We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most amazing customer service you will ever receive!”
Review of Boho Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Boho Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2014

While I was only in Boho for four nights it was a really comfortable environment and a great space to be in. Penny and Javi are so lovely and so cool and really like to make sure you're having a good time. Even after my stay was over Penny went above and beyond to help me out when I needed it, which really just says so much about her and the place, it's not a place for profit at all, Penny really loves her job and is such a great person and runs such a great place. I would come back to Boho in a heartbeat when next able to!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed in Boho for four months and for me Malta wouldn't have been the same if I didn't stay in what I consider now as my second home. The garden, the cat and the general atmosphere of Boho make it one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in. Being part of the hostel life during those four months was an amazing chance to meet a lot of new people, mostly chilled travellers from all over the world. One of the best experience I've had so far. Sahha Penny and Rocio :)

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
Thank Naima B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This hostel is just plain awesome! Great atmosphere, it's oozing relaxed happiness. Quite spacious with a large, cool garden. Staff is very friendly and patient, especially the lovely owner Penny! Decent beds, although a bit creaky, with good mattresses. The large living is great to meet up with other guests. Recommended for both long and short stays - you will feel at home here :-)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

My friend and I decided to 'splurge' and go for the private room in the hope that we would get a good rest without having other room mates coming and going at all hours of the night. WE WERE SO WRONG!!! The private room was on the ground floor across from the kitchen, reception and lounge and could not have been less sound proof. We were kept awake until at least midnight by people playing games in the lounge, playing guitar in the kitchen and just general noise from the other people staying in the hostel. Then in the morning we were woken by people slamming cupboards and chatting while making breakfast at 7am. We were VERY annoyed by all of this and came away from our holiday more tired than when we got there.

The location isn't fantastic but it is within walking distance to restaurants and bars (about 15-20 min walk) and public transport is about 5 mins away. The place was clean and had a 'homely' feel to it, but, because of the noise level, I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: DO NOT CHOOSE PRIVATE ROOM!!! Never stayed in a noisier room than this one before
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMalta, Owner at Boho Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Jiulia,
Thanks for your comments.
We try our best to promote Boho as a non-party hostel, where travellers can anyway get together in the hostel and have a good time, whilst respecting others who wish to sleep well.
So far it's worked, and Boho luckily attracts like-minded travellers, who are here to chill out.
Staff work around the clock to ensure that our noise cut off time is respected, however, with 26 people living together, a certain level of noise is expected.
We would have loved for you to simply communnicate this issue with us, when we'd ask you daily how you slept. Communication is Key. We would have, at the very least, given you earplugs and been extra cautious with noise level, whilst trying not to be anuisance to our other guests, who are anyway here to enjoy their holidays.
Generally, all guests in the hostel get together 'together', which is why we've never had anyone complain about noise. However, we do respect that some people prefer not to socialise with other guests.
Having said this, I agree, that when you booked the private room, you booked a room which provided you with privacy- your own bedroom, and your own bathroom. We please ask you to me more understanding though, that the private room remains a 'Private Room' in a hostel.
Hope to see you here again.
Penny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

pleasant and friendly and clean and relaxing, set in nice garden areas with a fresh breeze blowing.. trees and flowers all around. it has free wifi and free luggage storage (not always a given as yet)

Room Tip: they are all nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glenn h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Wonderful atmosphere, lots of going on, great and fun staff. The location is excellent– bus stop, restaurants, grocery stores and bars & pubs are within walking distance. Rooms were clean and tidy and maintained on a daily basis and big lockers in the room is a big extra! Boho is by far one of the best hostels I have stayed in. Additionally, despite the liveliness the dorm area was really quiet for sleeping. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Boho was totally better than the other hostel which I've ever stayed.
There are everything what people need in hostel.
clean room,security,accommodation,beautiful garden,hammock,friendly and helpful staff and cat etc.
I could really chill out.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Itiizumi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.9 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,824 reviews
1.0 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,055 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#10 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,980 reviews
1.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.8 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boho Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boho Hostel

Address: Dun Guzeppi Xerri Street | Villa Cycas, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ10, Malta (Formerly Travellers' Point Hostel)
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Saint Julian's
Price Range: £12 - £34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Boho Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're a Bohemian traveller, you've found your Bohemian hostel. Drop off your bags and relax in Boho; a hostel which is ideal for backpackers & solo travellers due to its genuine social atmosphere and backpacker vibe.Located in a lovely Villa & Garden, Boho offers the perfect escape from the city's main busy central strip, while still being only ten minutes away on foot from it.Blessed with a large garden and courtyard, and that ever-constant Maltese sunshine, Boho is simply a pleasure to wake up in and a lovely home-away-from-home to retreat to. What's more, it's a great base to meet other travellers to explore the island with.Being backpackers ourselves we know what you're after when you're staying in hostels, and being locals we know where the good stuff really is!We provide you with detailed Maps, plenty of info on Malta, and we can also help you plan your itinerary.We also organise regular activities like pub crawls, boat parties and beach BBQs.In other words, you're guaranteed a great time in an environment which is as chilled-out as it is fun! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Boho Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boho Hostel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing