We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great atmosphare” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boho Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Boho Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Angelholm, Sweden
2 reviews
“Great atmosphare”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Has to be the best hostel in Malta.. Spacious place with nice outside chill out area. Staff friendly and very helpful. Close access to St Julians bay and Paceville night life area. After staying in other hostels in Malta, this one is the best!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank TravellingCurtis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    26
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
1
18
136
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

I liked this place so much , it's cozy , friendly , the common areas are great to hangout and to get in contact with other travellers , you can get some people together to make barbeque and it's perfect for especially for solo travellers because you make friends in no time . I also liked one little detail a lot : sometimes people would forget shampoo or sun cream etc. or would leave it on purpose because at the airport they would take it anyway , so instead of throwing it away each bathroom had a shelf with stuff free to use for everyone. Bonus points: The young lady who runs Boho hostel is a real treasure !

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank IngoTimmermann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maribor, Slovenia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Boho is amazing place to stay! I loved the atmosphere there, it has a big common room and a beautiful garden which are great places for meeting other travelers and making new friendships. I have met a lot of new friends and we were exploring the island together. The staff is very friendly and helpful, and the owner, Penny is very professional. They also organized a barbeque for all of us and I felt like we were one big family. I would definetly reccommend this hostel, especially to solo travellers!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

This spacious villa provides the weary traveller with a great welcome, The atmosphere is friendly without being OTT, helpful, 'can-do' and above all very restful. Penny, the wonderful manager, goes the extra mile and beyond to help you get sorted, including travel arrangements etc - she's a real star. My fellow travellers were very friendly and easy to get on with. Great garden & verandah area. The hostel is clean and the kitchen functional. Opportunity to get that washing done (!). Mini super-markets are within 5-10 minutes walk, as is bus into town. We used to walk in to Sliema (the yacht club) in about 30-40 minutes. Swimming, bars & restos down in Balluta Bay (10-15 mins walk). Would I stay here again ? DEFO :)

Room Tip: I was in the all male dorm (max 6) facing South, away from the nearby main road - all quiet & pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank GeoffJohns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicante, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

It is a great hostel. Agreeable and amicable with other travelers. Beautiful garden. Good situation to 10 minutes from the Balluta Bay. It was a wonderful experience staying there. Thanks Penny and Carmen!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Clara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

We spent 4 nights at Boho hostel. It is a great hostel about 10 minutes walk from Balluta Bay. Staff were always friendly, staff are great and has a fantastic garden. Loved the out door seating and living area, easy to socialise with other travelers. Only downside was that the wifi sometimes cut out and there are not enough showers.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank EB2255059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

I had the great fortune of stumbling across Boho on a hostel booking site and could not of tailor made a better place to stay in the sun. 5 mins from the Balluta Bay buses and 10 mins from the bustling night life is only a small part of what Boho offers. From the wonderful owner Penny who always has a smile on her face and is happy to help in every conceivable way possible to the clientele it homes this place is a true delight.
Both indoor and outdoor communal areas are as friendly and welcoming as a cold beer on a fevered brow (which they also offer!) and the added bonus of in house fun (BBQ's, boat trips etc.) whilst maintaining the Boho-emien is truly a pleasure to be a part of. I have absolutely zero negative sentiments toward this place. So much so I'm already beginning to plan my next get away there!
In summary: If you want a chilled and safe place with a bunch of like minded souls Boho is the place for you.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ollie-the-Peppered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.7 mi away
Pebbles Boutique Aparthotel
0.9 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,333 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,732 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Juliani
Hotel Juliani
#2 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
1.3 mi away
Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boho Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boho Hostel

Property: Boho Hostel
Address: Dun Guzeppi Xerri Street | Villa Cycas, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ10, Malta (Formerly Travellers' Point Hostel)
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Boho Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're a Bohemian traveller, you've found your Bohemian hostel. Drop off your bags and relax in Boho; a hostel which is ideal for backpackers & solo travellers due to its genuine social atmosphere and backpacker vibe.Located in a lovely Villa & Garden, Boho offers the perfect escape from the city's main busy central strip, while still being only ten minutes away on foot from it.Blessed with a large garden and courtyard, and that ever-constant Maltese sunshine, Boho is simply a pleasure to wake up in and a lovely home-away-from-home to retreat to. What's more, it's a great base to meet other travellers to explore the island with.Being backpackers ourselves we know what you're after when you're staying in hostels, and being locals we know where the good stuff really is!We provide you with detailed Maps, plenty of info on Malta, and we can also help you plan your itinerary.We also organise regular activities like pub crawls, boat parties and beach BBQs.In other words, you're guaranteed a great time in an environment which is as chilled-out as it is fun! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Boho Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boho Hostel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing