We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very good 4 star”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Malta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Malta
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
214 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“A very good 4 star”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

My impressions of the hotel didn't start well when I contacted them in advance to book a table for a special meal at the Oceana restaurant and they couldn't tell me whether it would be open and never came back to me. It improved on arrival - the hotel staff were friendly and welcoming and the service was good (they sorted a special breakfast table for my mum's birthday). The room was excellent - spacious and well appointed with a large balcony and great views of the bay and the pool.

There were a number of things though that would have merited a five star rating:

- the breakfast was ok but not great. The hot food looked (and tasted) as if it had been there a while, particularly the scrambled eggs and the selection of breads was poor
- the cost of the wifi! Ok so it was free in the lobby but how can a hotel of this standard justify charging 15 euros a day in the room? And then have a limit of the number of devices you can use?
- the spa. The treatments were good, with lots of choice and reasonably priced, but th pre and post relaxation areas need some thought. Being sat in the middle of a walkway afterwards - with a flimsy net curtain - with lots of gym noise spoils the effect somewhat

The location of the hotel was good in easy walking distance of lots of restaurants and a good bus service, although this area isn't as picturesque as other parts of the island from what I saw. Good value for what we paid but would benefit from a slightly more exclusive approach.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wowfactor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear wowfactor,

I am very sorry to read that we did not live up to our already good name. I kindly ask you to contact me on annemarie.scicluna@hilton.com as I would be very interesteed in determining more specifically the nature of your concerns.

After all, it is only through such constructive criticism that we are able to continually improve the services we provide to our most discerning guests.

We thank you once again for your time and look forward to hear from you
Kind regards

Anne Marie Scicluna
Guest Relations
Hilton Malta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,977
    1,043
    269
    76
    50
See reviews for
1,050
1,986
170
580
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (981)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Nice hotel with great location, a lot of fantastic restaurants and bars close by. My room had great view from the window to the marina. Helpful staff. Will definitely come back. Only negative experience is that we got our room very late. Actually after check in time and we had to wait for it by the pool for a couple of hours.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizaIva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Lizalva,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience in our hotel.

I would personally like the opportunity to communicate and to better understand why your room was given late and kindly ask you to contact me on annemarie.scicluna@hilton.com

Awating your reply
Kind regards

Anne Marie Scicluna
Guest Relations
Hilton Malta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Really amazing hotel with wonderful warm professional friendly staff. Stayed here for 4 nights at the end of November, on arrival we were given an extremely warm welcome at reception by Robert, who was as delighted as we were at the news were we being upgraded to a fantastic suite with a wonderful sea view. The room was fantastic with everything and more that we could wish for, The room was kept spotlessly clean by our lovely housemaid. The choice at breakfast was the best ever, with so much choice and once again brilliant staff at your service. The hotel has well kept grounds and really great pools and a Jacuzzi. The Quarter Deck bar is great for a drink and we thoroughly enjoyed a delicious Banquet meal in the Blue Elephant Restaurant. The hotel is close to many good bars and restaurants. I can Highly recommend this hotel for a remarkable stay in wonderful, luxurious surroundings. The only faults that I would have would as has been mentioned before in other reviews is that they really should have free wi-fi in the rooms, but in saying that the free wi-fi available in the lobby is extremely fast and very reliable. My only other minus was the many cats walking round the outside tables at breakfast, I just found it a bit off putting when eating. But other than those very minor grips, this really is a true Five Star experience with amazing staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerryire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Gerryire,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to write about your experience in our hotel. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your visit and very pleased that we were part of your " Wonderful" stay.

Your constructive comments are greatly appreciated and I wish to assure you that they be dealt with in the very near future.

We thank you once again and do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back!

Kind regards
Anne Marie Scicluna
Guest Relations
Hilton Malta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

They really have it sussed! The staff and management appear to work well with each other. There is a real piano in the foyer bar that has a different pianist daily. The room was clean and the maid was very helpful with the little things like extra tea and coffee requests. The entire staff without exception were all extremely polite and friendly. Breakfast buffet offered plenty of choice and no waiting for replenishing and no running out. Tea and coffee was at the table for when you get back with your choice of food. The pools were clean and the sun beds were of good quality and none broken. The location is excellent being 3-5 minutes walk to all the restaurants and bars. There is a well equipped gym and beauty treatment centre for the ladies although we didn't try either. I would recommend this hotel highly without reservation and will be going back to Malta, and the Hilton Malta in 2014.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ken A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Ken

Thank you very much for your kind comments. It is a great pleasure to read that we have made your stay a “fabulous” one. These comments encourage us to do even better and to offer the best hospitality service one would expect from a Hilton hotel.

We look forward to welcome you back in the year 2014. Do not hesitate to contact me directly to assist you with your future bookings.

Kind regards
Anne Marie Scicluna
Guest Relations
Hilton Malta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghajnsielem, Malta
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a weekend to celebrate my better half's birthday and we were in for a treat. Room was large with a great pool/sea view. Everything was clean and tidy, moreover fresh towels and bath accomodities where resupplied every day. Definetly recommend the breakfast buffet since they offer every type of breakfast combinations (be it antipasto, cerials, omlets and the list goes on). Gym is equipped with modern equipment and indoor pool was great. Staff always greeted us with a friendly smile and offeres to help at every.

The only hiccup we had was when we asked for extra glasses in our room which came with an extra cost even though we would have returned them in an hour.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Angelo Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Angelo Z,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience in our hotel.We are very pleased we were able to create some special happy memories.

May I kindly ask you to contact me on annemarie.scicluna@hilton.com as I wish to clarify or better understand the comment with regards to the charge for extra glasses brought to your room.

I look forward to hear from you.
Kind regards

Anne Marie Scicluna
Guest Relations
Hilton Malta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

One of the best hotel ever! Service amazing, breakfast fantastic, room beautiful. The Spa area is beautiful, and also the 5 pools. As an hhonors gold upgraded me in a Junior suite, thanks Kristin! Will definitely come back in the summer.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spaxia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear spaxia

Thank you for your loyalty towrds the Hilton Chain!. It is most gratifying to read that your stay, spent at Hilton Malta, was an amazing one and we look forward to have the pleasue to welcome you back in Summer.

Do not hesitate to contact me directly should you need any assistance with regards to your future bookings.

Sincerely

Anne Marie Scicluna
Guest Relations
Hilton Malta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

Hotel is conveniently located close to shopping and food areas... There is restaurants in walking distance including the Halaal Turkish millennium restaurant. The service was excellent... Rooms need an upgrade to be up to the normal 5 star hilton standard.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Muhammed O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Mohammed O

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your business trip on the island. We thank you for your time and look forward to welcome you back very soon!

Kind regards
Anne Marie Scicluna
Guest Relations
Hilton Malta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.1 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,759 reviews
8.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.9 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.3 mi away
Hotel Juliani
Hotel Juliani
#2 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Malta

Property: Hilton Malta
Address: Portomaso, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta PTM 01, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the prestigious Portomaso development within the fashionable district of St. Julian’s, the Hilton Malta hotel has come to represent the style, comfort and hospitality for which the Hilton brand is renowned. Standing as a centrepiece of the coastline and an intrinsic part of the Tumas Group’s flagship design, Hilton Malta sits comfortably alongside Portomaso Business Tower, the Residences and Yacht Marina in one of the most exciting and dynamic property developments anywhere in the Mediterranean. With remarkable views of the Mediterranean, the 410 rooms and suites available offer the discerning guest unrivalled relaxation and comfort. All the hotels rooms and suites have a Mediterranean décor with eith a balcony or terrace overlooking the prestigious Portomaso Yacht Marina or offer spectacular views of the Mediterranean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, Expedia, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Hilton Saint Julians
Hilton Saint Julian's
Hilton Hotel Malta
Saint Julian's Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing