We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb staff, high quality overall”
Review of Hilton Malta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Malta
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Superb staff, high quality overall”
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Huge resort type hotel, located in massive apartment/marina/offices complex. The hotel has (unsurprisingly) the prime location in all of this. Pools are on several levels, and never felt crowded (in Sept.).
Staff are uniformly excellent, they obviously have an impressive training programme, and have highly motiovated employees - this makes a real difference.
Don't even think about a marina view room - pay for the sea view.
Downsides - there is very little privacy between balconies in some rooms, and balcanies are pretty small anyway. Furthermore if you shut the balcony door behind you, you're locked out - a highly stupid (and potentially dangerous)
feature!
We found Blue Elephant restaurant disappointing - Thai food for a five star hotel, bland, lacking spicing, way too creamy and expensive. Avoid if you like proper Thai food.

Room Tip: Sea view, high floor. Top floor balconies have no roof, so you get sun longer. If you want sun on b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oscillator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,174
    1,087
    285
    82
    53
See reviews for
1,145
2,087
180
611
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,013)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire
1 review
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We Stayed at the Hilton for a friends wedding and the whole experience was excellent and acredit to the Hilton group

Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLEBedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We spent 8 nights at the hotel in September 2011; we found the hotel very comfortable, good food and friendly staff. The staff are only too pleased to help out (such as those extra little requests in the restaurant), but they aren't intrusive / don't pester.

We spent a lot of time by the pools, relaxing on the sun loungers, in fact on some days we didn't leave the hotel at all.

We were both ill for the first couple of days (due to a virus we took with us), so had room service on the second night - we're glad we did, the waiter brought along our meal on a trolley which he opened up as a table on the balcony, over-looking the sea - candle and all, best room service meal we've ever had by a long way!

Room and bathroom were very clean, bed comfortable (I'm fussy about beds!).

Two minor points: (1) empty soap dispensers in the toilets in the public areas - I don't understand why, but we pointed it out to them, so hopefully it'll be fixed now; (2) loud music from a nearby venue (near the casino on the coastal headland) on the Saturday night could be heard in the room - wouldn't have wanted dinner on the balcony that night! No idea what time it finished, as with the door shut it wasn't too bad...

Food is good in the hotel, and also at the new development/marina next door.

We do plan to return to the hotel for another relaxing break at some point...

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dbrooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, England
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Room (executive) was spacious and modern, in the newer part of the hotel. The Hilton was unable to give us an upgrade due to the hotel being full, but as the week progressed, we never heard any more about being moved to a better room. On the first full day of our holiday we went down to breakfast to find one of the staircases was blocked to guests, making the route to the Oceana restaurant longer and less convenient. On finishing breakfast we went to lay by one of the four beautiful pools, to discover that the largest pool and the adult pool were also blocked to guests and we discovered that the owner of the hotel's Son was getting married on the Friday night, and it took precedence over fee paying guests! Many guests were not very happy about it, us included. The weddings in Malta take place late it seems, around 2130, so the noise around the pools for the preparations was annoying and it was difficult to find a sun bed or parasol at either of the two smaller remaining pools. I tripped over one of the cable covers in place for either lighting or sound, which could have been nasty, seeing as I already have sciatica! The wedding happened and the following music was loud, however we went to bed, and at around 3am were woken by lots of noisy women from the wedding going along the corridor conducting their conversations as if it was 3pm! This was followed at around 4am by men shouting and arguing, and a scuffle ensued right outside our door. We had to phone reception to complain and it was dealt with swiftly, however the noise continued until 7am, on and off. We paid for an Executive King room, which stated on the website it was on a higher floor and a quieter part of the hotel. I would argue that this was not the case, it was one of the noisiest weeks I've spent in an hotel.
On the plus side, Hilton gave us a voucher for one free meal at one of two restaurants - the Oceana or the Bottega del Vino. Also 3 times we found vouchers for a free bottle of wine, either with dinner at these two locations or in our room. Some days we would go back to our room and there would be beautiful chocolate desserts with fruit, (small but lovely) as a treat too. This was presumably because they didn't upgrade us to the Executive King deluxe. Better than nothing!
On our last full day, my husband was walking from the bedroom area (carpeted) towards the bathroom along the "hallway" (tiled) and his right foot slipped on the tile as he stepped on to it, and on bringing his left foot behind him to stop himself from falling, his big toe crashed into the edge of the tile resulting in his toe being sliced in half and needing medical attention at a local clinic. Hilton organised a wheelchair, a taxi there and back, and paid for the taxi driver to take us, wait for us, and bring us back, which was kind, however surely that carpet to tile idea is a health and safety issue if the sharp edge of the tile is so prominent?
The food at the Blue Elephant Thai restaurant and the atmoshere were amazing, the Oceana breakfasts were varied and plentiful, but for me continually serving yourself is not a holiday - I prefer people to serve me when I'm away, - The Bottega del Vino was also really lovely - I had the lobster and crab ravioli, it was divine.
The executive lounge was really pleasant, with lovely afternoon tea, with cakes and pastries and little sandwiches, which was a godsend for us, as we'd missed lunch on the Wednesday because we were at the clinic about my Husband's toe! In the evenings from 6pm to 8pm there were pre-dinner drinks and canapes, which were lovely and the staff in the lounge were friendly, kind and efficient.
Overall, the Hilton building is impressive, the four pools were amazing, however, not marshalled by the pool attendants, i.e. the adult only pool, often got young children in armbands, doing what kids do in pools, which is make a noise, and seeing as they had the choice of three others, it wasn't on, but no-one was there to stop it (including their parents, who positively encouraged it) Other "rules" like smart casual attire in the lounge were often flouted, and the Hilton's claim to helping the environment, didn't stretch to the two sinks in our Executive room, neither of which had properly functioning plugs!
This hotel needs to work out who it is appealing to, is it Weddings (there were two more on the Saturday night as well,) Business Men, or Holiday Makers? As tired travellers who'd had a long hard year and looked forward to this holiday for months, I can safely say I'd never go either to that hotel or that island ever again. It was very expensive and not worth it.

Room Tip: We were told that the marina view rooms were quiet, with no wedding noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skipper123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucs
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Spent a week here with my family and thoroughly enjoyed it. Whilst it is a large 'resort' hotel with a number of pools, bars and restaraunts it never felt particularly busy - indeed the only time it felt a little overpowering was at breakfast - if you got down to the the buffett late.

The rooms were fine - spacious with a great view of the sea (we paid for an upgrade - which was worth it). I would also congratulate the hotel on having some of the most poite and attentive staff I have come across in a large chain hotel - they seemed to take real pride in doing a good job

The only issue was the price of drinks from the various bars - which were EXTORTIONATE - particularly for soft drinks. Very early on we found a supermarket round the corner and stocked up on soft drinks from there - only using the bar for evening drinks.

Will stay again!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bob0406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Malta, Malta
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

We had our Wedding at the Hilton and enjoyed an overnight stay aswell. Its just overwhelming. Our junior suite couldnt be nicer, with all amneties you would expect fromm a 5 star property. Breakfast is out of this world! We also went for a quick swim the next day, so many pools to choose from! You are just spoilt for choice. thumbs up. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarneyMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

This hotel lived up to expectations. The rooms were spacious and clean and the staff extremely friendly and helpful. I would like to point out to other travellers - when you arrive and check in you are asked to provide your credit or debit card so a deposit of £500 can be taken off here for your stay at the hotel so you can pay for services etc, please be aware you CAN do a "pay as you go" scheme instead in particular if you are not looking to spend a lot of time in the hotel. I spoke to a few people out there who were unaware of this and felt they should have been told. The hotel is in a fantastic location right next to the gorgeous marina. We had a room over looking the marina and it was amazing. The choice of sun beds and pools are fantastic as well, we never once had a problem finding somewhere to lie down.
All in all this hotel is gorgeous and by far the best in Malta, the restaurants are also superb in particular the Blue Elephant. Hilton is a must if staying in Malta.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank look2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
3,961 reviews
8.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,428 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#9 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,643 reviews
0.5 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Malta

Property: Hilton Malta
Address: Portomaso, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta PTM 01, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the prestigious Portomaso development within the fashionable district of St. Julian’s, the Hilton Malta hotel has come to represent the style, comfort and hospitality for which the Hilton brand is renowned. Standing as a centrepiece of the coastline and an intrinsic part of the Tumas Group’s flagship design, Hilton Malta sits comfortably alongside Portomaso Business Tower, the Residences and Yacht Marina in one of the most exciting and dynamic property developments anywhere in the Mediterranean. With remarkable views of the Mediterranean, the 410 rooms and suites available offer the discerning guest unrivalled relaxation and comfort. All the hotels rooms and suites have a Mediterranean décor with eith a balcony or terrace overlooking the prestigious Portomaso Yacht Marina or offer spectacular views of the Mediterranean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Odigeo, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Hilton Saint Julians
Hilton Saint Julian's
Hilton Hotel Malta
Saint Julian's Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing