We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a great location and great concierge”
Review of Hilton Malta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Malta
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed for a long weekend at the Hilton in St. Julian's in Malta. Lovely hotel. Great location with easy access to many visit worthy sites. Mario, the concierge was incredible and made our stay by organizing everything we needed from last minute requests for guided tours to restaurant reservations and surprise flower delivery. He made our stay even more special.

Breakfast in the executive lounge was quite sad and it is incredible that in this time and age the hotel charges for wi-fi from clients, even in the executive rooms!!!

Room Tip: Executive floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aneela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Aneela,

Thank you very much for your kind words.
Mario is know in this hotel for being very effecient in assisting guest's needs. He will certainly be recognised for his very good work!

On another note, your comments on the executive lounge will be shared with the team for their immediate attention. I do hope that this did not affect the enjoyment of your stay and look forward to have the pleasure to welcome you back very soon!

Kind regards
Anne Marie Scicluna
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,886)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,084 - 2,090 of 4,888 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

This is an excellent hotel for holidays and business alike.
Before going to Malta, I was hesitating between booking at the Hilton or another hotel in St Julian's, which has a very good rating on TripAdvisor, too. The price was approximately the same, and in the end, I opted for the Hilton, because it is by the seaside and you have a whole variety of leisure facilities. I did not regret my choice. You have different swimming pools, inside and outside, a full blown fitness club - I loved the yoga classes - and in general everything you need for a good vacation.
The service is first class, breakfast is great - every day, you get a different Maltese speciality on the buffet - the offer in the executive lounge is excellent. The airport transfer we had booked directly with the hotel worked out perfectly fine.
We were in the modern, more design part of the hotel and only caught a glimpse of the other rooms, and I suspect the more traditional rooms are not as nice as the one we were in. But then, taste in furniture is very subjective, others might prefer the more traditional one to the modern design.
We had a great week there and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunstar1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Sunstar1019

Thank you!
Thank you for choosing to stay in our hotel!
We are very pleased that your trip to our hotel was an "excellent" one and do look foward to have the pleasure to welcome you back for many more visits!

Should you need any assistance with regards to future bookings, do not hesitate to contact me directly

Kind regards from the Hilton Malta Team

Anne Marie Scicluna
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

The best hotel in Malta, but rather expensive hotel. Very good cusine of the hotel restaurant. Possibilities of usage several pools and go to the seaside. Small problem with taxi at 11-12 am. There is good supermarket near the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Alexey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Alexey P

Thank you very much for staying with us. We are very pleased to note that we have been rated as the best hotel in Malta.

May I kindly also ask you to contact me directly as I wish to have a better understanding on the taxi issue. My email address is annemarie.scicluna@hilton.com

I look forward to hear from you!
Kind regards

Anne Marie Scicluna
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Not like dubai.... But for malta is enough!!! Beautiful view from penthouse suite... Clean. I spent only one night couldnt see everything. I suggest to eat PARTHENOPE RESTAURANT ST JULIEN PACEVILLE AVENUE 33 cery good fish

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Princeamhedalfallael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Princeamhedalfall..

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hilton Malta whilst on our island.
We are glad that your short stay was a good one and do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back for many more times.

Kind regards
Anne Marie Scicluna
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This hotel on the water is a gem! The rooms are spacious and comfortable and we were fortunate to have an water view. We had the breakfast buffet, which was varied and tasty. The pizza we ordered at the pool was quite good too.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rollerboard20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Rollerboard20

Thank you!
It is a pleasure to read that your stay in our hotel was a perfect one and look forward to have the pleasure to welcome you back very soon!

Kind regards from Sunny Malta
Anne marie Scicluna
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Stayed at Hilton Malta for a weekend break and I can say that the hotel is nice to stay in with a good service. I was pleasantly surprised that the service is very acceptable but the only thing that was lacking is that you are not presented with bedroom slippers unless you are staying in a suite, for which you have to pay more. The hotel has a very nice recption with a nice view of the Oceana Restaurant and the pool outside. The indoor pool was nice too. A lift takes you down to Portomasa for a nice stroll along the marina and reastaurants are there if you feel hungry.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vince a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Vince a
Thank you very much for your time!

I am very sorry that your weekend break at the Hilton Malta did not live up to and did not meet your expectations. I have shared your observations with our Executive Housekeeper for her attention and any possible changes.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for many more visits!
kind regards from Sunny Malta

Anne Marie Scicluna
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This was our 1st trip to Malta and I had always wanted to stay at the Hilton.

We checked in about midnight , check in procedure was quite swift. Room was on same level as reception and had good sea views.

Room was large, ample storage , had a safe, fridge though this was fully stocked as mini bar so little room for anything of your own, kettle, TV and good size balcony.

Breakfast - you were actually shown to a table which was a nice touch and served tea or coffee and there was the usual bread, pastries, fruits, yogurts, omelette station, and cooked sausages, bacon etc to choose from.

Pools - there is one indoor and 4 outdoor, however we soon learnt the beach club with 2 pools, restaurant and toilets were not open until June which was a pity as that is as near to the sea as you can get . We used the pool in the quite haven and it was really nice and not as crowded as the larger family pool.

All in all the hotel was lovely, very friendly and efficient staff, rooms and all areas very clean it is however also a business hotel so often during our stay a bar or restaurant was closed to the public because of a conference or a wedding. I felt the 5 star touches were lacking when we arrived we were asked if we wanted somebody to take our bags to our room - normally it would just happen. We had a complimentary bottle of water in the room - very nice thank you but in other 5 star hotels that has been accompanied by a half bottle of wine, fruit bowl and even a plate of sandwiches for late check in guests. There was also no turn down service. Not major points but bearing in mind the cost of this hotel I would have expected these additional finishing touches.

Location - it is in a great location overlooking the marina and within a 5 minute walk you have shops, restaurants, and a supermarket only a few minutes from hotel ( turn right at the road at bottom of cafe Portimasso road) and also a bus stop 1.5 Euro for a full days pass they are great.

Evening meals - we used to dine at one of the many restaurants overlooking Spinola Bay at night, all restaurants had a good choice, pasta, pizza, burgers, salads etc and were not overpriced.

The walk into Sliema is nice and takes about 20 min to get to start of town. We also visited Gozo which is a must, Valetta and the Medina whilst here all to be recommended.

Cats - there are a lot of cats around and as a cat lover I was delighted to see some shelters with food and drink had been set up at various places on the islands for them.

The Sunspot/Mercury Rep Johnathan was great we had a short welcome meeting with him on the morning after arrival and he gave his some helpful pointers about Island eg you can use their tap water, he also advised us where the bus stops were and what number of buses to use (11 &12) for Valetta I seem to recall. So a refreshing change from some of the hard sell meetings I have previously experienced. We booked the trip to Gozo with him and saw a lot in a short space of time.

All in all it was a good holiday, if I returned (still plenty of things to see) it would be a little later in the season as it was not as hot as I would have liked & the evenings were very cool. I would stay at the Hilton again if I saw a good deal but would consider some other hotels too, I do not feel we got value for money on this particular trip due to things being closed and those 5 star finishing touches being missing.

Room Tip: We were in 546, near reception and therefore main exit, great view but they did hold wedding parties...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear HJM,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your first experience at Hilton Malta in such detail. I am very sorry that you left the hotel less that satisfied with the services you recieved. Every little detail counts and I promise you that wherever improvement is possible, I will make sure that it is done.

Should we be given the opportunity to welcome you back and have a chance to restore your faith in use, i kindly ask you to contact me directly as I would personally want to make sure that your future stay be flawless.

My email address is annemarie.scicluna@hilton.com
Thank you once again for your time! I do hope to hear from you

Kind regards
Anne Marie Scicluna
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,087 reviews
0.5 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,360 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#8 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,735 reviews
8.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.9 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Malta

Address: Portomaso, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta PTM 01, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: £75 - £294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 413
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the prestigious Portomaso development within the fashionable district of St. Julian’s, the Hilton Malta hotel has come to represent the style, comfort and hospitality for which the Hilton brand is renowned. Standing as a centrepiece of the coastline and an intrinsic part of the Tumas Group’s flagship design, Hilton Malta sits comfortably alongside Portomaso Business Tower, the Residences and Yacht Marina in one of the most exciting and dynamic property developments anywhere in the Mediterranean. With remarkable views of the Mediterranean, the 413 rooms and suites available offer the discerning guest unrivaled relaxation and comfort. All the hotels rooms and suites have a Mediterranean décor with either a balcony or terrace overlooking the prestigious Portomaso Yacht Marina or offer spectacular views of the Mediterranean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hilton Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Hilton Saint Julians
Hilton Saint Julian's
Hilton Hotel Malta
Saint Julian's Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing