We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for me”
Review of Hilton Malta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Malta
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not for me”
Reviewed 26 September 2012 via mobile

Nice resort-type hotel designed for business/conference clients. Not so good for tourists.
Served me watery instant coffee at the pool-side bar. 4-star?!?!
Would not go again for a relaxing holiday.
Fine room, good sea view. 
Cannot believe Hilton's policy on wifi: €55 for a week is OUTRAGEOUS when it is free in all bars and cafes nearby. (costs even more if you buy it in chunks) how do they expect to get tourists to stay in and buy drinks/meals?. We are not all on expense accounts.
Save it for the business conference trip.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippa M, Personal Assistant at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Dear Nick ,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your feedback following your visit to Hilton Malta .

Your constructive comments are highly appreciated as this enables us to constantly evaluate and improve our service.

Kindly note that our internet is competitively priced as in other 5 star establishments in our area. and we provide free internet for 24 hrs at our Lobby Lounge upon consumption of any item from the menu .

I would like to thank you once again for visiting our Hotel and please contact me personally if I can be of further assistance.

Kind Regards

Philippa Mifsud
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,178
    1,089
    285
    82
    53
See reviews for
1,150
2,088
180
611
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,015)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

This is an excellent hotel. Excellent service, great restaurants especially the Blue Elephant Thai restaurant and very comfortable rooms. The swimming pools and common areas are all very good. If you are looking for a 5 star hotel this fits the description. The only drawback is Malta itself which is a scruffy island covered in litter.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012 via mobile

They will never have my custom ever again as the reception staff were extreemly rude and offensive.We had booked a two week stay at what we thought was an exclusive hotel we were ever so upset by the money grabbing attitude of the senior staff.The waiters and cleaners were excellent and should change positions with the senior staff.l have stayed in major hotels throughout the world and this one is very low in my opinion. l left my wallet in reception on the main desk. When l made an enquiry about my loss the desk staff laughed and said we have never seen that wallet.l complained and said there it is just near that telephone.He then said the name on one of the cards inside is MrHuptner is that you.l said its got my wifes photo and my name is Nadir which is on the driving licence inside.He then gave me my wallet back and l immediatly noticed that money was missing.l complained but l was told it was my own stupid fault.


  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pollypeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippa M, Personal Assistant at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Dear Pollypeck,

We have read with concern your comment and we are very disturbed by it as it is not in our custom to treat our guests this way.

Could you please indulge us and give us a number to call as we are extremely anxious to shed light to the story.

In anticipation of your reply we remain at your service.

Kind Regards

Philippa Mifsud
Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

My family of myself, my husband and 2 boys of 12 and 10 stayed at the Hilton Malta at the end of August. We had two fantasctic rooms with average views but the rooms themselves were great. Breakfast was substantial and anything you could think of was on offer. The lower pool restaurant was really super. The a la carte Italian restaurant was overpriced, particulary versus the quality and value of surrounding local restaurants. We ate at some really super places in St Julians and Valetta, all recommended by the concierge.
There are several pools at the Hilton, many overrun by small kids - great if you have them, less so if you dont. We moved to the lower pools, one of which was much quieter. We did have one overall issue with all of the pools (can't speak for adult only or indoor pool) and that was the lack of cleanliness - cloudy water, mucky too, a bit off-putting. Also, most of the pools are in need of a general refurbishment. This to us reduced the hotels's 5 star status.
One additional issue for us if you are a hilton honours member is that the executive lounge is way too small for the size of hotel and often there were no seats available - again, lots of young children.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and overall the hotel does well for such a large one. Very accessible location for St Juilans and good to have a water sports office next door.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Malta but wouldn't return having now been there once.



The staff were very friendly and helpful

Room Tip: Think the marina side is the better side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We returned to this hotel after some lovely holidays,.This year did not disappoint,yet again we had a really great holiday. The staff at the hotel afr fantastic,food lovely ans swimming pools great to realx around and swim in. Malta is a very historical island and there is plenty to do. Restaurants are good and plentiful chice of venues to eat at.The climate in Malta is fantastic,hot and sunny with a light sea breeze.

I would not hesitate in recommending Malta and the Hilton Hotel.

Room Tip: We love the rooms overlooking the yacht marina, always something to see.However the rooms overlookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaltaloverTWells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Although checking in at 2.30 in the morning was a bit of an experience with the three receptionists unable to find my booking they must have been embarrassed and just plucked a room out at random because it certainly wasn’t the room I paid for!!
The room was on the 9th floor and it was huge making my wife smile walking from room to room, bathroom to bathroom and onto the balcony which enveloped the suite on two sides - she’d thought I’d laid out some brass and was treating her but I had to explain that it was none of my doing.
Breakfast was excellent with a good choice of cooked or continental but it did get manic after 9.00 even though it was “out of season”. The hotel food and beer was pricey although this to be expected due to the standard and facilities of the hotel. Managed to try the Thai restaurant which is located at the bottom of the hotel – excellent food my only gripe was that they didn’t have any Thai beer to go with the meal.

Room Tip: If you can get the 9th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexdyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Visited 14th. to 21st Sept. after reading reviews of "classic rooms" we enquired about upgrading but decided not to when we saw our delux marina view room on 6th. floor. Fabulous, no smell as previously read in reviews. Don`t let negative reviews put you off this fabulous 5 star hotel.Pools area superb, clean and ample sun beds. When we saw the exterior of the pool/ocean view rooms it was apparent they spent most of the day in the shade, whilst the marina view were in the sun from midday until 6pm. Breakfast great with no queueing. Ate at the Blue Elephant on Sunday and had a banquet, but had we realised we would have gone on the wednesday when there was a special offer on including unlimited wine.However,food was great.My only grumble, in common with other peoples are the inflated drink prices.Lulu restaurant, 31, Church vSt.,fantastic. Set price 25.50 euros.off A La Carte menu fantastic. Owner and all staff excellent, even when under pressure.(even offered free water). If we return to Malta would definately stay at the Hilton.

Room Tip: Would definately ask for a marina view, 4th. floor upwards, for unobscured views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ian a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
3,961 reviews
8.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#9 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,643 reviews
0.5 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,228 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Malta

Property: Hilton Malta
Address: Portomaso, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta PTM 01, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the prestigious Portomaso development within the fashionable district of St. Julian’s, the Hilton Malta hotel has come to represent the style, comfort and hospitality for which the Hilton brand is renowned. Standing as a centrepiece of the coastline and an intrinsic part of the Tumas Group’s flagship design, Hilton Malta sits comfortably alongside Portomaso Business Tower, the Residences and Yacht Marina in one of the most exciting and dynamic property developments anywhere in the Mediterranean. With remarkable views of the Mediterranean, the 410 rooms and suites available offer the discerning guest unrivalled relaxation and comfort. All the hotels rooms and suites have a Mediterranean décor with eith a balcony or terrace overlooking the prestigious Portomaso Yacht Marina or offer spectacular views of the Mediterranean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Hilton Saint Julians
Hilton Saint Julian's
Hilton Hotel Malta
Saint Julian's Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing