We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay”
Review of Argento Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Argento Hotel
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I booked this hotel in January, and pre-paid to get a good discount on a double room (for single occupancy), inclusive of breakfast. A delayed flight meant a late arrival, so I was apprehensive about the room issued to me. The room was a pleasant surprise. It was large, well furnished, with an espresso coffee machine and kettle. A large desk, with a decent chair meant I could work effectively with my computer connected to the free Wi-Fi.

The bathroom was very clean, with a mixer tap shower that work well. As others have commented, the hot water is more than sufficient for a long shower. However, one evening when running a bath for a hot soak to relieve aching muscles, the water ran warm fairly quickly. Adequate for one bath, but little to spare! This may be a problem for two sharing the room. It is important to leave the heater switch on all the time! The large flat screen TV was OK, but for me, it was of little importance. One improvement would be to improve the level of overhead lighting. The room can be rather dark in the very early mornings or late evenings.

The breakfast was good, better than many, with a selection of cooked, cold, cereals, sweet pastries and cakes. Good espresso coffee, and tea bags with teapots (all self service but using the latest equipment).

My room was clean, the bed was firm but comfortable, with a sheet and duvet. My room had a small balcony with two chairs - not that I had time to use them. Yes, the view was not attractive, but I have certainly seen worse. The hotel suited the purpose of my stay, with a large reception area with comfortable seating and a large screen TV.

The reception staff could be rather formal, but the restaurant staff were friendly and helpful. Would I stay at the Argento again? Yes, I would.

Room Tip: As a solo traveller, I choose double rooms either with a large bed or side by side singles. Shower r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paneur0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (982)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

391 - 397 of 982 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Visited for 2 nights, the view from the pool is amazing. Breakfast was very good and the staff was very nice and helpful. The rooms was very nice and the bathroom very well equipped. The wi-fi was working perfectly. The location was perfect not in the middle of the party district but very near. A god nights sleep was no problem although the hotel is centered in a very popular area.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank Johannilsson1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Very good service including fast check-in and check out.
Our room (104) at the first floor was small enough and not straight because it was in the corner of the floor and adjacent to the staff elevator.
Bed was good enough.
The room cleaned good every day.
Location is very good in hearh of St. Julian , but in very quiet street.
We would like to thank the chef Charlie for excellent breakfasts and dinners, that day by day were better and better and more tasty. Also we would like to thank the waitress Sarmite for exception service for all of days by our vacation!
Value and overall is very good!

Room Tip: Corner rooms in all floors are smaller then others rooms and adjacent to the staff elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShipArad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

5 things to get 5 stars (everything else is great, superb breakfast) :

- buy new bath towels and new bed sheets (the current ones are too old and with holes);

- replace the slats in the bed frame (some rooms are broken);

- insufficient hot water for a good shower (upgrade the hydraulic system/boiler);

- clean under the beds (a lot of dust);

- paving of some rooms not in good condition.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We stayed here in late march and had an excellent time at the Argento. The rooms were clean and nicely furnished. The breakfast was OK, which is surprising as included breakfasts tend to be dire. If I'm ever back in Malta I will certainly go back to the Argento.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Me and my wife stayed in this hotel for 4 days. The stuff at the breakfast dinning room was arrogant. Hot water run out after 2 minutes. View from window directly to next door house laundry line. Should be rated 2 star not 4 star. Bus can not stop at lobby, so, we need to carry out suitcase from the end of the street 100 meters away and then go down 10 stairs to reception desk and elevator. Heavy physical workout. In sort stay away from this hotel. There are plenty 4 star hotel in the area for same price

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

I visited with my partner in March 2014, and the service and hospitality was excellent.

All the staff were so polite and helpful and so easy to talk to and understand any requests you had i.e to reserve a taxi for the next couple of days was done immediately!

The room was lovely and spacious even tho we only booked the standard double room it was perfect for us and we could see Spinola bay from our window/balcony!

The housekeeping team were great as everywhere was immaculate and my partner defiantly took advantage of the complimentary breakfast each morning (continental, omelettes and pancakes cooked to order, different fried breakfast items everyday as well as fruit, toast ect.)

Malta is so easy to travel round as the buses are only 1.50 euros for a day ticket to get on as many buses as many times as you like, just be prepared you may have to do some standing on a bus especially on the weekends but that was not a problem at all for us!

Thank you to everyone at Hotel Argento it was the nicest holiday we've been on so far and we are already planning on coming back in September 2014!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank lauren1992123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Julian's hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,068 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Juliani
Hotel Juliani
#2 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,441 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
5,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
be.HOTEL
be.HOTEL
#13 of 33 in Saint Julian's
418 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.2 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#11 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argento Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argento Hotel

Address: Qaliet Street, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3255, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: £54 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Argento Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Argento St Julians Malta is perfectly situated in the quiet residential area of Spinola Bay, right next to St Julian's promenade with its beautiful scenery, a large variety of casual and fine dining seaside restaurants, bars and shops. Malta's nightlife hub is only a short stroll away from the hotel. St. George’s Bay sandy beach is reachable on foot as it is only 500 metres away from the hotel.All 74 luxuriously furnished rooms including 5 junior suites at this 4 star boutique hotel in St Julians are equipped with air-conditioning, proximity door locks, free Wi-Fi, mini-bar, complimentary tea & coffee making facilities, direct dial telephone, LCD HD TV, laptop safe deposit box, hair dryer, shaving point and smoke detector.A rooftop swimming pool and sundeck area enhance the hotel with breathtaking views over Spinola Bay. Fitness room is also situated on top floor. Cuisine for breakfast and dinner at Hotel Argento St Julians Malta is international. A Lobby bar compliments an elegantly designed reception area. Two multi-purpose rooms, The Astoria and The Savoy Suites can host a number of events including meetings and weddings. Complimentary Wi-Fi connectivity is available throughout all the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Argento Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argento Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing