We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a great hotel”
Review of Hilton Malta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Malta
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We stayed at the hilton for one week in july 2012 having previously stayed here for the past 4 years and getting married here.
Although the hotel remains a lovely place to stay i feel it has lost its sparkle for me. The breakfast remains high quality with plenty of choice and the staff are warm and welcoming.
We chose to upgrade to an executive room at a cost. Lovely view and were not disrupted too much by the three weddings that were on throughout our stay. In fact, my hubby enjoyed sat on the balcony listening and watching. Only used the executive lounge a couple of times, cakes and scones were fab.
Pool areas nice, didnt worry about getting a sunbed during the week but it did become busier at the weekend. Could do with extra pool staff to serve drinks etc.
Room was nice but looking a little tired. Walls need a paint and furniture and carpets were a bit worn in our room even though we were at the newer side.
Bathroom great, disappointed that the crabtree and evelyn products were not there anymore :( hairdryer in room was good, lighting a bit dim and only lit by various lamps.
Overall i would still recommend this hotel but will not return next year for various reasons (one being we will have a small baby by then so feel an AI hotel in a flatter resort would suit better). Will return in the future. Hubby fancies trying the westin next time for a change, sea access looks good there, pity hilton dont have a section of sea for swimming.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sallyv16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,824)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,969 - 2,975 of 4,824 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2012

stayed at the hilton for our wedding and honeymoon everything was amazing and i wish we could have stayed longer (we actually had the wedding at the baracuda which was perfect)
wonderful views of the marina and all the lovely boats moored there

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawnwoo_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Where do I start with the Hilton Malta? We went for a week and stayed in a sea view room with breakfast included. The excellent welcome we received was to set the theme for our whole stay. Customer service is outstanding at the Hilton, from the staff at reception, to the bar, waiting and pool staff. We have never stayed anywhere before with the level of customer service we received here. The staff really are 5 star!

The view from our room was amazing. On the nights that wedding events took place, we sat on the bacony and enjoyed the music, fireworks and atmosphere. I found that the double doors blocked out most of the noise when we closed them so we slept no problem and felt that either event didn't cause a big disruption to us. Our room was big and bright, maybe a little dated but still lovely. Room service and cleaning was brilliant. Breakfast was fantastic also.

The pool area is incredible. We particularly enjoyed the 'infinity pool' where children under 16 aren't allowed. If you have kids, then there are three other pools to take the children to which are large.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel. If you are looking for beautiful surroundings, incredible views and customer service second to none, then this is the place to go. (A special thanks to Alfred who took care of everyone really well at an indoor event we attended during our stay).

Room Tip: Rooms on the Harbour side are probably quieter but when I go again I will choose a sea view room aga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janey71328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Having stayed at the Hilton, St. Julian's Bay in Malta 4 years ago, I have to admit that I was disappointed when I stayed again recently. During my two weeks, there was a whole series of weddings that disrupted use of the facilities and created some noisy evenings, all notified to hotel guests very late in the day. One event virtually took over the hotel and the poolside areas for a day when around 600 guests descended on the hotel. The fact that the hotel laid on coaches to take its guests to a sandy beach that day was an open admission that the pool and facilities would be severely disrupted and they duly were!

Another negative observation was the sudden increase in pool users at weekends, apparently caused by the sale of day passes to locals. Suddenly the pool was thronging with people and residents were hard pressed to find sun loungers.

Taking both weddings and day passes into account, it would seem that the focus on local business adds to the hotel's bottom line but to the detriment of paying guests; unacceptable and I doubt that I'd wish to repeat the experience.

Having pointed out the negatives, I would again compliment the staff at the hotel who went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable and the standard of rooms and food in the restaurants was excellent. Well done.

As to the noise from functions, take my advice and book a marina view room. That way you'll largely escape music and fireworks that can continue into the small hours.

P.S. Many of the lifts were out of action during our stay, a daily occurrence and unacceptable in a 5 star hotel. Irritating to say the least.

Room Tip: Go for a marina view room - that way you will largely escape the noise of functions such as weddings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Commander48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We didn't stay at this hotel but we ate and drank there on one evening and subsequently attended a wedding two days later. While the hotel is beautifully decorated and is in a fabulous location, we found that it was dreadfully expensive and the food was not up to what we would consider 5* standard.
We subsequently met with the couple who got married and they were far from satisfied with the manner in which they were treated during their stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoeMcNally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthias W, Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2012

Dear JoeMcNally,

Thank you for your feedback. I was glad to read that you enjoyed our facilities.

I was chagrined to read that you have not enjoyed your Food experience at the Hilton Malta. Should you wish to elaborate further please feel free to contact me directly so that I can have a fully understanding of your experience and clarify further.

As for your comments regarding our pricing strategy, I would like to bring to your attention that our items are competitively priced when compared to the surrounding establishments within the 5 star category.

Kind Regards

Matthias

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We booked a last minute break at the Hilton Malta at the beginning of July. The deal included a sea view room and breakfast. The pre-arranged transfer by taxi was efficient and quick and check-in was good. The room was on floor 6 (one floor up from reception). It was spacious and had a large, comfortable double bed. The bathroom was very clean and everything worked well, but was not particularly big or of a 'luxury' standard we have had in other 5* hotels. That said, the sea view and balcony were excellent and the air conditioning worked perfectly. The staff were very helpful, breakfast was of a very good standard and so was the Blue Elephant Thai. The swimming pools and outdoor areas were exceptional and the hotel is conveniently located for restaurants, bars, shops and local transport to all parts of the island.

The only downside was our room was directly above a temporary bar for outdoor events. Like other reviewers, we thought that the hotel did not give sufficient advance notice of outside events and felt that these took priority over the residential guests with the subsequent closure of various pool areas and setting up of temporary dining tables around guests still sunbathing or trying to relax. However, overall we were very satisfied and would return.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MJEEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

This is our second visit here, this time in the summer when we could enjoy more of the hotel facilities. We chose a Relaxation Suite (363) which overlooks the Dragonara Point and the casino. The room overlooks rocks below where many of the young people gather and it can be a bit noisy at night.

Overall the hotel is still well appointed and the service is very good. It is well worthwhile going for an executive room to get access to the Executive lounge which is a nice place to sit and have a cold beer. It is a pity that the lounge was over-run with children at times that were not controlled by parents that should have known better.

The hotel is not the cheapest place to eat or drink but you would expect that in a 5 star hotel and a pint of beer and a small bottle of water were nearly 9 euros.

One major disappointment was having to ask for additional towels. For showering twice a day you need two towels and I don't think that I have ever stayed in a hotel like this where they were not offered.

The choice of breakfast items was second to none and you could virtually survive without anything until dinner!!

Overall, still a hotel that I would absolutely return to.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,055 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.5 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#9 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#10 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,714 reviews
8.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.9 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Malta

Address: Portomaso, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta PTM 01, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: £97 - £374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the prestigious Portomaso development within the fashionable district of St. Julian’s, the Hilton Malta hotel has come to represent the style, comfort and hospitality for which the Hilton brand is renowned. Standing as a centrepiece of the coastline and an intrinsic part of the Tumas Group’s flagship design, Hilton Malta sits comfortably alongside Portomaso Business Tower, the Residences and Yacht Marina in one of the most exciting and dynamic property developments anywhere in the Mediterranean. With remarkable views of the Mediterranean, the 413 rooms and suites available offer the discerning guest unrivaled relaxation and comfort. All the hotels rooms and suites have a Mediterranean décor with either a balcony or terrace overlooking the prestigious Portomaso Yacht Marina or offer spectacular views of the Mediterranean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hilton EMEA, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Hilton Saint Julians
Hilton Saint Julian's
Hilton Hotel Malta
Saint Julian's Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing