We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't rate this hotel highly enough”
Review of Hilton Malta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Malta
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Can't rate this hotel highly enough”
Reviewed 24 March 2012

I stayed at Hilton Malta with family for a week in July 2008.

This is an INCREDIBLE hotel - can't say enough good things about it. It's in a good location, close to bars and restaurants (we were on half board so ate out a lot). The hotel has several restaurants - stand outs are Quarterdeck Bar and Blue Elephant Thai restaurant.

The hotel and grounds are beautiful - huge pool and separate pools down at the beach club. The rooms were very spacious and well decorated, and we had the biggest balcony I've ever seen - it took 15 normal sized steps to walk along it! Great view of the marina from our room too.

Service was exceptional. Breakfast, as it usually is at Hilton resorts, was brilliant - so much choice and everything is fresh and frequently replaced. Lovely to sit out on the terrace with breakfast overlooking the pools.

Would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again if I were to return to Malta. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor - good views and enormous balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,178
    1,089
    285
    82
    53
See reviews for
1,150
2,088
180
611
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,015)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We visited for a long weekend march 2011. The hotel is in a lovely marina complex with lots of bars and restaurants closeby. The hotel itself is really well designed with large rooms, lovely pool areas and great bars and restaurant. Stand out features breakfast and quarterdeck bar

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ph100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Arriving on a late flight to find out our second room for our kids had not been arranged, the staff at the Hilton went out of their way to make things right, which they most certainly did with their offer of a large suite. Things just kept getting better overthe duration of our stay, we cannot say enough good things about the Malta Hilton. It is located in a great area of Malta, lots of variety for restaurants both in the hotel and in the area, and is well situated for sightseeing the whole island either by bus or rental car. We didn't realize Malta had so much to offer, we will definitiely be planning a return visit!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TravellingCanucks_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

This was my 7th visit to Malta, and the best! The weather wasn't great, but the hotel was brilliant. From arrival to departure the staff couldn't do enough for us. They were friendly, helpful and courteous - nothing was too much bother. The room was clean and comfortable, with a sea view. The bathroom had underfloor heating, 2 basins, a shower and bath.

Staff at breakfast were very professional and helpful. There was a very wide selection for breakfast, including fresh fruit, cereal, yogurts, fresh squeezed orange juice, mushrooms, saute potatoes, eggs (cooked to your preference) bacon, sausages, salads, etc.

The Blue Elephant Thai Restaurant was so relaxing, with great food. Plenty of restaurants and cafes to suit all pockets, are within walking distance. If you want to try local food, go to the restaurants/cafes that the locals go to - the food is good, but also usually a lot cheaper.

All classes in the gym and swimming pool are available to the guests. The staff here were also very friendly and helpful. The grounds are tidy and well kept.

Taxis are available outside the hotel, and public buses stop near the hotel. A 7 day bus ticket cost 12 euros, available from the drivers. It's best to travel outside rush hour as the buses can be very crowded. The location of the hotel is good as public transport runs late at night. It's a very busy area, with nightclubs within walking distance (but not too close), and also a shopping centre. Prices can be high, but again, if you shop away from the tourist areas, bargains are there.

Our experience at the hotel was very good - a very relaxing visit, with plenty to do, even out of season. I couldn't pick one member of staff above another - they were all so pleasant and helpful. March attracts the older visitors, but there were also many younger ones. I would definitely recommend this hotel (and Malta) for all ages. Overall it's one of the best and friendliest hotel we have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: Executive rooms with sea view are larger, but other rooms are OK too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank EvieVee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Stayed for three nights in February 2012 in a King Deluxe Room. Fantastic hotel , very friendly and professional staff.Felt very welcome from the moment we arrived. Excellent location. Fantastic buffet breakfast and the Blue Elephant Restaurant is out of this world.
Would definetely recommend this hotel and will be back in the future.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Have enjoyed 3 stays at this lovely hotel, staff, rooms & food are excellent, only negative thing was the one deep pool we enjoyed staying around was shut off quite a lot of times due to wedding functions being held outside !!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carnage300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northeast
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Our stay here exceeded our expectations. Our room benefitted from a marina view, which we quite liked, never stayed in a hotel before that had a marina. The room was large and the bed very comfortable. The breakfast offered a very good selection of healthy and not so healthy food! from fresh fruit to bacon sausage and eggs cooked to order.
We had dinner on two occasions and were very pleased with the service and quality of food. I would recommend trying a bottle of the local wine, we are not wine connoisseurs but enjoyed the local chardonnay 'isis'.
Although we had warm dry weather, it still was't warm enough to take a swim, the grounds and pool were clean and well maintained.
I would find it hard to fault this hotel, the staff were polite and professional and a special thanks to Clayton (Quarterdeck Bar) for his advice on local football!!
I would definitely return to this hotel but probably in warmer times to enjoy the pool and stunning views and would definitely recommend a stay to anyone travelling to Malta.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank happytreks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
3,961 reviews
8.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#9 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,643 reviews
0.5 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,228 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Malta

Property: Hilton Malta
Address: Portomaso, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta PTM 01, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the prestigious Portomaso development within the fashionable district of St. Julian’s, the Hilton Malta hotel has come to represent the style, comfort and hospitality for which the Hilton brand is renowned. Standing as a centrepiece of the coastline and an intrinsic part of the Tumas Group’s flagship design, Hilton Malta sits comfortably alongside Portomaso Business Tower, the Residences and Yacht Marina in one of the most exciting and dynamic property developments anywhere in the Mediterranean. With remarkable views of the Mediterranean, the 410 rooms and suites available offer the discerning guest unrivalled relaxation and comfort. All the hotels rooms and suites have a Mediterranean décor with eith a balcony or terrace overlooking the prestigious Portomaso Yacht Marina or offer spectacular views of the Mediterranean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Hilton Saint Julians
Hilton Saint Julian's
Hilton Hotel Malta
Saint Julian's Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing