We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not 5*”
Review of Hilton Malta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Malta
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
west sussex
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not 5*”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Booking a twin room did not guarantee it! Bed preferences are noted notwithstanding the ability to book a room with 1 or 2 beds and allocations made just before arrival i.e. the day before. The older rooms do not have AC unless the centrally managed system is turned on i.e. from warm to cold plus 20 is the lowest even with AC. A lot of construction going on around the Marina

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank martimarti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marika_121, Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear Martimarti

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear you were disatisfied in some areas during your stay with us back in April.

We do hope you consider visiting us again in order to make it up to you.

Warm regards

Marika
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,024
    1,052
    272
    79
    52
See reviews for
1,063
2,019
171
591
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (991)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2014

A very enjoyable stay at this excellent hotel. The staff were all incredibly friendly and helpful, prepared to go the extra mile. We stayed in an Executive Room which was well worth paying for to access the Executive Lounge, free wifi, drinks, snacks and canapes. Blue Elephant restaurant was fabulous - setting, food and service. Hotel is very convenient for getting to Valletta and Sliema. Concierge service was excellent - nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Stephen H

Thank you for your time!
We are very happy to have provided you with an enjoyable stay and look forward to have the pleasure to welcome you back very soon!

Kind regards
Anne Marie Scicluna
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The hotel was extremely clean, and the beds were so wide and comfortable. We stayed in two bedrooms: the DELUXE KING MARINA VIEW and the EXECUTIVE KING GARDEN VIEW, I can't remember the reason why we were upgraded their was some sort of complication, the first one was big and spacious but extremely dated and the second one was lovely modernly decorated with a massive bathroom which I think is wasted because the living space was tiny you couldn't walk around the bed you had to push chairs out the way. The service varied from time to time sometimes it was lovely but others it was terrible, the pools were clean but sometimes had bits of sand in it. The breakfast was lovely the omelettes especially. Dinner was slightly disappointing as it wasn't as good and it seemed to be pretty much the same stuff every day. The quarter deck bar was lovely, the staff are very friendly and the atmosphere was great. The view of the garden is lovely, it's so pretty. The indoor pool was lovely and the gym is brilliant would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Eat out for dinner don't bother with the restaurant for dinner you won't be losing out on an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Sam B

Thank you for taking the time to share your observations about your stay at Hilton Malta. Such comments help us to focus on areas were attention is needed.
We take great pride in providing our guests with the highest standards of service and cuisine and I am extremely sorry that on this occasion we failed to meet your expectations.

I do hope that overall you enjoyed a comfortable and pleasant stay with us and look forward to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards
Anne Marie Scicluna
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed at the Hilton for seven days in April. The staff are superbly trained. We watched every day to see if we could spot a crack in their service, but it never happened. Such treatment helps to ensure an excellent stay.
Perhaps the breakfast (particularly the bacon) could do with a better eye cast over it at times, but that is looking for flaws.
The room was always immaculately cleaned and prepared.
Taking membership of the Executive Club gave an extra touch of luxury to our stay.

Room Tip: The higher the view, the better view of the sea or marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Rod W

Impeccable service with a "smile" is one of our mottos!
We are very happy to note that your stay was a perfect one.

Thank you also for sharing your observations with us. I will it turn discuss this with our Executive Chef for his immediate attention.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for many more times!
Kind regards

Anne Marie Scicluna
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
492 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

An excellent hotel at the right location, the Portomaso neighborhood being by far the most attractive part of the St.Julian-Paceville-Spinola Bay area. Despite it being 14 years old, the hotel is maintained to a high standard. Not only the rooms, but all facilities such as pools, wellness area, gym, restaurants are inviting and well kept. Service is excellent, particularly that of two of the concierges, namely Mario and Eduardo.
The only note of caution - should you have a rental car, there is no choice but to use the Portomaso parking facility (free for hotel guests), which is sub-standard.
All in all, the Hilton has my vote as the best hotel in Malta, bar none.

Room Tip: Get a room with a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GranZorro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear GranZorro

Thank you for your time.
Your kind comments about my colleagues Mario and Edward have been shared with our human resources department so that they will in turn recognise their very good work.

I agree with you that the Portomaso Carpark is slightly challenging, so for next time we will make sure to offer you our valet services which are free for our loyal guests.

I thank you once again and look forward to welcome you back very soon!
Kind regards

Anne Marie Scicluna
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We had a great stay at the hilton over Easter our room was lovely and it was cleaned every day of our stay to a high stranded the staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was very good we could not of asked for a better hotel and we hope to return soon

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lancashire2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Lancashire2014

Thank you for choosing to send your Easter Holidays with us at Hilton Malta.
We are very happy that you had a lovely stay and look forward to have the pleasure to welcome you back for many more times!

Kind regarrds
Anne Marie Scicluna
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I stayed at the Hilton for 4 days over the Easter break - and although the weather was variable - the hotel - its staff couldnt have been better.
I also had the Easter sunday banquet which again I have to say was totally out of this world
I had a standard marina view room which was lovely - the only thing I would say is that I think having to pay for wi-fi in your room is poor

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morris100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Morris 100

Thank you for coming back and for choosing to stay one more time with us!
It is a pleasure to assist and welcome loyal guests as yourself.

Your comments with regards to paying for internet will be taken on board and reviewed for any possible changes.

We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back for many more times!
Kind regards from Sunny Malta

Anne Marie Scicluna
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.1 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,790 reviews
8.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.9 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.3 mi away
Hotel Juliani
Hotel Juliani
#2 of 32 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Malta

Property: Hilton Malta
Address: Portomaso, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta PTM 01, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the prestigious Portomaso development within the fashionable district of St. Julian’s, the Hilton Malta hotel has come to represent the style, comfort and hospitality for which the Hilton brand is renowned. Standing as a centrepiece of the coastline and an intrinsic part of the Tumas Group’s flagship design, Hilton Malta sits comfortably alongside Portomaso Business Tower, the Residences and Yacht Marina in one of the most exciting and dynamic property developments anywhere in the Mediterranean. With remarkable views of the Mediterranean, the 410 rooms and suites available offer the discerning guest unrivalled relaxation and comfort. All the hotels rooms and suites have a Mediterranean décor with eith a balcony or terrace overlooking the prestigious Portomaso Yacht Marina or offer spectacular views of the Mediterranean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Hilton Saint Julians
Hilton Saint Julian's
Hilton Hotel Malta
Saint Julian's Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing