We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel for a long weekend break”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Malta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Malta
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Staffordshire Moorlands
Level Contributor
230 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great hotel for a long weekend break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

I
This is an ideal hotel for seeing Malta. It is a great venue and has great food. Views over the Mediterranean from the balcony. Rooms are spacious and well-appointed. Wonderful breakfast that can be taken at leisure.

Room Tip: Look for one overlooking the Med.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike_from_Staffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthias W, Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
Mike_from_Staffs
I thank you for your comments and look forward welcoming you back to the Maltese Islands and Hilton Malta.

Kind Regards

Matthias Welel – Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,977
    1,042
    269
    76
    50
See reviews for
1,049
1,986
170
580
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (981)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

Just back from a weeks holiday at the Hilton Malta with my better half.

This is classed as a 5 Star hotel and first impressions were very good with friendly attentive staff throughout our entire stay.

Our 10th Floor Executive Plus room was immaculately clean with a large bathroom although we found the walk in shower "insecure" underfoot due to its floor contour and floor cover material. The room size was good. Curiously although the bathroom had an his and her individual wash basin the hotel only provided one soap tablet and holder......................which puzzled us? The bath separated the two basins and made the one tablet ;proviision very odd indeed.

We arrived mid evening and then later found a very noisy family or group in the next bedroon which delayed our sleep until after 1am.

We awoke having has a bad nights sleep feeling pretty stiff from the VERY firm mattress which had a solid divan as its base without the additional support of a proper divan bed base.

Suffice to say during our whole stay we were not at all impressed by the poor bed and also by the complete inability of the hotel to come up with a solution to allow us to have a good nights sleep.

We have stayed in very good hotels (including other Hiltons) in Europe, North America and the Far East and we found this bed at the Hilton Malta very very poor. In fact one of the very worst beds we have ever slept on.

The hotel food was excellent and we found the little restaurant excellent on the 3rd floor. Restaurant staff were engaging and attentive and the food was first class. Thank you. Buffet breakfast was very good with a wide choice.

Afternoon Tea..........was switched to the Vista Lounge from the Executive Lounge...... cakes were very good..................pity the selection of sandwiches was not great nor was the choice changed each day. The Executive Lounge and drinks/canapes was very good. The hotel was well laid out with good views and pools.

Our one regret was returning home far more tired that when we left.......................we were so tired from the rock hard bed.........pity about the bed...............................suggest you go to a few European 5 star hotels to check out their beds.

Holidays are for rest and relaxation.............ours lacked rest.

Room Tip: Take your own bed with you and get a high floor sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LancsTraveller186460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Dear Lancstraveller18...

Thank you very much for the detailed observations on our hotel.

We are very sorry that we have not reached your expectations with regards to our beds. Great care is taken when buying both the mattress and other bed linen. On another note, your comments have been forwarded to our Executive Housekeeper for her attention and for any improvement that might be possible.

Apart from the above, we are very pleased that you enjoyed the quality of food and service you experienced in our "little restaurant on the 3rd floor", namely, The Bottega Del Vino.

We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to our hotel!

Kind regards
Anne Marie Scicluna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
226 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my husband for my birthday and overall did have a lovely time. We came here for his birthday in October and really enjoyed it so decided to return. We booked an Executive Plus room as we had previously and were slightly disappointed to note that it was a very different design to our previous room...perhaps this could be advertised on the website? Another area that let us down this time was the breakfast, the hot food was almost inedible, I was scared to eat the sausages as they seemed very undercooked. The scrambled eggs also made me feel rather ill and were a very strange texture! Breakfast was also rather shambolic due to an apparent lack of staff, and many of those that were serving appeared inept or were rather rude! Perhaps if they had opened up more sections and arranged for more staff to be working, everything could have run a lot more smoothly? Another area that disappointed was the Executive Lounge as there were a number of children being very noisy and the staff just ignoring this and the fact that they were running around and disturbing all the other guests. I realise this is a difficult thing to deal with but perhaps a seperate area could be provided? Another query is that on our last day a gentleman was given a free wifi code for all of the hotel from the executive lounge representative, is this normal? Should we therefore have been provided with one? Or was it just because he's a regular he gets preferential treatment? All other aspects of the hotel were up to standard but I hope that some of these issues will have been addressed before we return again!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flobo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthias W, Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
Dear flobo5.

First of all may I say how very sorry I am that you and your husband left the hotel less than satisfied with the services you received during your stay, I am very disappointed that on this occasion your visit did not live up to your expectations. However, I shall speak to my Team and take the necessary action to try and prevent similar service shortcomings occurring in the future.

Kind Regards

Matthias Welzel – Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013 via mobile

I have just spent a very enjoyable weekend here with my wife. The service was generally excellent, the room spacious and comfortable, and we had a very pleasant Saturday evening in the Quarterdeck lounge, with friendly, attentive staff and pleasant surroundings.

There were a couple of disappointing aspects to our stay, however.

We were not impressed with breakfast on either day - either the food or the service. The cooked breakfast was largely soggy and tasteless. Furthermore, some of the staff left a lot to be desired in terms of attentiveness, politeness and efficiency. One member of staff in particular - Janice - was very rude to us when we queried what had happened to our coffees - which we had ordered about 15 minutes previously. "They are coming. We are very busy and it's such a rush." I'm sorry, but that's not what you pay for when you stay at the Hilton. Other members of staff serving that day were also qute rude and unhelpful. We also waited ten minutes to be seated - so were surprised to see that only two of the four seating areas were in use. On the Sunday morning, the woman at the front who took our names kept us waiting a long time while she was on the phone to another staff member at the hotel. Another member of staff took us in the end, and he was very efficient and polite - it's a shame the other staff can't learn from him.

We booked an Executive Plus room, offering us access to the Executive Lounge. We were disappointed to see that both breakfast and afternoon tea were no longer available here. This was one of the reasons we booked - for a quieter area than downstairs, and one with easy and free wifi access. We were also surprised to see how easily the lounge seemed to turn into a crèche. Children will always be loud, and there will always be irresponsible parents who will take kids into quiet areas unnecessarily, but we did hope the hotel staff would do a little more to encourage such families to be quiet. Alternatively, perhaps the exec lounge, like the business lounge, should not be for kids?

We booked an executive plus room because we had enjoyed it so much the last time. We didn't realise how the rooms could vary in design and furniture, as this isn't mentioned on the website. The last time we had a round bath and a sofa, and so expected the same this time. We did ring to request a room change - but the other rooms were all in use. This was fair enough, and the gentleman I spoke to was very apologetic, but I think this is something that should be made clear on the website.

This was our second visit here, and although overall we really enjoyed it and are grateful to most of the staff for making it a pleasant experience, we were disappointed by the above. We are returning again in the summer, and hope these issues will have been dealt with by then.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank APerson1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthias W, Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
Dear JonesyBoy2011

I respect greatly your time in communicating your thoughts as it reflects the level of care and concern you have for our Hotel. After all, it is only through such positive criticism that we can ensure that the standards of The Hilton Malta are improved and maintained to reflect the needs of our most discerning guests. The experiences you detail are really a great shame and I apologise for any inconvenience caused.

Kind Regards

Matthias Welzel – Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

Stayed here on business for one night. Great hotel in first class condition. A good number of restaurants within walking distance or a short taxi ride. Its conference facilities were good and quite extensive. Would stay again both for business and pleasure.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swiss6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
Dear Swiss6

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to share your observations with us.
We look forward to welcome you on your next business trip or, even better, for your next holiday.

Kind regards
Anne Marie Scicluna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

This is the 3rd time we have stayed at this hotel and we would not hesitate to stay there again. It is the most pleasant of experiences - the staff cannot to enough for you. The hotel itself is amazing -the rooms are luxurious even their standard rooms and so clean with extras eg bath robes, slippers, complimentary water. The breakfast is of very high quality with so much choice. Coffee and cakes in the Vista lounge was another experience with a pianist playing - it was so relaxing. As we had to leave very early on the last day they made a breakfast box for us to take to airport - it was so well done - we were amazed, It is a definate must - very good location also. Highly recommended. A five star hotel and was run extremely efficiently. Cannot praise the staff enough.

Room Tip: All rooms are brilliant - we paricularly like those overlooking marina but it is just personal prefe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suziejenkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Dear Suziebaby

Thank you for your loyalty towards our hotel.
It is a pleasure to read such comments. Our aim is to focus on the best service one can expect from a five star property and we do our best to meet each and every expectation our clients might have.

We look forward to welcome you for the 4th time.
Kind regards from all the Hilton Team.

Anne Marie Scicluna
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2013

We have just returned from a week in Malta. We stayed at The Hilton after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor. It was superb, and far surpassed our expectations. A beautiful truly 5 star hotel in delightful surroundings, close to everything and an easy bus ride to all the main sights. The staff were all excellent, and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. Nothing was a bother. A special mention to Kristin on reception and John in the Executive Lounge, both of whom were outstanding in their customer service. We upgraded to a Classic, Executive room, traditional style on the 10th floor with amazing views. This gave us access to the Executive Lounge where we enjoyed complimentary afternoon tea each day and pre-dinner drinks in the evening. Being off season with changeable weather, it was a bonus and we spent much time there relaxing. Breakfast buffet is the best we have ever had with an amazing selection of beautifully prepared foods, and again, outstanding table service. Clearly, this hotel is very well run with the focus on maintaining very high standards in all areas. If I could find one fault, it would be the small capacity indoor spa suite which always felt crowded. Outstanding outdoor pools and sunbathing areas which we didn't use, being January but look forward to enjoying when we return again, perhaps in October.

Room Tip: Classic rooms are in the traditional style and have the best views over the sea. High rooms give the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelcat023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, 2 February 2013
Dear travelcat023

THANK YOU.
Your comments are highly appreciated.

I have taken the liberty to post these comments on our notice board because as team members of Hilton Malta, we take great pride to hear that we are doing a great job in maintaining the highest level of service possible.

We look forward to welcome you back during the month of October.

Should you wish to contact us directly for any assistance you might need prior to your next visit, please do so on Annemarie.scicluna@hilton.com


Kind regards
Anne Marie Scicluna
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.1 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,758 reviews
8.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.9 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.3 mi away
Hotel Juliani
Hotel Juliani
#2 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Malta

Property: Hilton Malta
Address: Portomaso, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta PTM 01, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the prestigious Portomaso development within the fashionable district of St. Julian’s, the Hilton Malta hotel has come to represent the style, comfort and hospitality for which the Hilton brand is renowned. Standing as a centrepiece of the coastline and an intrinsic part of the Tumas Group’s flagship design, Hilton Malta sits comfortably alongside Portomaso Business Tower, the Residences and Yacht Marina in one of the most exciting and dynamic property developments anywhere in the Mediterranean. With remarkable views of the Mediterranean, the 410 rooms and suites available offer the discerning guest unrivalled relaxation and comfort. All the hotels rooms and suites have a Mediterranean décor with eith a balcony or terrace overlooking the prestigious Portomaso Yacht Marina or offer spectacular views of the Mediterranean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Hilton Saint Julians
Hilton Saint Julian's
Hilton Hotel Malta
Saint Julian's Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing