We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great rooms, very busy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Malta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hilton Malta
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great rooms, very busy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

My family of myself, my husband and 2 boys of 12 and 10 stayed at the Hilton Malta at the end of August. We had two fantasctic rooms with average views but the rooms themselves were great. Breakfast was substantial and anything you could think of was on offer. The lower pool restaurant was really super. The a la carte Italian restaurant was overpriced, particulary versus the quality and value of surrounding local restaurants. We ate at some really super places in St Julians and Valetta, all recommended by the concierge.
There are several pools at the Hilton, many overrun by small kids - great if you have them, less so if you dont. We moved to the lower pools, one of which was much quieter. We did have one overall issue with all of the pools (can't speak for adult only or indoor pool) and that was the lack of cleanliness - cloudy water, mucky too, a bit off-putting. Also, most of the pools are in need of a general refurbishment. This to us reduced the hotels's 5 star status.
One additional issue for us if you are a hilton honours member is that the executive lounge is way too small for the size of hotel and often there were no seats available - again, lots of young children.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and overall the hotel does well for such a large one. Very accessible location for St Juilans and good to have a water sports office next door.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Malta but wouldn't return having now been there once.



The staff were very friendly and helpful

Room Tip: Think the marina side is the better side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,919
    1,030
    265
    75
    48
See reviews for
1,023
1,961
164
568
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (974)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

We returned to this hotel after some lovely holidays,.This year did not disappoint,yet again we had a really great holiday. The staff at the hotel afr fantastic,food lovely ans swimming pools great to realx around and swim in. Malta is a very historical island and there is plenty to do. Restaurants are good and plentiful chice of venues to eat at.The climate in Malta is fantastic,hot and sunny with a light sea breeze.

I would not hesitate in recommending Malta and the Hilton Hotel.

Room Tip: We love the rooms overlooking the yacht marina, always something to see.However the rooms overlookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaltaloverTWells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

Although checking in at 2.30 in the morning was a bit of an experience with the three receptionists unable to find my booking they must have been embarrassed and just plucked a room out at random because it certainly wasn’t the room I paid for!!
The room was on the 9th floor and it was huge making my wife smile walking from room to room, bathroom to bathroom and onto the balcony which enveloped the suite on two sides - she’d thought I’d laid out some brass and was treating her but I had to explain that it was none of my doing.
Breakfast was excellent with a good choice of cooked or continental but it did get manic after 9.00 even though it was “out of season”. The hotel food and beer was pricey although this to be expected due to the standard and facilities of the hotel. Managed to try the Thai restaurant which is located at the bottom of the hotel – excellent food my only gripe was that they didn’t have any Thai beer to go with the meal.

Room Tip: If you can get the 9th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexdyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

Visited 14th. to 21st Sept. after reading reviews of "classic rooms" we enquired about upgrading but decided not to when we saw our delux marina view room on 6th. floor. Fabulous, no smell as previously read in reviews. Don`t let negative reviews put you off this fabulous 5 star hotel.Pools area superb, clean and ample sun beds. When we saw the exterior of the pool/ocean view rooms it was apparent they spent most of the day in the shade, whilst the marina view were in the sun from midday until 6pm. Breakfast great with no queueing. Ate at the Blue Elephant on Sunday and had a banquet, but had we realised we would have gone on the wednesday when there was a special offer on including unlimited wine.However,food was great.My only grumble, in common with other peoples are the inflated drink prices.Lulu restaurant, 31, Church vSt.,fantastic. Set price 25.50 euros.off A La Carte menu fantastic. Owner and all staff excellent, even when under pressure.(even offered free water). If we return to Malta would definately stay at the Hilton.

Room Tip: Would definately ask for a marina view, 4th. floor upwards, for unobscured views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ian a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
138 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012 via mobile

I stayed 3 nights in September 2012 in this hotel. Everything was first class. Great breakfast buffet, good beds, spacious rooms. The only negative thing was that staff was quite loud in the corridor in the morning, thus wakng me up...nevertheless, I spent a great time in this hotel

Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank SooLux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

Very much a 5 star hotel in every way. The customer service (wherever that was in the hotel) was first class and even when there was a reason to complain, the issues were dealt with to ones full satisaction. Location is fine and the facilities (good to see a pool for adults) were such that it never felt crowded. Restaurants were first class and there were no worries about the room. If one was to air any concerns, it was over the steep prices for drinks at the pool bar, excessive prices for wi-fi (which during the stay was unreliable) and a shower (with curtain) that took me back to the 1960's. That said, I would have no hesitation in returning and happy to recommend to others.

Room Tip: Would fully recommend a sea view room ... and a shower without a curtain!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayeswater27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

Just returned from our second stay at the Hilton Malta. We can honestly say that the experience was as fantastic as the first time! We requested a marina view room, after we were given one last year and the request was honoured. The room was lovely with a huge balcony. The breakfasts are out of this world...so much choice and all of a very high standard! The staff are incredibly friendly and knowledgeable. The pools are as always, fantastic! The location is a perfect spot to swim, relax and sightsee day and night. Just brilliant. It is close to some lovely restaurants in Spinola bay and of course the restaurants In the Portomaso marina. Thank you Hilton Malta for a fabulous holiday...we will be back!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jadnams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.1 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,734 reviews
8.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.9 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.3 mi away
Hotel Juliani
Hotel Juliani
#2 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Malta

Property: Hilton Malta
Address: Portomaso, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta PTM 01, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the prestigious Portomaso development within the fashionable district of St. Julian’s, the Hilton Malta hotel has come to represent the style, comfort and hospitality for which the Hilton brand is renowned. Standing as a centrepiece of the coastline and an intrinsic part of the Tumas Group’s flagship design, Hilton Malta sits comfortably alongside Portomaso Business Tower, the Residences and Yacht Marina in one of the most exciting and dynamic property developments anywhere in the Mediterranean. With remarkable views of the Mediterranean, the 410 rooms and suites available offer the discerning guest unrivalled relaxation and comfort. All the hotels rooms and suites have a Mediterranean décor with eith a balcony or terrace overlooking the prestigious Portomaso Yacht Marina or offer spectacular views of the Mediterranean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hilton EMEA, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays and Booking.com so you can book your Hilton Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Hilton Saint Julians
Hilton Saint Julian's
Hilton Hotel Malta
Saint Julian's Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing