We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff”
Review of Hilton Malta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Malta
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2014

The staff at the Hilton Malta went above and beyond Everyone seemed very happy. We would definitely stay at the Hilton Malta again, and would not hesitate to recommend the Hilton Malta to anyone. The local bus stops a few blocks away.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear David W

On Behalf of the Hilton Team, THANK YOU!
We value greatly such complimentary comments. They encourage us to do even better and to focus on the important issues of guest service and personal attention.

We all look forward to welcome you back in the near future!.
Kind regards

Anne Marie Scicluna
Hilton Malta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,759)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Malta
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,203 - 2,209 of 4,759 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014

This hotel delivers on all kinds of levels. It's beautifully placed and the decor is well thought out, if maybe sometimes a little efflorescent. The design of the place takes some getting used to owing to the floor distribution system, the mezzanine upon which reception is placed, and the fact that some of the lifts only go to certain floors. The first day we tried to find breakfast we found ourselves in the service corridor and the car park, for instance. Owing to the fact that my lovely companion had her birthday that week, we had been upgraded to an executive room, which was a nice touch and very thoughtful. The room was beautiful and looked out over the bay and the outside pool area so we could watch idiot swimmers turning blue (chilly time of year!). The en suite was compact but okay. The detailing was good. But horror of horrors. The cheapest of cheap things - there was an electronic bar, which is the tackiest, nastiest, most sleazy-motel thing I can conceive of. I was really surprised. I was also aghast at the cost of the wifi, which was available in the executive lounge and the lobby but excruciatingly extortionate anywhere else in the hotel. Not impressed. The TV was utterly useless - a plethora of channels in various languages, no proper free cable, an unresponsive programming selection system...we just gave up. The cleaning was pretty good. I went to the mean extent of putting test fragments of paper in various parts of the room to see if they were found by the cleaning staff. The one in the middle of the floor and - surprisingly - under the portfolio on the desk were both found, but the one under the sofa, under the sofa cushion and behind the sofa were not. The public areas were, as I say, lovely. The beautiful bar area that overlooks the harbour was superb except for the waiter who stubbornly refused to give us decent port measures. Upon being told that a shot of spirits was smaller than a measure of port, he told us that Hilton health and safety had decreed it that this was not in fact so. And apparently this is universal, all over the world. I was surprised to hear this because I happen to know for a fact that it is nothing of the sort. And rather than being conciliatory he argued and argued with me until I gave up. Again. A shame, as it marred an aesthetically beautiful experience. The staff were very thoughtful - they left a bottle of champagne and a cake in the room for MLCs birthday. The concierge was good when he could be found, but he rarely could be, leading to much hanging about in the lobby before we could get really fairly basic info. Overall this is a five star standard hotel with good service, lovely rooms and public areas...marred by cheapening little details that really should be beneath a place of this calibre. If you pay hundreds of pounds a night for accommodation, I don't think that decent TV, free wifi and a 'real' minibar (and, perhaps, more obliging and accommodating bar staff...) is a lot to ask. It leaves a sour taste in the mouth and that's a real shame because I think that this was otherwise one of the nicest places I've ever stayed.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank LSO1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2014

Dear lso1973,

Thank you for having chosen to stay in our hotel during the month of January and thank you also for sharing your comments and observations about such experience at the Hilton Malta.

We assure you that all your comments were reviewed and any possible changes and improvement where implemented.

We do hope to still have the opportunity to welcome you back in our hotel.
Warm regards

Anne Marie Scicluna
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed in the Hilton for 4 nights over New Years Eve and had an overall excellent experience there.

Our room (463) was fantastic, spacious, comfortable and with a great view! As an executive room it included access to the executive lounge where snacks and drinks were provided (alcoholic from 5 pm). Only point here is: we think this is not a place for small children!

Service was efficient and friendly throughout the entire hotel.

Breakfast left nothing to desire, amazing how well the staff handled the place even when it became crowded sometimes!

Galadinner at New Years Eve was nice, the only thing we missed was a little entertainment like a showdance or similar.

WIFI was free in the lobby and the lounge, parking free of charge in the public garage.

Lots of restaurants, clubs and bars within walking distance.

Room Tip: 463 is an executive corner room with extra space and great view!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christian_999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear Christian 999

Thank you for celebrating the coming of a New Year with us. We are very pleased to know that we have contributed and that your experience in our hotel was an excellent one.
.
We look forward to welcome you back!
Kind regards

Anne Marie Scicluna
Hilton Malta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Stayed over Xmas, 7 night break with my wife. The Hilton Malta has nice view over looking the sea and it's an ideal place to shoot a Sunrise. To get a good sunrise view you need to be on the left side of the building facing the sea. So I emailed the hotel to see if could reserve a room to my liking. Got a quick reply from Kirsty informing me they've updated the booking.

The room was great. It had two balconies and was on the best location they could offer me so I was really pleased.

Great location, many restaurants bars to choose from close by. Bus number 12 & 13 goes to Valletta, Five min walk to St Julian's bay. There's a supermarket one min walk from hotel.

We had Xmas buffet lunch and it was very very good. But their daily breakfast wasn't that great.

About the room.
The TV kept resetting going back to channel one which advertised a tour bus operator company probably the hotel has some connection with. It was really annoying.

Tiny shower cubicle (Room 848)

Wife ordered room service twice. First during the day the pizza was well prepared and everything tasted good. So good she ordered the same again on another night. Disappointing the dough was too dry and rocket salad weren't marinated and whole pizza lacking flavor. She complained, that was it.

Free WiFi at the lobby but not enough seating.

Overall we had a pleasant stay. Shame I cannot give five stars for reasons the TV issue and the room service.

Room Tip: Want to see the Sunrise get a room on the left side facing the sea
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank khedara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear Khedara

Greetings from Hilton Malta!
Whilst thanking you for the detailed information about your stay with us, at Hilton Malta, may I kindly ask you to accept our sincere apologies with regards to the issues mentioned I can assure you that all of your comments have been thoroughly dealt with at an operational level, None of the situations you describe should have occurred.

Should we have the pleasure of welcoming you back at our hotel, I kindly ask you to contact me prior to your arrival to make sure your stay is flawless.

Kind regards

Anne Marie Scicluna
Hilton Malta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

hotel and staff great nothing was to much trouble, had to pay for wi fi, but overall great place to stay food wonderful, great pools and spa treatments are out of this world, leaving you so relaxed. every thing was spotless where ever you went in the hotel,

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear William S

Thank you very much!
Thank you for your kind comments. It is our main priority to offer first class service and we are glad to have succeeded another time.

We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back for many more times!
Kind regards

Anne Marie Scicluna
Hilton Malta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We called in to the Hilton on Christmas day, lunch was in full swing, the band was playing and the sun was shining on the Quarterdeck Bar terrace.
We enjoyed some drinks in the QBT, overlooking the marina, soaking up the sun shine - magic !
Then we went through to the lobby bar and enjoyed the Xmas afternoon tea, the usual sandwich selection along with some seasonal sweet treats and a pot of tea.
Tremendous value for 21.50 euro ( normally 16.50 ) for 2 people.
Always enjoy staying or visiting the Hilton - whichever country we are in - Malta Hilton appears to be a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XodaSnit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear Kiarainn

Greetings from Hilton Malta!
Thank you very much for your comments. Our food and beverage team join me in thanking you and look forward to have the pleasure to see you again at our hotel.

Kindest regards
Anne Marie Scicluna
Hilton Malta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Good location. A little faded and impersonal, would not go back but not a disaster. Wke up in the morning and room could be anywhere in the world with ' formula fittings and furniture'. O.K. but not on my main list to visit again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graham044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear graham044

I am very sorry to read that we have not lived up to our name and provided you with a great stay! I would be very interested in determining more specifically the nature of your concerns and kindly ask you to contact me on annemarie.scicluna@hilton.com with further details.

I look forward to hear from you.
In the mean time, I wish you a great year ahead!

Kind regards
Anne Marie Scicluna
Hilton Malta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,005 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
8.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#8 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,675 reviews
0.5 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#9 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,272 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Malta

Address: Portomaso, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta PTM 01, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: £89 - £364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the prestigious Portomaso development within the fashionable district of St. Julian’s, the Hilton Malta hotel has come to represent the style, comfort and hospitality for which the Hilton brand is renowned. Standing as a centrepiece of the coastline and an intrinsic part of the Tumas Group’s flagship design, Hilton Malta sits comfortably alongside Portomaso Business Tower, the Residences and Yacht Marina in one of the most exciting and dynamic property developments anywhere in the Mediterranean. With remarkable views of the Mediterranean, the 410 rooms and suites available offer the discerning guest unrivalled relaxation and comfort. All the hotels rooms and suites have a Mediterranean décor with eith a balcony or terrace overlooking the prestigious Portomaso Yacht Marina or offer spectacular views of the Mediterranean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hilton Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Hilton Saint Julians
Hilton Saint Julian's
Hilton Hotel Malta
Saint Julian's Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing