We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, a little tired round the edges”
Review of Hilton Malta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Malta
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent service, a little tired round the edges”
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Went for one week at the end of Aug 12 - lovely time, got free up grade! Used the gym - big but a little dated but more than adequate for a hotel gym, indoor poor, again good but some refurb to the steps happening, steam room also going through a refurb. Had a massage in the spa which was lovely and all the staff in the health suite very welcoming, friendly and professional. In fact every single member of staff from reception to cleaners to bar staff all very friendly, helpful and welcoming.
Outdoor pools - did not use main family pool but good size adult only pool by Gazebo restaurant but spent most the time round the relaxation pool in the Mekanti beach club - very spacious, quiet, lovely sea location (shame about the ugly fencing). Only fault was the drain round the edge of the pool needed a good clean but this may have been because it was towards the end of the season.
Good food in all restaurants especially the blue elephant. Massive variety at breakfast which does get busy but everything replenished constantly.
Room was spacious and modern it was only when you look closely that along some corridors the wallpaper is peeling a little or there is the odd damp patch on the ceiling, walls scuffed in the rooms - all very clean but could do with some updating/ tidying up in places. Having said that I would definitely go back again

Room Tip: We went for a sea view as there are a lot of boats always passing - you may end up looking over a ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eriscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,606 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,122
    1,071
    278
    82
    53
See reviews for
1,097
2,071
178
607
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,007)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Just been on our holidays to this hotel. The staff are very friendly, the rooms are lovely with lots of space and very clean. Breakfast was varied and excellent. We ate in all of the restaurants which were excellent, our two children ate free (hotel policy) and were very welcome, we were really impressed.

The outside pools and facilities are very good, with some pools specifically aimed at families and a couple primarily for adults. I think the only complaint I would have is that the staff at beach pool Merkanti were sometimes not very responsive when we tried to order and occasionally ignored us, several attempts were required to order drinks and food to our sun beds, but I appreciate it was very busy.

The hotel is well located overlooking Portomasso Marina and a very short walk to St Julians bay and lots of lovely restaurants.

On the whole would highly recommend this hotel, it's a must visit place!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeyFoodLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Visiting the Hilton hotel in Malta with my sister and two children,was a great experience!The rooms are very spacious,with comfortable bedding,tea and coffee making facilities,great bathroom and large balcony. On arriving at the hotel we received a warm welcome, the staff were very helpful throughout our stay.There was a wide selection of food to choose from for both breakfast and evening meals.Excellent pool area and facilities. we strongly recommend staying at the Hilton hotel if planning a trip to Malta.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We stayed for 5 nights during mid-August week, to see friends in Malta. The hotel was full and this was obvious during breakfast and when looking for a deck chair by the pool. The layout of the hotel is a bit confusing as there are several elevators and hallways to get from one part of the hotel to another. We stayed in an executive room in the new section of the hotel. The new section of the hotel is much more modern and our room was right at the end of the hall - seems like a long walk to the pool area and breakfast. Good to have the executive lounge access for breakfast to avoid the crowds, plus free afternoon tea, pre-dinner drinks and wifi.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dillonfamilytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suffolk,england
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We were moved here after a nasty experience at the Fortina Hotel and OMG what a great place.
Super clean, great service, wonderful staff from reception to the maids all were helpful and happy. The pool areas were great with an adults only pool that was policed by the staff all the time so as to keep that area quiet and child free. The drinks were a little expensive but you do expect that from the Hilton. If you go out of the front doors and turn right down some steps there is a supermarket that sells everything you could ever need at very good prices.
If you have booked this hotel you wont be dissappointed ENJOY!

Room Tip: Pool view rooms are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pawnbrokerSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

My husband and i had four nights here in july. Lovely hotel, fantastic breakfast choices and nice room. We were without our kids this time and i really appreciated the over 16's only pool, no kids screaming and dive bombing...bliss! gym and spa facilities very nice and hotel bars nice for an evening drink. Ate at Chapter One just around the corner on Church Street, really nice restaurant and great food. A lovely holiday!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzywuzy18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We have been for a weeks holiday and loved every minute of it.
We travelled with our 3 teenage daughters and it was our 5th Visit to Malta but first to the Hilton.
Our overall stay has been superb. What struck us most was the staff who were all extremely friendly and efficient.
We had upgraded to the Exec rooms which were both in the new wing and were lovely and very comfortable. Simple modern design and spacious. great to have tea and coffee too. Our bed was huge and very comfortable. we had a third bed in the other room which was still very spacious. The children were delighted with theirs and they are not easily impressed.
Loved the Exec Lounge which was a cool haven from the heat. Fabio was superbly efficient and friendly and did his best to look for seats as it got busy. It did get full to capacity on many occasions and with all the extra new rooms they do need to extend the lounge or it will stop people from re booking but the service of everyone in there was faultless,
Loved the Adult only pool and appreciated the staff enforcing the rules and there was a gorgeous pool for families so no one needed to compromise.
Breakfast was nice but not great and it was noisy and probably not the most comfortable place in the hotel, it also felt a bit dated. We have stayed at the Excellsior and Intercontinental and both have much better breakfast rooms and choice. we also stayed at the Dragonia and would say the breakfast at the Hilton was similar to there, everything available but nothing special and both have a noisy almost canteen dinning area with pretty standard chairs. Its not a huge thing for us as we are not breakfast people but it probably lets the hotel down a little.
We had a snack in the QuarterDeck bar which was presented nice, pricey but not really anythig special. Would retun again for a drink definately but not the food. There are loads of restaurants a short walk from the Hilton. We love malta for the people and weather not the food.
It was busy for sunbeds but again the staff were fantastic and would find beds for you.
All in all we loved the Hilton, its location is great. Some of the hotel is dated but the new Exec Rooms are lovely and the staff were superb which made our holiday pretty much perfect.
If we retun to Malta it will be to the Hilton.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Helen1587763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
8.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.9 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,386 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
3,910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.5 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Malta

Property: Hilton Malta
Address: Portomaso, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta PTM 01, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the prestigious Portomaso development within the fashionable district of St. Julian’s, the Hilton Malta hotel has come to represent the style, comfort and hospitality for which the Hilton brand is renowned. Standing as a centrepiece of the coastline and an intrinsic part of the Tumas Group’s flagship design, Hilton Malta sits comfortably alongside Portomaso Business Tower, the Residences and Yacht Marina in one of the most exciting and dynamic property developments anywhere in the Mediterranean. With remarkable views of the Mediterranean, the 410 rooms and suites available offer the discerning guest unrivalled relaxation and comfort. All the hotels rooms and suites have a Mediterranean décor with eith a balcony or terrace overlooking the prestigious Portomaso Yacht Marina or offer spectacular views of the Mediterranean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Hilton Saint Julians
Hilton Saint Julian's
Hilton Hotel Malta
Saint Julian's Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing