We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Malta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hilton Malta
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

Stayed for three nights in February 2012 in a King Deluxe Room. Fantastic hotel , very friendly and professional staff.Felt very welcome from the moment we arrived. Excellent location. Fantastic buffet breakfast and the Blue Elephant Restaurant is out of this world.
Would definetely recommend this hotel and will be back in the future.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,932
    1,030
    266
    75
    48
See reviews for
1,027
1,968
165
569
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (978)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

Have enjoyed 3 stays at this lovely hotel, staff, rooms & food are excellent, only negative thing was the one deep pool we enjoyed staying around was shut off quite a lot of times due to wedding functions being held outside !!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carnage300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northeast
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Our stay here exceeded our expectations. Our room benefitted from a marina view, which we quite liked, never stayed in a hotel before that had a marina. The room was large and the bed very comfortable. The breakfast offered a very good selection of healthy and not so healthy food! from fresh fruit to bacon sausage and eggs cooked to order.
We had dinner on two occasions and were very pleased with the service and quality of food. I would recommend trying a bottle of the local wine, we are not wine connoisseurs but enjoyed the local chardonnay 'isis'.
Although we had warm dry weather, it still was't warm enough to take a swim, the grounds and pool were clean and well maintained.
I would find it hard to fault this hotel, the staff were polite and professional and a special thanks to Clayton (Quarterdeck Bar) for his advice on local football!!
I would definitely return to this hotel but probably in warmer times to enjoy the pool and stunning views and would definitely recommend a stay to anyone travelling to Malta.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank happytreks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

I'll start this review with the only negative: some of the rooms and decor are a little dated now. However, the location, staff, atmosphere and quality of the hotel and food are excellent. I love this hotel so much I got married there. It is always my first choice hotel in Malta, having stayed in most of the other five star hotels there. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CLR2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

A very good hotel, great location, views and facilities. Room was very good with a nice balcony. Negative points were the quality of finish in the bathroom which meant sink did not seal, shower leaked onto floor badly and toilet was problematic to make flush and the phone in the toilet was literally hanging off the wall. This spoiled an otherwise excellent room.

Layout is slightly confusing as there are several lifts that go to different areas and different accommodation areas.

The restaurants in the hotel were very good for evening meals a good selection. Highly recommend the Thai. Good selection for breakfast. Good sports facilities, excellent pool, sauna and steam rooms. The pool was big enough to get some decent lengths in which makes a nice change.

I would stay here again.

Room Tip: The refurbished rooms are the ones to ask for
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RJJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Just returned from a short break at the Hilton Malta. I can't fault this hotel or the standard of service. On arrival there was an issue with the heating in our room, this was immediately addressed by Marco - front of house; he arranged for us to be upgraded to a suite; this turned our break into a dream holiday that will never be forgotten. The room was large with a fantastic double patio door view of the sea and huge balcony; in the large bathroom there was a huge roll top bath with another balcony - luxuriating in the bath and gazing out to sea was just divine! Thank you Marco.
The hotel and grounds are spotless, and all the while you know if you ask for anything the staff will do their best to accommodate you, nothing seems to be too much trouble. The food in all the restaurants is yummy and plentiful. Prices for room service are reasonable. If you want to eat out, there are good restaurants nearby. If you like a drink, happy hour in some of the bars in the Paceville area lasts up to 6 hours of the day, and yes they do put alcohol in them not just ice.

Room Tip: Remember sea views come with sea breeze when you are sat out at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GolfmadPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, England
Level Contributor
202 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 704 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

The Malta Hilton is part of a large-scale redevelopment of a formerly run-down area on the coat between the the Paceville ‘entertainment’ district and the rather more sedate Spinola Bay & St Julians, and the result appears to be entirely successful. The proximity of these bustling districts means that there is always something to see or do a short walk away if life in the hotel becomes tiring. The hotel exudes an air of sophisticated luxury with good facilities and attentive (sometimes a little over-attentive!) staff. There are several good restaurants with reasonable (in the context of a five-star hotel) prices; perhaps the presence of literally dozens of restaurants in the neighbourhood helps ‘keep them honest’. The buffet breakfast is varied and plentiful.

The hotel is a somewhat erratic shape, following the contours of the water’s edge, and the internal signage is inadequate, with pointless excursions up dead-end corridors inevitable. Rooms are well furnished, although style does occasionally triumph over substance, pace the low-backed leather-clad arm chairs to be found in the bedrooms (at least on the executive floor) which look wonderful but which offer no back support whatsoever and which become grossly uncomfortable after only a few minutes use. Rooms on the executive floor have access to the executive lounge, the facilities of which are well worth paying a bit extra for.

Our visit coincided with a change of the hotel’s computer systems, which was apparently to be blamed for a number of service delivery failures that we encountered. Every day we heard several times the same refrain; usually over small considerations such as the non-delivery of our morning newspaper, but the cumulative effect became somewhat wearisome. It was some small consolation that for the same reason we were slightly undercharged departure, with the staff writing off some odd entries in their accounting system after spending fully half-an-hour trying (and failing) to make sense of them.

The hotel’s Wi-Fi service is atrocious with connections constantly dropping out and requiring a complex log-on to re-establish a connection. Even without a complete disconnection any connection that depends streaming (for example, a connection to a VPN) last no longer than a few minutes before lapsing. BlackBerries are simply unusable. It is unfortunate that no Ethernet alternative is provided.

Guests of the Hilton can make free use of the development’s underground car park, using any part of the public areas of the car park. There is also a sectioned-off area of the car park that is reserved for the Hilton’s guests – but the means of accessing it appears to be a closely-guarded secret and when the secret is revealed it involves parting with a € 50.00 deposit – a surprising stratagem for giving ‘free’ access to the car park. Perhaps unsurprisingly, hardly any cars are to be seen in the Hilton’s reserved section.

These grumbles should not detract from the fact that this is well-run luxury hotel which can be commended (almost) unreservedly – especially when they are not changing computer systems.

Room Tip: Sea view nice; executive floor worth having
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SouthOxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.1 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,734 reviews
8.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.9 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.3 mi away
Hotel Juliani
Hotel Juliani
#2 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Malta

Property: Hilton Malta
Address: Portomaso, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta PTM 01, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the prestigious Portomaso development within the fashionable district of St. Julian’s, the Hilton Malta hotel has come to represent the style, comfort and hospitality for which the Hilton brand is renowned. Standing as a centrepiece of the coastline and an intrinsic part of the Tumas Group’s flagship design, Hilton Malta sits comfortably alongside Portomaso Business Tower, the Residences and Yacht Marina in one of the most exciting and dynamic property developments anywhere in the Mediterranean. With remarkable views of the Mediterranean, the 410 rooms and suites available offer the discerning guest unrivalled relaxation and comfort. All the hotels rooms and suites have a Mediterranean décor with eith a balcony or terrace overlooking the prestigious Portomaso Yacht Marina or offer spectacular views of the Mediterranean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hilton EMEA, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel and TravelUp so you can book your Hilton Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Hilton Saint Julians
Hilton Saint Julian's
Hilton Hotel Malta
Saint Julian's Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing