here at the end of June and feel confident to recommend it to anyone. The party area of Malta is just minutes away along with a plethora of cafes and restaurants however the hotel is situated at the end of a small street protecting it from noise. The staff is nice, helpful and knowledgable. You can order and prepay for taxis from reception. The breakfast is more than adequate with some of the best hotel coffee you'll ever get. The pool is small but plenty of chairs were always free. In short, it was modern, clean, quiet and perfect for what we wanted.

Room Tip: Choose back side of hotel for extra quietness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J_og_Spot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    374
    85
    23
    8
See reviews for
88
471
63
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Just home from Malta, we had a lovely holiday, mainly because of our stay at the Argento, room was lovely and clean, breakfast was good, the pool area was small but very nice and clean. The staff were very friendly and very helpful, will definately be booking there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FMR74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Spent a weeks break away with a friend - the hotel were great and put us in adjoining rooms on the 2nd floor - the room was superb! spacious clean light and had everything needed. Good wardrobe space -plenty of room for shoes ( as i always take too many!!) safe included along with tea and coffee making facilities which were always topped up. Lovely pool, nice bar and relaxed area with very comfy seats! Staff are great - very knowledgeable, happy to help and really friendly. Breakfast was good - varieties differed slightly daily but plenty of choice. Location really good, easy walking distance to spinola bay and all the bars and restaurants, and also portomaso marina and paceville, as well as all the bus routes to almost everywhere on the island. Would definitely stay there again and would highly recommend it - fab hotel, fab staff and overall a really fab break in the sun. Malta is a beautiful Island, easy to get around, lovely weather and real good VFM!

Room Tip: we had rooms 202 and 203 - really nice and peaceful part of hotel - would highly recommend this hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wellerite189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

I recently got married in Malta and we stayed at the Argento along with a number of guests. The staff are fab, the rooms are spacious, clean and we look forward to going back.
The hotel is located in St.Julians and it's location is very close to Spinola Bay.

Everything from shops, a beach and restaurants is all within a ten minute walk.

Room Tip: I went into a number of different rooms and even the ones that are smaller are more than ample. I th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bingley, UK
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

St Julian's Bay, or more precisely Spinola Bay, is a nice spot but basically it is a collection of restaurants along the coastal road. There is a handful of restaurants round Spinola Bay itself, and this is 2 minutes walk from the hotel. Walk the other way and you get to Paceville in 5-10 mins, which is young and rowdy, but along the way there are some decent restaurants, a couple of them excellent. The hotel is therefore perfectly located if this is your chosen area. The hotel itself is just off the main road and lovely and peaceful - we were never once woken by any noise. Reception is pleasant and helpful and the bar area is very comfortable for a nightcap when you return to your room at night. I was particularly impressed how reasonable the bar prices were - a large glass of red for €2.50.

Our room was on the fifth floor, a deluxe twin room with two king sized beds and bags of space. We were just one floor down from the rooftop pool area which was very nice.

Breakfast was excellent, with cold and hot buffet, plus a chef every day waiting to make you an omelette or a fried egg to order.

All in all we were delighted with our choice and could not fault anything - highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B6WAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We travelled to Malta staying at Hotel Argento from 23rd May 2013 to 28th May 2013. The hotel is located in St.Julians and it's location is very close to the main street of St.Julians. The hotel is spacious and bright. Located close to the reception, there is a lounge with a bar and comfortable seating area with a well stocked library with reading material. Just off the lounge there is a dining area where a buffet breakfast is served. Breakfasts were excellent with plenty of fruit, cereal, fries, and bread with tea/coffee/orange juice all on tap.

Our room was located on the first floor. Our room was spacious and clean and we had a small balcony where we could sit. The room was quiet and well lit and we enjoyed 5 restful nights sleep despite being close to the main street. The bathroom was spacious - the only complaint that we have is that the shower guard wasn't able to prevent water from leaking on to the bathroom floor. The solution we found was to direct the shower nozzle to the surrounding shower wall and to reduce the waterpressure by a small amount. Problem solved!

We were able to order an iron and ironing board as needed from the laundry staff.

The hotel was really nice but the real selling point for us was the hotel staff who were very professional and extremely polite and friendly. The lady at the reception desk - Alexia - was particularly helpful and professional.

We have no hesitation to recommend this fine hotel.

Shay & Mary.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShayMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
europe
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We (two couples in our 60's) spent 4 nights at the Argento (23-27 April 2013) . I planned our trip and choose the hotel out of the options offered in our package deal based on what I read here on Tripadvisor. I came back a bit dissapoint.
To be fair let me state first the two things that were very good; the breakfast which was varied with a large selection every day and filled us up to the extent of not eating anything until dinner other than some fruit. The second item was the helpfulness and courtesy of the staff in every mater EXCEPT changing our room.
As to the room (we were in 413 and our friends in 513). On arrival we asked if it were possible we be on the same floor -NO. Our room , 413 , is the smallest I have been in ,in a 4 or 3 star hotel. At 180 cm and 75 kilo I am not fat and could barely walk around the bed. Even our friend's room 513, was a touch bigger (perhaps 10-15 cm) which made a difference .
The second problem which was in BOTH the rooms was the fact that when taking a shower a large pool of water was left around the toilet every time . This may be a problem in every room!
Repeat requests for extra towels to mop this up were only answered on the last day. Hard to believe that they are not familiar with this problem as it is caused by the design of the shower.
Each day we asked if there was a different room available and each were told no. All in all I expect better from what is rated as one of the better 4 star hotel. As the organizer and planner of the trip I was embarrassed.

Room Tip: do ot take 413 or 513
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ardom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.2 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,898 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#4 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,670 reviews
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
3,955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,423 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Juliani
Hotel Juliani
#2 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,373 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argento Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argento Hotel

Property: Argento Hotel
Address: Qaliet Street, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ3255, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#9 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#9 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Argento Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Argento St Julians Malta is perfectly situated in the quiet residential area of Spinola Bay, right next to St Julian's promenade with its beautiful scenery, a large variety of casual and fine dining seaside restaurants, bars and shops. Malta's nightlife hub is only a short stroll away from the hotel. St. George’s Bay sandy beach is reachable on foot as it is only 500 metres away from the hotel.All 74 luxuriously furnished rooms including 5 junior suites at this 4 star boutique hotel in St Julians are equipped with air-conditioning, proximity door locks, free Wi-Fi, mini-bar, complimentary tea & coffee making facilities, direct dial telephone, LCD HD TV, laptop safe deposit box, hair dryer, shaving point and smoke detector.A rooftop swimming pool and sundeck area enhance the hotel with breathtaking views over Spinola Bay. Fitness room is also situated on top floor. Cuisine for breakfast and dinner at Hotel Argento St Julians Malta is international. A Lobby bar compliments an elegantly designed reception area. Two multi-purpose rooms, The Astoria and The Savoy Suites can host a number of events including meetings and weddings. Complimentary Wi-Fi connectivity is available throughout all the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Argento Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argento Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing