We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly good”
Review of Hilton Malta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Malta
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Douglas, Isle of Man
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Mostly good”
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Just back from a week's stay in an executive room. We liked a lot of things about the hotel though there were a few niggles. Good and not so good were as follows

Good

Location - Spinola Bay is lovely with a great choice of restaurants, super prom to walk along and a half hour's walk to the ferry/water taxi over to Valetta.
Pools - good choice of 4 including an excellent adults only one which was great for swimming and a very relaxing area. Pools down nearer the sea got the sun late if wanted.
Exceutive Rooms and Lounge - rooms are spacious with a great bathroom and we found the lounge excellent. The staff in the lounge were very friendly and helpful and it was a good size with a few lovely balconies. Our only niggle would be that the quality of the evening canapes varied enormously though the afternoon cakes were always magnificent!
Restaurants and Bars - we tried the Thai which was good, the breakfast which was superb and the Quarterdeck Bar which is a great place for a night cap overlooking the marina.

Niggles

Very busy at the weekend and pools/restaurants closed for functions. This caused us no problems for a week's stay but would put us off going for a long weekend. We had no problems at all however with noise from functions.

Check in was a bit frustrating. We arrived about 11 a.m and no rooms were available which was no problem if the hotel was busy. After waiting until the check in time of 2 p.m. we were then given a twin and not the king we had booked. We said we would wait for a king and one was found.

Cutsomer service everwhere was very good apart from one incident at lunch at the Beach Club cafe which was very bad and left a poor impression.

None of the niggles would put us off returning and we saw nowhere on our travels around Malta that we liked the look of more.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Crellins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,128
    1,074
    278
    82
    53
See reviews for
1,101
2,074
179
607
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,008)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Staff just exceptional. Loads of restaurants in house (including world reknowned Blue Elephant) plus many on the marina of the hotel plus many within close walking distance. Rooms superb, we had fireworks displays every night (summer months). Clean, every comfort. 5 pools. It was superb in every way. I did lots of 'research' before booking, it was by far our 1st choice and my goodness it was just perfect... Only regretted not having Internet, but we got creative and went to restaurants at night who were all too kind & happy to let us access theirs. PERFECT hols.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathleenl28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Florida, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Much has been written about the Hilton Malta and I believe from my experience that the quality and dedication of the hotel management and staff truly represent the high standing the hotel has received from previous guests (one good example is the breakfast at the Oceana). This is one of the first times I am staying at a full service resort and therefore I will comment on just two points. The first: even though the hotel was fully booked (a good sign in itself), as a Hilton Honors gold member I was upgraded and stayed in the new contemporary wing of the hotel and we most happily enjoyed the extensive and varied benefits that are available through the business executive lounge. As a world-wide provider of guest rooms, the loyalty program of the Hilton chain does in my opinion give you full and added value as a "frequent flyer". And second, I must say with much satisfaction that the concierge staff at the Hilton Malta was professional, accommodating and most helpful in assisting me to purchase tickets to a particular archeological site thus saving me from waiting in line for several hours. These people are an excellent source of knowledge for touring Malta and they certainly deserve a good word for helping make this stay enjoyable and fulfilling.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LarSab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We have just come back from The Hilton Malta after staying there for 1 week. We found the hotel ok, but nothing that special. We were on a Bed & Breakfast board & the breakfast (which was self service) was actually very good and of a high standard. We ate one night in the hotel, which was a buffet and the food was awful. Very little selection, the potatoes were hard and tasted like they had sat there for hours, vegetables weren't nice but the lamb we had was ok, again nothing special. We asked for a glass of tap water & was refused because they don't recommend their guests to drink it.....the reason for this.....probably because they charge 5 (Euros) for a medium sized bottle of water. We found the hotel very expensive. A cocktail, Pina Colada for example, which wasn't that big and full with ice cost 8.95 (Euros). A total rip off in my opinion. They also cater alot of private functions, especially weddings. We saw 2 wedding ceremony's take place by the pool and the receptions in the evening, which were held outside where the balconies face. The music was so loud we complained to management & asked when the music would stop & they informed us 12.30am. Not impressed as we had to be up at 7am the next morning. The music was a band & singer, but the singer was awful....couldn't even hold a correct note! Even with the balcony doors shut & our tv on, we could still hear the band very clearly. You wouldn't expect that from a 5* hotel. All in all, the hotel was ok, I probably wouldn't go back there, although alot of people in Malta say it's the best hotel on the island. But I felt that they put more effort into private functions rather than the guests that are staying there.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danni O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DERBYSHIRE
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

The hotel and its staff were second to none. We stayed during September with family and had two suites - the breakfast was exceptional and the rooms we had were wonderful. The only criticism I personally had was that the price of drinks whilst around the pools were very dear. Overall though, the location is perfect. We went around in taxis, used the Arriva buses and tried loads of restaurants and bars. The only thing I did not like to see were the horses working the rides around the town both in the heat and the slippy roads. It seemed quite upsetting in this day and age. However, Malta is a sight to behold and one to visit. Yes the Hilton does have weddings, fireworks, etc, but surely that is all about a holiday - the noise is there but not particularly noticeabe. Enjoy.

Room Tip: I would certainly go for a Suite or Executive Room to gain the access to the lounge in the afternoon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VENTRISJUBJUB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clapham, London, UK
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Just spent a week at this hotel in Room 1057 which is in the new wing (2 yrs old). Went from 2 September to yesterday. First impressions are very good and when you walk around St Julians you realise that the location of the hotel is perfect for other restaurants and shops etc. We paid more for an Executive room (see other benefits later) which was nicely fitted with lots of wood. The bathroom I must say was huge, with an enormous bath and a separate walk-in shower. What I liked about it was that the shutters in the bedroom could be slid along so that from the bathroom you could literally see through the bedroom, through the balcony, out onto the sea! A great view when showering, believe me! The room was always kept spotless. Unless you put the appropriate sign on your door at night you will be woken up by room service to clean the room around 8.30 so if you want a lie-in, put the note on the door ;-). This was my first stay at a Hilton hotel-usually I find these chains too corporate and we prefer to stay in upmarket boutique-style hotels. But we couldn't fault this hotel. We had breakfast in the Exec Lounge a few mornings which was fine but, as 1 of the other reviewers has mentioned, the choice is MUCH bigger downstairs in the Oceana restaurant. Every morning we managed to get a table outside by the pool (we had to wait all of 5 mins one morning, LOL) which was quite something. It just sets you up for the day, having that view in brilliant sunshine first thing. The omelettes are lovely, thanks to Stuart on the counter-very friendly again. The pools are also first class-there are 4 and we tried 3 of them during the stay. You can have afternoon tea with sandwiches and cakes in the afternoon-all complimentary in the Exec Lounge as well as drinks and snacks (calamari, mini-burgers-all delicious) in the evening and sit on the balconies overlooking the pools. Special mention goes to LISA on the Exec Lounge Reception. She is genuinely lovely with a unique disposition-exactly what is needed to provide outstanding customer service. Nothing was too much trouble. She even showed us a different room (only because, yes we had a sea view room but the view was not as good as some of the older rooms) but when we saw the older room we decided to stay where we were because the new rooms are MUCH nicer and bigger. She came to say Goodbye when she left on Thursday evening because she knew she wouldn't be there on our last day. She really is lovey as well as being very efficient at what she does. Another thank you goes to Fabio who always chatted to us in the Exec Lounge as well as in the pool cafe- genuinly friendly guy-Good Luck for his wedding next year!. Cheryl was also lovely with a big smile (pool cafe). We decided not to eat at the hotel restaurants in the evenings because we prefer to eat outside and there is plenty of choice very close to the hotel, literally 5 minutes walk away. A superb experience. We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PeterWarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire England
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

We spent 14 nights here on our family summer vacation. We stayed in a Panoramic Suite on the 8th floor 822. The two rooms making up the suite were large and well furnished and unlike the standard rooms we saw were carpeted which gave an added luxury feel and probably improved sound proofing The bathroom whilst clean and functional wasn't 5 star. The shower was too small for me to use particularly as it had a curtain rather than a door. The general standard of housekeeping was excellent and never intrusive although we religiously used the do not disturb and please make up our room signs. The balconies, one facing the pools and the sea and another wrapping round from the pools, sea and into the marina were fabulous. We had room service dinner three times to take advantage of them and were treated to several firework displays throughout our stay.
The pools were super. Yes towels were out as early as 0730 but when I wandered down to claim our spot between 0900 and 0930 I never failed to get a decent pitch in more or less the same place everyday.
Breakfast is amazing although the queues at the weekend were a little off putting. We used the exec lounge for breakfast a couple of times to avoid this but the choice is far superior in the Oceana.
We ate in the hotel far more than than we would normally on this type of holiday. We used the Botega, the Blue Elephant and had food from the Botega menu at the Quarterdeck bar. Every food and drink experience including the pool bar was of a high quality, plentiful portions and served in a timely manner.
The staff are universally excellent. They always speak, smile and are ready to serve. The best example occurred on our wedding anniversary. At breakfast we asked if we could sit outside on the terrace for a change. It was busy so they asked if we minded an indoor table. We said we didn't but in passing just said it was our anniversay and we though it might be nice. With that a table was found outside, bucks fizz was delivered to the table, a few minutes later a plate arrived with chocolate cake (unusual choice but it was the thought) with "Happy Anniversay" piped in chocolate. Later in the day room service arrived with a complimnetary bottle of cava.
There were three weddings while we were there and two of them were conducted near our sunbeds. However we were not greatly inconvenienced as the set up didn't start until 4ish.
Yes it isn't cheap but the standard is very good and we'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SeabridgeSojourner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
8.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
3,915 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.5 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,194 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Malta

Property: Hilton Malta
Address: Portomaso, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta PTM 01, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the prestigious Portomaso development within the fashionable district of St. Julian’s, the Hilton Malta hotel has come to represent the style, comfort and hospitality for which the Hilton brand is renowned. Standing as a centrepiece of the coastline and an intrinsic part of the Tumas Group’s flagship design, Hilton Malta sits comfortably alongside Portomaso Business Tower, the Residences and Yacht Marina in one of the most exciting and dynamic property developments anywhere in the Mediterranean. With remarkable views of the Mediterranean, the 410 rooms and suites available offer the discerning guest unrivalled relaxation and comfort. All the hotels rooms and suites have a Mediterranean décor with eith a balcony or terrace overlooking the prestigious Portomaso Yacht Marina or offer spectacular views of the Mediterranean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Jet2Holidays , Southall Travel, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Hilton Saint Julians
Hilton Saint Julian's
Hilton Hotel Malta
Saint Julian's Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing