We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful villa with lovely views”
other travellers have booked this property
Outdoor pool area surrounding of Villa  Diamantina
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Outdoor pool area surrounding of Villa  Diamantina
Nice outdoor dining facility overlooking stunning views of St.Julians town Side view of Villa Diamantina
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
30 reviews
Outdoor pool area surrounding of Villa  Diamantina
Nice outdoor dining facility overlooking stunning views of St.Julians town
Side view of Villa Diamantina
internal view
kitchen area
kitchen area with breakfast island
1st Main Bedroom with Ensuite
2nd  Triple bedroom
3rd double bedroom with ensuite
4th bedroom
5th Double bedroom
Roof Terrace for relaxation
communal indoor pool area with jacuzzi
communal indoor pool area with jacuzzi
6th bedroom
7th bedroom
internal view
Main bathroom
kids play area
games room
Various play games to suite everyone
Stunning Villa that has it all
full view of the house
pool outdoor area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
7 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
ANITA W
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful villa with lovely views”
Reviewed 21 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This was our first visit to Malta, there were 14 of us, 6 adults and 8 children between the ages of 2 and 16. We got lost on our way from the airport to the villa (took us over 2 hours) so if you're driving make sure you get detailed maps or have GPS as we found the road signs not very helpful.
On arriving at the villa we were allowed to leave our baggage and return after the cleaning was finished. The villa is a beautiful and spacious property with a pool just the right size and depth for the younger children with a deeper end for the adults and older children plus a jacuzzi which was well used. The children absolutely loved the pool and made very good use of it. They also loved the games room which was also used a great deal when we were not out and about. If you are a large party then there may be some squabbling over who gets which room as the two rooms in the lower floor by the games room are somewhat more basic than the rooms upstairs but being next to the games room is a big incentive for the children to sleep down there. Both rooms downstairs had air conditioning.
Generally, a beautiful, spacious villa with plenty of bathrooms, lovely pool and jacuzzi in a quiet area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool and jacuzzi
Liked least: Nothing to do with the villa but we found getting around Malta in the cars a bit of a problem.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chuntruon...
London
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Spacious villa in quiet area but be aware of the additional charges”
Reviewed 7 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
3
people found this review helpful

We were a party of 21 (15 adults, 2 teenage boys, 2 young children and 2 babies) on a family holiday to Malta from 27 July to 3 August.

David, the owner, was very prompt with responding to e-mails inquiries during the booking process. A non refundable deposit is taken and the price for the villa will go up if the numbers staying go up.

David also helped us arrange for transfers from the airport which was about 15/20 minutes away from the villa.

Location
The villa is on a road called TRIQ ZENJI in an area called High Ridge. Its an area predominately of villas and so is very quite and residential. There are some amazing views from the villa and we saw fireworks from nearby St Julian's on a few nights. David also owns some of the neighboring villas.

Greens supermarket (http://www.greens.com.mt/) is about 7 minutes walk away. It is very narrow but fully packed over 3 floors. They also have a fruit and veg store opposite the main supermarket. They have everything you will ever need on your stay. Although you can walk there, it is advisable to take a car back as you have to walk uphill usually in scorching sun! They also offer a delivery service and you can order groceries online from their website (above)

There are a few local shops including a chinese restaurant and pizzaria.

St Julian's, Silema and Peaceville are all a short taxi ride away. Taxis are relatively cheap and we always got a mini bus and it worked out to be about 50/60 euros each way (for a 30-45 mins drive).

There is a bus stop about 5 mins away and the number 12 bus will take you to Valetta (capital in 45-60 mins), St Julian's, Spinola and the splash and fun park. Buses are about 3 euors return for adults and 50 cents for children. The buses are the bendy one and you have to hold on for dear life but are air conditioned and the same as you would see in London. The drivers in Malta are a bit crazy so you have to be super careful when crossing the main roads which have no traffic lights or zebra crossings (which you need to do to get to the opposite bus stop)

The Villa
We got to the villa early but they let us hang around whilst the cleaners finished off. Jane, David's wife, was our main point of contact.
The kitchen and living room are very spacious and it was great to relax in for our big group. The pool is adequate and the games room kept the children entertained. Although the play mat was dirty so we didn't really let the babies play there.
Tap water is not advisable for drinking so buy bottled or boil the tap water first.
The back door and the window locks were broken. They fixed the door but never got around to the windows as we were not always in for the handyman. However we felt safe enough not to bother too much about the window locks. There are locks to the room but we were not provided with all the keys so you have to ask Jane for them if you intend to leave the villa empty and lock your valuables in the villa.

A welcome guide is provided which includes excursions such as a boat trip around the three islands. We found that booking directly ourselves was cheaper.

They use the same 3 pin electricity plugs as the UK

Some of the rooms were great. The top floor has a balcony and there are two double rooms on the first floor, one of which is en suite and had an adjoining room with a bunk bed. Most of the beds though are situated in the two basement rooms (sleeping 10). Most of the rooms has air con and fans. It was not very nice sleeping in the dark basement rooms so some of us ended up sleeping in the living room. One of the sofas has a pull out double bed.

The kitchen has a toaster, oven, microwave, kettle, dish washer, double fridge and freezer. There are lots of plates and cutlery but not much cooking utensils. Only a few large pots and pans.

They provide one roll of toilet paper so we then had to stock up. There is no hand soap or hand towels so again you need to buy these essentials.

There are additional charges for using air con, wi fi, electricity and water. We had to pay 200 euros for a weeks worth of air con. We didn't really have a choice as it was so hot so I'm not sure why it was not included as most villas in other countries do. We spent about 100 euros extra in electricity and water but again most villas would have included these charges. It was not surprising given how big our group was so I'm not sure how they work out the allowance for electricity and water. Wi fi costs 5 euros a day - personally I think it should have be thrown in as an extra given how much we paid for the villa. You have to pay a returnable 500 euro deposit and a one off maintenance charge of 50 euros. The cleaners could have done a better job - but we did a lot of cleaning ourselves during our stay anyway.

There are not many English channels - we ended up just watching children's programmes on it so you may wish to bring some DVDs.

Towels are provided but were not that clean but we cleaned them in the washing machine ourselves

In the first floor bathroom, the water from the shower runs down the side of the bath and causes pooling of water so we didn't use that much for showering

There is an outdoor BBQ but we found that there were too much flies and mosquitoes to eat comfortably outside. We were bit quite badly during the stay so take repellant!

Malta
The maltese are pretty crazy drivers but very friendly and laid back. It gets extremely hot during the summer so avoid the intense heat if you can during the day. We had easy access to the north, south and central parts of Malta. We took the younger kids to the splash and fun park which was about 10 mins by bus. If you plan to go to the marine park to swim with dolphins be aware that you have to book 3 days in advance (which we didn't so missed out the opportunity). We hired a private boat to tour around the islands. We went to Golden beach (one of their few sandy beaches). We visited Valetta the capital city. We also went to the fish market which only runs on Sundays. We even managed to go drinking in peaceville which is heaving in the evenings. The food is very generous in portions but a tad heavy on the taste side with a very heavy Italian influence. We had a lovely meal at Barracuda in Balluta Bay, which was expensive but exquisite. They have a few shopping malls, we went to the Point in Spinola but its a lot smaller than the ones in the UK.

Overall we have a pleasant stay at the villa and in Malta, but be weary of the additional charges as they can add up.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Additional charges for wi fi, air con, electricity and water
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Reviewed 16 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of the property and the space
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
aishlingg...
Donegal Town, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing & Sweet Sunshine !”
Reviewed 18 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in villa diamantina from the 30th of April 2013 to the 7th of May 2013.

I spent most of this time at the pool which was just lovely in this villa and our family villa next door villa sunnyside.
had everything you needed in the villas from tv to music, to pool table, air hockey table etc you didnt need to leave
I soaked up the sunshine at the pool and enjoyed the views and piece and quiet
just a perfect location, lovely villas and great place to stay for a hoiday
Well done to my sister for booking these villas for us great job!!

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The Pool!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gearknob
malta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Villas, Great Week!”
Reviewed 18 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in villa diamantina from the 30th of April 2013 to the 7th of May 2013 for my brothers wedding!
We all loved the villas, we had everything we needed, ample space, great kitchen, bathrooms and bedrooms.
Had a wonderful time and the villas just made it all prefect.
Sunny Malta here we come again next year.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the entertainment system
Liked least: no cleaning products
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Accesibility to the whole of Malta and Gozo
Liked least: traffic noise - it's quite near the main trunk road - but it didn't spoil things overall.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$244
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing