We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel overall!”
Review of Hilton Malta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Malta
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2011

Stayed for four nights in a king deluxe room with sea view. Perfect! The room was large, spotless and had views over the pools and the sea beyond. Staff were very attentive. The concierge was particularly helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was excellent and there was so much choice, I couldn't think of a thing they could add. A few helpful hints - 1. If you would like to eat dinner in the hotel, make sure you book in advance otherwise you may find you have to eat later than you would have wished. 2. The open top tour bus will pick you up at the hotel if you speak to the concierge. 3. The local buses are very very efficient and inexpensive but very grubby so don't wear white!! Overall, this is one of the best hotels we have stayed in and I would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flubadub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,822)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,309 - 3,315 of 4,822 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2011

This was our second visit to the Hilton. Stayed in an Executive room which gives access to the Executive lounge for complimentary afternoon tea and pre-dinner drinks which are served in luxurious surroundings by attentive and friendly staff. This is an excellent facility, and particularly welcome if the weather isn't great.

Stayed in one of the traditional rooms but got to experience one of the more contemporary new additions when we needed to switch rooms for half a day because of a late flight. Have to say that we much preferred the traditional rooms, but that' s purely personal taste.

Breakfast excellent, as is evening buffet and the Blue Elephant Thai restaurant in the basement. Living Well health club is well equipped and a pleasure (almost!) to use.

Niggles?

The minibars are configured in such a way that you can't put any more than a single bottle of your own water in there. Take any of the hotel stock out to make way and you're automatically charged for it. With water at 4 euros a bottle in the hotel, the cost racks up. This seems unnecesarily tight-fisted, particularly in contrast to the very generous policy in the executive lounge.

Oh, the music in the pool bar is awful. Can't really describe it...you just need to experience it.

Overall, an excellent choice. You're unlikely to be disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JDH128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2011

Spent ten lovely days at this hotel and would echo all previous positive comments. Room was large and as requested the balcony was in sun for a substantial part of the day...although rarely used balcony as lots of lovely areas to relax in in the gardens. Plenty of sun loungers and very helpful pool attendant. Breakfasts were amazing and we enjoyed an evening meal at Bottega il vino. Lots of restaurants to try locally. I had a manicure with polish lasting (very unusually for me) more than a week. Also excellent gym. Probably our only grouse was the pre-authorisation required on credit card - we were told they required 50 euro per person per night although they "let us off" with 700 euro for our stay. In the event we needed less than 150 euros (including manicure, meal and a couple of coffees)...but could be a problem if you hadn't got a reasonable amount of credit available (and indeed could potentially limit how much you could eat out as this amount would be blocked on your card).

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeatherDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2011

My partner and I just spent 3 nights at Malta Hilton and were very impressed! The hotel has a very relaxed athmosphere and the friendly staff really goes out of their way to accommodate your needs in every way.

The room was nice and big with a balcony with a nice view of the ocean, the bathroom was huge and elegant. The location is perfect, right next to everything, still quiet and peaceful as all the rooms face the sea or the marina.

We spent some time by the pool area, which is lovely, and there were plenty of sun chairs and lots of space. The health club is large and modern and we enjoyed a game of squash, which is free as long as you bring your own ball.

The breakfast had everything you could dream of, even sparkling wine! We particularly enjoyed the omelettes and the fresh orange juice.

If I were to fault anything it would have to be that the bed was a bit hard. I also agree with previous posts that the selection of (free) tv channels was quite limited. However, we were not there to watch tv so it did not bother us.

All in all this is a hotel we would love to come back to. It is pricey but probably well worth the extra $$s!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tronns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2011

The Malta Hilton was geeat. We stayed there for 4 days. The rooms were spacious and well maintained. The hotel is right at the rocky cliffs close to the sea at St. Julian. A few hundred meters from the hotel is a bus stand with good connections to Valetta and to the north. The staff was very friendly, always there to help with any queries and the breakfast buffet was delicious. The only small minus point I would give is for the poor selection of TV channels. Just undeer 20 channels, no CNN, no BBC world and no channel with movies. Could it be that management would like the guests to choose some of the pay TV channels?

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarlMoosbrugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2011

I travel frequently to Malta and Hilton is definitely the preferable choice. The gym and the breakfast variety at Oceana restaurant are always a hit with the business travelers, and it's great to have the fresh cup of coffee outside looking at the sea. If you are after the modern amenities then request executive room, otherwise for holidays deluxe room should do the job for you. I'm not a fan of the room service, but love the Blue Elephant and Quarterdeck Bar.

Room Tip: Ask for executive room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ganfina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2011

Great location overlooking Portomaso Marina. Wonderful views of the sea or the Marina and a large pool area to sun bathe. Excellent facilities with friendly staff. Very clean. The best Hilton I have been to. Recommended.

Room Tip: Have breakfast on your balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maurice100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,053 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.5 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#8 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#10 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,710 reviews
8.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.9 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Malta

Address: Portomaso, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta PTM 01, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: £97 - £373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the prestigious Portomaso development within the fashionable district of St. Julian’s, the Hilton Malta hotel has come to represent the style, comfort and hospitality for which the Hilton brand is renowned. Standing as a centrepiece of the coastline and an intrinsic part of the Tumas Group’s flagship design, Hilton Malta sits comfortably alongside Portomaso Business Tower, the Residences and Yacht Marina in one of the most exciting and dynamic property developments anywhere in the Mediterranean. With remarkable views of the Mediterranean, the 413 rooms and suites available offer the discerning guest unrivaled relaxation and comfort. All the hotels rooms and suites have a Mediterranean décor with either a balcony or terrace overlooking the prestigious Portomaso Yacht Marina or offer spectacular views of the Mediterranean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hilton EMEA, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Hilton Saint Julians
Hilton Saint Julian's
Hilton Hotel Malta
Saint Julian's Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing