We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Argento Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Argento Hotel
Ranked #9 of 34 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“An excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Just back from a week at the Argento. Tt lives up to all its good reviews. On arrival we had a free upgrade to a de luxe room which was spotlessly clean and very quiet. Only mild complaint is that our room was never cleaned before 1pm - not a problem if you are going out for the day but could be an inconvenience if you are planning a day around the pool. Good to have a kettle and tea/coffee and the tv even had English stations (BBC 1, ITV 1 and C4). Breakfast had almost too much choice and should have something to suit all tastes. Ideal location just minutes from the lovely Spinola Bay with all its many bars and restaurants. Also only few minutes walk to main bus stop where for 2.6 euros per day you can get a daily ticket that takes you all over the island.
I would highly recommend this hotel and if I get the chance to return to Malta I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    353
    77
    23
    8
See reviews for
84
445
60
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Beautiful hotel with an excellent roof top pool in a central location. Great for nightlife and is just a short walk to restaurants on the beach. The area is very popular with young people and is packed at weekends, so make sure you ask for a quiet room as partying goes on till the small hours. Beautiful room, very clean and incredible buffet breakfast, Very helpful and friendly staff. Would definitely visit again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GSPW76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

First impressions were fantastic! Had emailed the hotel just prior to leaving the UK to enquire about their taxi shuttle from airport (20 euro) I received a prompt response but you had to leave Credit card details and we just didnt get the chance to do this before departing. When we arrived we were met with a sign for our name and they had arranged this for us and to pay when we got to hotel. Rooms were perfect. Comforatble and modern, Only downside would be the size of the bathroom and its lack of space to store your toiletries but you can survive that. Lobby and restaurant were also to a high standard. We were B&B and Breakfast was quite good, Only downside would be the young chef on the egg counter, He didnt quite grasp the cooking and quite often it was chaos. The pool is on the top and is rather nice. It can get a bit blustery up there but there are plenty of shaded areas to escape it.

Location is excellent and you are at a marina in minutes and a 5 minute walk in the opposite directions takes you to more restaurants and more funky bars. There are a lot of pubs around but I didnt find them to have much about them. Would definatly recommend Corks Irish bar though. Restaurant wise you must try IR ROKNA pizzeria. We dined there 4 out of our 7 nights and for the quality of the food the prices are so cheap. Avoid pizzeria Margot as quality of pizza and staff are extremly poor.

One downside about hotel is we could not keep our room on on check out day as it was full. The courtesy room is a small shower room in the gym. For all it is modern, It is small and cramped and really not ideal at all. You also have to pay 10 euro per person to use this for 1 hour.

All in all this is a fantastic hotel and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saltyford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Nice boutique hotel in Saint Julians!

Pro:
- clean/fresh towels every day
- nice furniture
- helpful staff
- short ways to Spinola Bay, Paceville and the beach of St. Georges Bay (sand from Jordan)

Con:
-Bathtub was leeking
-Minibar wasn't cold enough

Breakfast was ok. You should try Pancakes. Yummy!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyInBlack84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Visiting Malta for the very first time and was very pleased with our choice of Hotel. First impressions of the street where we was dropped off by the coach I was a bit disappointed, but as soon as we walked into the Argento it was great, a lovely boutique hotel spotlessly clean and I have got to mention the staff in the breakfast room, it's really a pleasure to stay in this hotel. I'm only sorry on our last morning my little friend from the breakfast room must have been on her day off, which was sad. The manager should be very proud of the high standards of which his team deliver, thanks for lovely stay Argento!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

We considered both sliema and st Julian's when booking a trip to malta (2 young females) we def did the right thing going to the argento

St Julian's is wonderful lots of nice restaurants

Argento in a great location
Polite friendly and professional staff
Easy to get around malta on buses
Rooms modern, clean and spacious
Pool area was great

We would def return and recommend!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank lozkixass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

First of all, this hotel is in a fantastic location. You are minutes from both the nicer restaurants of St Julian's along the bay, as well as minutes from Paceville with its sandy beach, restaurants and clubs. The hotel is off a busy main street, but is very quiet despite that. Even sitting on the balcony you didn't get a huge deal of noise.

Balconies are small but adequate, with two chairs. Run
The room we had was a decent size, with an empty mini fridge which was very handy. Comfortable double bed, deep bath.

There is one pool, on the roof. There are about 35 sun loungers dotted around it and the surrounding terraces. As there are only 74 rooms, there is ample room around the pool. Getting there before 11 means you'll have a good choice of seats, but there were always one or two spare throughout the day no matter the time. The pool is all one depth, 1.2 metres. It never became overly busy in the pool itself either.

You can rent towels at reception for your stay, 5 euro each plus a 5 euro deposit.

Breakfast runs until 10, get there before 9 and it is quiet. Decent selection, some hot stuff along with cakes, croissants, cereal, etc. Fruit salad and cold meats and breads too.

One downside was that we found ants in our room, but they were fairly swiftly dealt with, though they reappeared!

Buses in Malta are cheap (2.60 adult day ticket) and we had many bus stops close by the hotel. It was easy to visit sliema, Valletta, and get to the ferries on the north of the island.

All in all, great location with a quiet pool area which was all I was looking for.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DBrody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.2 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Juliani
Hotel Juliani
#2 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,419 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.2 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#11 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argento Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argento Hotel

Property: Argento Hotel
Address: Qaliet Street, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta 3255, Malta
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#8 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#9 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Argento Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Argento St Julians Malta is perfectly situated in the quiet residential area of Spinola Bay, right next to St Julian's promenade with its beautiful scenery, a large variety of casual and fine dining seaside restaurants, bars and shops. Malta's nightlife hub is only a short stroll away from the hotel. St. George’s Bay sandy beach is reachable on foot as it is only 500 metres away from the hotel.All 74 luxuriously furnished rooms including 5 junior suites at this 4 star boutique hotel in St Julians are equipped with air-conditioning, proximity door locks, free Wi-Fi, mini-bar, complimentary tea & coffee making facilities, direct dial telephone, LCD HD TV, laptop safe deposit box, hair dryer, shaving point and smoke detector.A rooftop swimming pool and sundeck area enhance the hotel with breathtaking views over Spinola Bay. Fitness room is also situated on top floor. Cuisine for breakfast and dinner at Hotel Argento St Julians Malta is international. A Lobby bar compliments an elegantly designed reception area. Two multi-purpose rooms, The Astoria and The Savoy Suites can host a number of events including meetings and weddings. Complimentary Wi-Fi connectivity is available throughout all the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Argento Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argento Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing