We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice-great bargain”
Review of Argento Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Argento Hotel
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I am always looking for a bargain and this hotel did not disappoint.
I will start with the good bits.
Location:
The hotel is located about 1 minute from a bus stop which can take you directly into Slima or Valetta. It was very handy that there were ticket selling staff at the time, but you can also buy your ticket on board the bus. It is definitely worth saying that you can get an all day bus pass for 1euro, 50! It gives you access to any bus, all day- wow! So with that in mind, you can plan your own itinerary and go where you want to and not necessarily go on a hop on hop off. Don’t get me wrong. If you’re a fan of the hop on hop off then go for it, but you can catch a bus to Valetta and then change at the bus terminal to any where on the island for 1.50 a day instead of 15.00- no brainer!
Also worth a big note is that there is a bus which goes to the airport! Yes indeed. It is the X2 and it costs 1.80. If you want to be brave and want to catch it from the airport to the hotel, then it can be done. I’m afraid I’ve forgotten the number of the bus stop, but once you’ve arrived in St Juliens, there is a bus stop in front of the bay. “Cuba restaurant” will be on your right hand side. The next bus stop is yours. It will go past the hotel road, but just walk down to the HSBC and that’s the little road to the hotel. The journey takes about an hour.
You should try to get a bus time table online.
The hotel is located about 1 minute from many restaurants and the bay. There is a bank at the bottom of the road with ATM (Just in case). There is also a supermarket close by. It is about a 5 minute leisure walk. I cannot remember the name of the supermarket, but the directions are as follows. Out the hotel, down the hill. Turn right walking down the other hill on the main road. Walk straight down the road. After about 2 mins you should see a sign for a buger restaurant. As the title of restaurant is a bit of a profanity you fill in the gap "Bad (another word for donkey ) Burgers" on your right. Keep walking straight but do not take the hill on the right. Up ahead there is a sign for the supermarket on a banner on a walk over in the air. It’s a small one but you won’t miss it. The walk over leads to a church (this is useless info). The supermarket is on the right hand side.
The Actual Hotel review:
My favourite thing about this hotel has to be the wide variety of things to eat at breakfast. They serve a buffet continental breakfast and there is a chef who will cook eggs to your liking. There are also some pastries (which I stocked up on) and breads and even cakes! If you love your breakfast, you’ll be happy there.
The rooms are rather surprisingly large. From the outside the hotel seems small, but the room sizes are decent. I have been to way worse. There’s tea/coffees & kettle etc. You’ll find your basic amenities in the bathroom and there is a safe.
On to the bad bit…
If you are unlucky like me. You will get a room with a view of someone’s back yard and it ain’t pretty! Just keep your curtains drawn. That’s all I will say.
The one thing which really disturbed me was the wind. It was a particularly windy weekend that we stayed there and it was incredibly windy. The first night I did nothing about it and woke up grouchy, but if you open the door slightly, it won’t be as loud. I think that is the major let down for me.

I am quite happy to stay at this hotel again and possibly in the summer so I can use the pool.
Malta is a very beautiful island and I will certainly be back!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Traveller10162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (930)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

383 - 389 of 930 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2014

It was areally nice hotel , made even better by excellent staff . my room was cozy and very clean , and a good size . Nice ameneties and bathroom . A great location , very easy to find restaurants , and near bus stops , i really enjoyed my stay , would go again , highly reccommended .

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jesu r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights during our trip to Malta in the winter. Very comfy place, warm and clean. We got a good off-season price.
Parking is on-street and you battle for a space if you have a car with you.
Staff were very nice and helpful. Breakfast was about average.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank splat2million
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Nice and friendly staff.

Nice clean lobby.

Rooms: nice size, comfy bed and pillows, room #404 had a slight view of the nearby bay area.
The room had a flat screen TV, mini fridge, hot water pot, hair dryer, as well as a good amount of storage space.

The bathroom is a good size and there was ample hot water. The towels were a bit thin and rough, but not unbearable.

It would be nice if there was a rug in the room since the floors are tile.

Good location: near grocery stores, the bus stop (including the pick up location for sightseeing buses), shopping, lots of restaurants, lots of places for leisurely strolls.

Advice: take the bus to/from ferries and to/from the airport. The buses run frequently and it's only one and a half euro for an all day pass. Additionally, since the hotel is conveniently located on a popular bus route it's easy to get around. Finally, if you have several bags or large bags AND you're on the bus, the hotel staff could assist you on the walk up and down the slight hill to get to the hotel. They did that for me and I'm so appreciative of their assistance.

Room Tip: room #404 had a slight view of the nearby bay area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kim-ohradiogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Me and my best friend went Malta for 4 days 3 nights, we chose to stay in this hotel,
Superb location!
and we're amazed by the quality of its environment and services!
Very nice and friendly staff especially Ms.Michelle and Mr.Edward !! being very very patient and nice explaining and guiding how we should travel Malta.
Very nice breakfast especially pancakes!!!
Very cozy, clean, comfortable and nice room ! with greatest view of Spinola Bay,
can't describe more with just words,
best recommend hotel to stay in St.Julians if you don't want to stay in Hilton <3

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LttYen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Argento for 2 nights in Jan. 2014. It is a modern Hotel with very good facilities but the most outstanding feature is the quality of the Staff who were quite exceptional particularly those on Reception & in the Restaurant.
Our large air conditioned room was very clean with tea/coffee making facilities. There was adequate storage and the room was very comfortable.
Sleeping arrangements was via two large “joined” single beds. Additional blankets were provided.
The modern bathroom had a good sized bath/shower and there were always plenty of hot water available. There was also an adequate supply of fresh towels.
The Breakfast/Dining room had a full range of hot and cold foods available at breakfast – there was also a chef on hand to cook any specific requests.
There is no parking at the Hotel but there are limited spaces in the surrounding roads, the area is quite hilly and the walking can be quite challenging.
There are some spectacular views from the Roof top terrace which also has a pool.
The area has plenty of Cafes, Bars & Restaurants within a short walk of the Hotel and in the nearby area of St Julian's, where you can eat at a different restaurant every night then have a drink in the bars nearby.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thesheriff89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Nice cozy hotel, with very friendly staff, clean rooms, good location and best of all delicious breakfast.

This new medium sized hotel is highly recomended for anyone staying in St. Julians

We always prefer the smaller family like hotels

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philiptzora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.2 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,822 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,978 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Juliani
Hotel Juliani
#2 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,054 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#10 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,710 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argento Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argento Hotel

Address: Qaliet Street, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ3255, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#8 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#9 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: £49 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Argento Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Argento St Julians Malta is perfectly situated in the quiet residential area of Spinola Bay, right next to St Julian's promenade with its beautiful scenery, a large variety of casual and fine dining seaside restaurants, bars and shops. Malta's nightlife hub is only a short stroll away from the hotel. St. George’s Bay sandy beach is reachable on foot as it is only 500 metres away from the hotel.All 74 luxuriously furnished rooms including 5 junior suites at this 4 star boutique hotel in St Julians are equipped with air-conditioning, proximity door locks, free Wi-Fi, mini-bar, complimentary tea & coffee making facilities, direct dial telephone, LCD HD TV, laptop safe deposit box, hair dryer, shaving point and smoke detector.A rooftop swimming pool and sundeck area enhance the hotel with breathtaking views over Spinola Bay. Fitness room is also situated on top floor. Cuisine for breakfast and dinner at Hotel Argento St Julians Malta is international. A Lobby bar compliments an elegantly designed reception area. Two multi-purpose rooms, The Astoria and The Savoy Suites can host a number of events including meetings and weddings. Complimentary Wi-Fi connectivity is available throughout all the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Argento Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argento Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing