We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding hotel”
Review of Hilton Malta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Malta
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding hotel”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed at the HIlton for 2 weeks. The service we received was outstanding. I contacted Philippa Mifsud beforehand having read some of the reviews and asked for a quiet room as we were coming with our young son. We were given such personal attention and a wonderful room overlooking the marina when we arrived. Philippa and Maria were very concerned for us and went out of their way to make sure we were happy. There was one very minor concern when we arrived and they couldn't do enough to make sure we were happy and that it was resolved. Philippa said that she was glad we had spoken to her so that she had a chance of resolving it and that it was preferable to reading about a problem on a review after there was no chance to help. We do encourage anyone who has a concern to speak up at the time not wait until after the event, it is worth it. Every member of staff we met from Maria our cleaner to the breakfast room staff (including Laszlo, Nazzareno, Stuart and Antoinette as well as every person who greeted us and showed us to our table in the morning and even remembered our son's name) was truly outstanding. Andrea saw that our toddler was having a minor tantrum in the lobby and came over to help and calm him down and very kindly presented him with some bath toys which was very thoughtful and much appreciated. The care and service are what make this hotel such a special place and makes all the difference when you are staying there for a long time. The hotel itself is beautiful and has all the qualities you would expect of a 5 star hotel (though we did think that wi-fi should be provided free in the hotel room not just the lobby, charging for the internet seems a bit outdated) but the unique selling point is the really exceptional service we received. On the way from the airport our driver told us it was the best hotel on the island and we think that reputation is deserved. The hotel is well located in St Julian and the city sight seeing buses stop just outside the front door which is very convenient. The public bus service is also easy to use and stops near the hotel, about 5 minutes walk away. There is also a very useful supermarket, arkadia, which is part of the hotel complex (the site is huge) which for parents is very useful as you can get nappies and milk very easily as well as everything else you need for baby care. The breakfasts in the Oceana restaurant are good with a lot of choice and the omelette chefs were excellent. We also ate in the Blue Elephant and the service there was also outstanding as was the food. We can't recommend this hotel highly enough, people couldn't do enough for us. My father is planning a group holiday to Malta with several of his friends and their wives and is hoping to book at the HIlton based on our recommendation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the marina, and sea. We had room 515 on the ground floor and it was ideal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FreyaUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear Freyauk

On behalf of all the team, THANK YOU!
We are more than pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay so much that you are ready to recommend our hotel to your family and friends.
We value greatly such encouraging and complimentary comments. They also allow us more to understand the most important aim of our job i.e guest service and personal attention.

We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back very soon.
p.s Philippa sends her regards

Anne Marie Scicluna
Hilton Malta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,020
    1,052
    272
    79
    51
See reviews for
1,063
2,016
171
589
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (991)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My fiance and I went to the Hilton Malta for a romantic long weekend. We were both so impressed by the staff, amenities, food and room. Upon arrival the staff were very welcoming and helpful. The design and layout of the hotel was immaculate! The pools were all great and the food was delicious. In fact, we never left the hotel in our 4 days there. It was the most relaxing holiday we've ever been on because we literally didn't leave the pool side for those 4 days. It was nice to return home from holiday without feeling drained. One tip: upgrade to the Executive Room! You won't regret it! It was an extra 70 EUR a night to get a better room and access to the exclusive Executive Lounge where everything was unlimited and complementary: buffet breakfast, afternoon tea and cakes, unlimited pre-dinner drinks and canapés, wi-fi and a computer for internet access. Plus, a fully stocked fridge with bottled water and beers. You can spend 70 on 2 nights of drinks anyway, so why not get the extras too? Plus, we always took a bottle or two of water for our room. Overall, excellent stay. You won't regret it!

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Executive Suite and gain access to the Executive Lounge. You won't regret it! Se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank audz311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear audz311

Following your recent stay here at The Hilton Malta, I would like to thank you both for having taken the time to share your kind thoughts and comments about our hotel. It is our philosophy and aim to ensure that we provide each one of our guests with the highest standards of product and service at all times. The continual monitoring of guest satisfaction is of utmost importance for our continued success.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your visit and very pleased that we were able to contribute to a excellent stay. It is always a pleasure when guests take the time to commend the hotel and I have shared your kind praises with all my staff.

I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you both again to The Hilton in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Anne Marie Scicluna
Hilton Malta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Just returned from 14 days at the Hilton Malta , this was our third visit to this wonderful hotel and its staff NOTHING is too much trouble, the credo is anything you need just ask and it does exactly what it says on the tin .
Special mentions Anne Marie Scicluna , Guest relations
Andrea Djurevska Guest relations
Rita, Antoinette,Nazzareno and Barty in the dining area

Room Tip: This is the HILTON MALTA it never disapoints
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laundrymancheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear laundrymancheshire,

Thank you for your review.

It is always a pleasure to read that a number of our Team Members have contributed to your stay at the Hilton Malta, I have extended your appreciation to all those concerned.

Please do not hesitate to contact me personally on Philippa.mifsud@hilton.com as I would be pleased to assist you with your future reservations.

Kind Regards
Anne Marie Scicluna
Hilton Malta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chertsey
Level Contributor
107 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

if your in doubt about booking this one be assured it is a genuine 5 star experience. My family loved it, the breakfast was extensive, lunch refreshing and dinner could be a relaxed 2 hour indulgence if you wanted it to be or 2 courses in 45 mins your choice. Rooms and views are mostly brilliant, only downside is youll come away envious of some of the apartments nearby.Parking is close by and the immediate location is silent even though its located in a bustling part of Malta.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear mark b

We greatly appreciate the time you have taken to share your comments.

I was delighted to know that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us at the Hilton Malta.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Anne Marie Scicluna
Hilton Malta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravesend, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We have just returned from our 27th stay at the Hotel, and once again it didn't disappoint.All the staff without exception, are absolutely wonderful,, helpful & courteous. Facilities & standards are high. Any problems are dealt with efficiently & effectively.. I am already booking for next June, and will again meet many like-minded people that return regularly to our "home from home".

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eileen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Eileen N

It was a pleasure to read your wonderful comments.

As hoteliers it is our aim to exceed our customers’ expectations and I was delighted to read that once again we were successful.

We truly appreciate your loyalty and patronage towards the Hilton Malta and look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards
Anne Marie Scicluna
Hilton Malta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, England
Level Contributor
89 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed in an executive plus sea view room in the contemporary part of the hotel. This is an addition to the side of the original building. Whilst the sea views are great, if you look down from the balcony, the view is not so pleasant...drains! And drains which smelled bad some of the time we were there! ...the only downside though.
On the plus side, the room was great as were the facilities in the executive lounge. Really nice breakfast, afternoon tea and evening canopies...together with complimentary drinks, wine and cocktails in the evening (hot, soft drinks and beer available all day).
The other plus was the concern that Kristen (the lounge manager)showed when we mentioned the drainage issue.... in fact, all of the staff appear to go out of their way to make your stay a pleasant one.
The hotel is in a really great location, with the bars and restaurants overlooking Spinola and Balluta Bays both in walking distance and the really nice marina with its restaurants is right next to the property. Bus stops are just up the road. All rooms in this hotel face out to sea or into the marina, so all will have a nice view...the garden view referred to is the pool area gardens. Great pools and plenty of sunbeds , really nicely kept.
Will return but will stay in a classic room to avoid those drains!

Room Tip: The contemporary rooms are probably the best, but their location is a bit suspect! All rooms I think...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cliffandjules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear cliffandjules,

Thank you very much for your review.

I greatly appreciate the time you have taken to share your feedback as it motivates all of us to strive to do even better.

With regards to your comment related to the view outer area, I wish to assure you that Hilton Malta is doing it's best to obtain permits to improve that area and hopefully this will change in the very near future.

I thank you once again and look forward to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards
Anne Marie Scicluna
Hilton Malta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 6 nights & were pleasantly surprised by the standard of service, extras & ambiance of the hotel in general, starting with a swift hassle-free early check-in with cold welcome drink. The room was huge & comfortable with nice seating area, bathroom huge & modern (perhaps just missing a bidet), comfortable beds, balcony, good air-con, & tea coffee making facilities. The breakfast buffet in the main restaurant was a wonderful array & the Executive Lounge ('Executive Room' occupation entitles use) was a totally new experience for us which I can only liken to an airline lounge, but better. The Thai restaurant experience was lovely & offers two taster type set menus for those of you who don't know what to order or like us can't choose! There are good views in all directions from various stylish bars & terraces throughout the hotel with comfortable seating. The staff were great on the whole. Just a small gripe in respect of the pool bar staff to whom we were apparently invisible when we wanted a service - there had to be something didn't there - but it didn't change our overall opinion. The hotel is perfectly situated to take advantage of masses of local restaurants, bars & nightlife & shops as well as being within walking distance of a small beach. It's a really good easy walk to Sliema along the promenade (about 5 miles return) or just adjacent to the hotel there are short walks around the marina. The clients are a complete mix of business, conference, wedding attendees, families & couples so it was really interesting & definitely one to mark as a stong contender for a repeat visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Joan Margaret P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippa M, Administration at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Dear Joan Margaret P

Thank you for your very warm and generous feedback. It is much appreciated, and motivates all of us to strive to do even better.

Our guests are our best advocates and we are glad that we have met your expectations and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Once again thank you for taking the time to give us such positive comments.

Kind Regards

Philippa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.1 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,789 reviews
8.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.9 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.3 mi away
Hotel Juliani
Hotel Juliani
#2 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Malta

Property: Hilton Malta
Address: Portomaso, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta PTM 01, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the prestigious Portomaso development within the fashionable district of St. Julian’s, the Hilton Malta hotel has come to represent the style, comfort and hospitality for which the Hilton brand is renowned. Standing as a centrepiece of the coastline and an intrinsic part of the Tumas Group’s flagship design, Hilton Malta sits comfortably alongside Portomaso Business Tower, the Residences and Yacht Marina in one of the most exciting and dynamic property developments anywhere in the Mediterranean. With remarkable views of the Mediterranean, the 410 rooms and suites available offer the discerning guest unrivalled relaxation and comfort. All the hotels rooms and suites have a Mediterranean décor with eith a balcony or terrace overlooking the prestigious Portomaso Yacht Marina or offer spectacular views of the Mediterranean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Hilton Saint Julians
Hilton Saint Julian's
Hilton Hotel Malta
Saint Julian's Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing