We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Hotel in an Excellent Location”
Review of Hilton Malta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Malta
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Superb Hotel in an Excellent Location”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We have just returned from our second visit to this hotel and it won’t be our last.
The rooms are large and well maintained with lovely views. We had a harbour view which gave us a lovely sunny balcony in the afternoon. The breakfast buffet was fresh, had variety each day and eggs made to order. (Omelettes were excellent). The pool area is kept clean and there was always sunbeds available. There are also plenty of sun umbrellas for when it gets too hot. The pool was a bit chilly and would benefit from a bit of heating in these early months. All the staff are very friendly and helpful. We did experience a couple of small problem, which I would not have mentioned except to say that I was really impressed by the Duty Manager -Yiannis Paraskevas , who was very approachable and resolved the issues in a very professional and timely manner. This is definitely one of the finest hotels that my husband and I have stayed in on the Mediterranean and would recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shirleyk860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Shirley K,

Thank you!
Thank you for your kind words. We were very happy to read that your second visit in our hotel has been an excellent once.

We are also glad, that even though you encountered some minor issues, you were content with our immediate response.

My colleague Yiannis wanted to pass his thanks and is glad to have been of assistance during your stay!

We look forward to have the pleasure to welcome you for the third and many more visits.
Kind regards

Anne Marie Scicluna
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,128
    1,074
    278
    82
    53
See reviews for
1,101
2,074
179
607
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,008)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The good news is that this hotel is in a great location, near to Valetta, ideal for the nearby marina, and very well appointed. The pool area is good and there are two pools to choose from and also an indoor pool. The staff are helpful and courteous. So what are the downsides? Only one, no free wifi in the room. Quite disappointing that you have to pay 45 euro for five days worth of wifi if you want it in the room. Poor show Hilton

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear Mike H

Thank you very much for your time and comments
We are very sorry that your Hilton Malta experience did not live up to your expectations.

Your comments are highly appreciated and will be shared with the Operations Team for their immediate attention.

We do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back for many more times!
Kind regards

Anne Marie Scicluna
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaasa, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

This was my first visit to Malta and arriving at the hotel I instantly liked it. The room was spacious with a big balcony overlooking the absolutely beautiful pool area and the sea. Breakfast was nice with plenty to choose from and with very helpful personnel. Wifi was rather pricey (only free on the lobby area) but worked fine. My favourite part was however the sports facilities. The gym was the biggest and most well equipped I have come across at a hotel so far, which also made it rather popular amongst the guest (at least in the mornings). Plenty of room and windows and a working air con. There also was an indoor pool that actually was big enough to actually swim in. The hotel apparently also had a tennis court and a spin studio. Located in an area with several restaurants, there was plenty to choose from at dinner as well. Good choice whether you are travelling on business or on pleasure.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Linda N

Thank you for your time!
Am very happy that you had to time to enjoy and use our hotel facilities.
Yes the hotel is also equipped with Tennis court, squash court and Spinning studio. These are all included for free for our guests to use.

We are glad that your first visit to Malta and to our hotel has lived up to your expectations and do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back for many more visits.
Thank you once again!

Kind regards
Anne Marie Scicluna
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eilat, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Visited Octobet 2012, executive room on 9th floor.

Great location, full mirror elevator, great room, gorgeous view, excellent food, friendly and helpful staff - need to say more? I'd definitely recommend this hotel to my friends (has already done that).

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ilya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear IIya G

Thank you!
We are very happy to note that your stay in our hotel was a perfect one and thank you also for recommending us to your friends.
Our main aim is to maintain the very highest levels of service possible and to meet every expectation of each one of our guests and we are glad to have succeeded once again!

We look forward to welcome you all in the near future!
Kindest regards from all of us

Anne Marie Scicluna
Guest Relations
Hilton Malta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Before visiting Malta, I had no idea of the richness in history and architecture of this place. Valetta, the Hypogeum and beautiful ancient temples are well worth seeing. Malta's people are very friendly and helpful in every way.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank 719gabriellab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marika_121, Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear 719gabriellab,

Thank you for choosing Hilton Malta whilst visiting Malta and thank you for the warm comments regarding the Maltese people and our history.

We hope you consider visiting Malta again, as we look forward to welcome you back!

Warm Regards

Marika
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bugibba, Malta
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I stayed in this hotel in February 2011 with my parents and grandparents. We were looked after with excellent service and I have very little negative to say about this hotel! The location is perfect, looking over the marina onto all the beautiful boats.
First of all, on arrival my room was not ready as the gentleman occupying the room had not left yet. when I returned an hour later, the gentleman had decided to keep the room another night so the hotel upgraded me to a corner suite for the inconvenience. My room was out of this world! A separate living room with a flat screen tv and a door to the balcony, sliding doors into a large bedroom with a super king size (the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in!) and a large bathroom with a bath, shower and double sink. The bedroom also had a flat screen tv and a door to the balcony. The only problem with the corner suite is that you don't get much of a view but I never spend much time on the balcony anyway! My only negative about this hotel is that I am aware that the maids clean the room glasses in the sink. I personally feel that glasses should be cleaned properly in a dish washer for hygiene purposes. I think its best that the hotel management looks into this because I know that other guests would make a much bigger issue out of this if they saw it themselves.
Another memorable thought about my trip was that one day my grandfather forgot which was his room and he got lost trying to find one of us. A member of the staff found him wandering the corridors and I was so grateful that she stayed with him until I luckily found them.
The rest of the staff were just as great, being friendly and helpful.
As it was February, the weather was not suitable for using the outdoor pool however I took full advantage of the relaxing spa facilities and indoor pool. I also recommend you try the spa treatments to really give you that luxury feeling!
The food was delicious and the Blue Elephant restaurant was our favourite, providing an authentic service!
I would like to say that some reviews on here have not been fair towards the hotel. I feel that some people have been spoiled by what other 5 star hotels offer. There a fine line between offering excellent service and baby sitting the guests. This hotel offers excellent service and I think that anyone who feels that this hotel is not 5 star standard should go to a child minders for a week instead!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Char2711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Char2711,

Thank you very much for your kind comments!
It was our pleasure to assist both your grandfather and yourself. I am glad that you enjoyed the much deserved upgrade to one of our suites.

Char2711, I already took the liberty and forwarded your comments to our Executive Housekeeper for her attention. We are thankful for your observations and will do the necessary to improve the services we provide.

I thank you once again and do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to Hilton Malta for many more visits

Kind regards
Anne Marie Scicluna
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I stayed here with my wife for a long weekend in early May. Our flight arrived late evening, and after a few G&Ts on the flight I perhaps wasn't at my most incisive. so when the check-in clerk asked if they should block just the room on my credit card I replied yes; she didn't explain (as were to subsequently discover) that would mean we couldn't sign for anything in the hotel or even open the minibar! The room itself was spacious, with the promised sea views. The furnishings were all of a very good standard and the bed was very comfortable with good quality linen and pillows. I particularly liked the artisan-tiled floor - so much nicer than a carpet. The bathroom was of a good size and everything worked efficiently. It took me a while to work out that the air conditioning would not operate if the balcony door was open. This is completely sensible, but a sign to that effect for not totally alert arrivees would have been useful. Not only could I not open the mini bar (and didn't then know why), but I was offended by the large sign stuck to it's front which said that a charge of €25 would be added to the room bill if anyone had the temerity to move the contents of the mini bar to accommodate a bought-elsewhere item. This I thought extremely small-minded. We spent very little time in the hotel other than to sleep, but on our final night decided to give the buffet dinner a go. We were miffed to be told we had to sit in the dark and rather gloomy area that was in theory for customers ordering from the a la carte Italian menu, rather than the much more bright, light and open area beside the glass wall to the pool area but decided to proceed anyway. Big mistake! Most dishes were sad and not particularly tasty - typical low-end buffet fare, but I had expected better from Hilton. Very little tasted like it had been made with love. The notable exception was the soup which was piping hot and delicious. My wife was very pleased with the selection of cheeses available, but overall we regretted not going somewhere else. The worst part of the meal experience was when, having gone to bed, there was a knock at the door, and we were told we shouldn't have signed for the bill on our room, and would have to pay for it by credit card there and then. Not only was this embarrassing, but I found it offensive that having made the 'error' and allowed us to sign on the room, they could not wait until we checked out the following morning to pay for the meal. This hotel presents itself as a high-end hotel, so it seems strange they choose to treat their guests as if they are low-life!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Shane999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marika_121, Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear Shane999

Thank you for your constructive feedback. I am sorry to read that you were disappointed in some areas during your stay with us last May.

We truly hope you consider staying with us again in order to make it up to you and make sure you have an excellent stay with us.

Warm REgards

Marika
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
8.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
3,915 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.5 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,194 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Malta

Property: Hilton Malta
Address: Portomaso, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta PTM 01, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the prestigious Portomaso development within the fashionable district of St. Julian’s, the Hilton Malta hotel has come to represent the style, comfort and hospitality for which the Hilton brand is renowned. Standing as a centrepiece of the coastline and an intrinsic part of the Tumas Group’s flagship design, Hilton Malta sits comfortably alongside Portomaso Business Tower, the Residences and Yacht Marina in one of the most exciting and dynamic property developments anywhere in the Mediterranean. With remarkable views of the Mediterranean, the 410 rooms and suites available offer the discerning guest unrivalled relaxation and comfort. All the hotels rooms and suites have a Mediterranean décor with eith a balcony or terrace overlooking the prestigious Portomaso Yacht Marina or offer spectacular views of the Mediterranean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Hilton Saint Julians
Hilton Saint Julian's
Hilton Hotel Malta
Saint Julian's Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing