We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing room and view - eventually!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Malta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Malta
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amazing room and view - eventually!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed here the last two days of our holiday - bit disappointed with our arrival, no porter to help with the luggage and nobody offered to take the car. We arrived early 12.30 and were advised someone would check to see how long it would be before our room was ready - after about 20 mins of waiting we asked again, the room wasn't ready so we asked for our bags to be looked after - this wasn't offered. Check in we were told is usually about 2pm so surprised that we only managed to be allocated our room at 4.30. We booked one of their newly refurbished EXECUTIVE KING SEA VIEW rooms which was really lovely HOWEVER, yes you could see the sea you also looked straight at all the other balconies - only privacy is if you closed the curtains. As this was our last two days I felt quite annoyed as I had wasted a lot of the day waiting to be given my room only to find I didn't like it - we asked if there was an alternative to which we were told the hotel was fully booked. With that I looked on bookings.com and found that I could book a relaxation room (more cost that I was happy to pay) and that there were 3 available !! We called reception and mentioned this and they said they would offer one of these rooms but we were not finally settled until 7.30pm. In fairness the Hilton did offer this room discounted and for that we are grateful but it did take an awful long time. ON A GOOD note, the room was amazing, just sea views a beautiful balcony and we even had a balcony from the bathroom ( we were told this is the only room like it) The hotel has an awful lot of space and facilities and other than our bad start I would definitely go again should I return to Malta.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JJQ1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear JJQ1965,

Thank you for the time taken and please do accept our sincere apologies for not making your stay right for when you walked in our hotel. The experience you mentioned about your welcome did not reflect our five star guest experience but I am very glad to read your last line which stated that "definitely go again should I return to Malta".

Should we have this opportunity to welcome you back, please do email me directly as I wish to make it perfect from the check in to the check out stage.

Kind regards
Anne Marie Scicluna
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,920
    1,030
    265
    75
    48
See reviews for
1,024
1,961
164
568
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (974)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Meopham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Just sitting at Luqa airport on our way home having had a weeks stay at the Hilton. All the staff from the waiting staff and the room maids to the duty managers were polite friendly and helpful. We were upgraded to a sea view which was lovely to wake up to each morning. The breakfasts were very good. My only grievance is that you have to pay for wi-fi. In other hotels we have stayed at, you pay for this service in your room but it is free in specific public areas. I was surprised that this does not appear to be the case at the Hilton.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Patricia H,

Thank you veyr much for your time. We are pleased to have provided you with a "restful" stay. Thank you also for your kind words on the Hilton Malta Team.

Yes, as yet we offer free wifi in the public areas but against payment in the rooms. This is also being revised and any possible changes will be in place shortly.

We do hope that this was the first of your many visits to Hilton Malta.

Kind regards
Anne Marie Scicluna
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Cannot fault the Hilton Malta, what you would expect from a Hilton, staff so friendly and helpful, room lovely, facilities good, price great for staying, drinks a bit dear but would stay again when in Malta. Close to airport, 21 euros for a taxi, lots of reasonable bars/ restuarants nearby, ones by hotel pricey, pools great, and concierge very helpful with excursions. Shops at bay hotel good, but more at Tigre point. There's even a cinema with all films in English, 12 screens 5 minute walk, ideal for evening after nice meal.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Muggins69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Muggins69,

Good Morning and thank you for your kind words! I am very happy that the services we have provided you with have met your expectations and look forward to have the pleasure to welcome you back very soon!

Kind regards
Anne Marie Scicluna
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Lovely in every way - food service ambience everything in fact. Our only criticism is use of the exec lounge. Hilton kindly provide this facility for afternoon tea and pre dinner drinks and nibbles. Sadly a lot of people act like ganets and in particular use the pre dinner drinks and nibbles as their main meal piling their plates high and returning for more and more and more quite sickening to watch as well as drinking to excess the complimentary alcohol beverages kindly supplied by Hilton.

Room Tip: They are all ver y good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahI661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear SarahI661,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at Hilton Malta.
We are very happy that you had a lovely stay.

With regards to your comments on the executive lounge, I have asked the Executive Team to monitor the situation. Thank you once again for bringing the matter to our attention.

We look forward to have the pleasure to welcome you back very soon!
Kind regards

Anne Marie Scicluna
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We had an excellent week in June, hotel remembered my birthday & provided a quality bottle of red wine. Refurbishments to the Merkanti Beach Club had been completed since our last visit, a major improvement.
Staff, as always were very attentive & efficient, if you have any issues all you need to do is ask. Every hotel will have problems but it is in the way that the Malta Hilton resolves these problems that makes it stand out for us.
We are back in September for 2 weeks, can't wait!!


Merkanti

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skiclub11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear skiclub11

Thank you!
The message you have placed is highly appreciated!

Yes, we are in the hotel business and in hospitality one needs to be on top of all BUT if ever anything happens to our guests, whilst staying with us, we strive to do our best to resolve and rectify the situation as fast and as effecient as possible. It is our main focus to see that our guest are happy with the services we provide!

We thank you once again for returning to our hotel and look forward to have the pleasure to see you very soon!

Kind regards
Anne Marie Scicluna
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Myself and my partner were overwhelmed with the hotel and staff. Excellent room fantastic breakfast. Pools were all great something for all ages. Restaurants in the hotel complex were of a high grade specially Blue Elephant.
The views and local amenities were all great
I would recommend this hotel to anyone, well done to all at hilton malta

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Tyeams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Tyeams,

Good Morning from the Hilton Malta Teama and thank you for your kind words!
We are very happy that your stay in our hotel was an excellent one.

We do hope that this stay was the first of many more visits!
Kind regards

Anne Marie Scicluna
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Great holiday but spoilt by sea view obstructed by trees also rooms(2) not ready untill 3pm on arrival will return in September for our 4th visit hope these faults will be rectified by then just 1 other small issue bathrooms in need of upgrading

Room Tip: Not room 725 can't see the sea due to the trees
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear John S,

Thank you very much for your comments.
I thank you for your loyalty towards Hilton Malta.

Dear John S, may I kindly ask you to contact me directly prior to your next visit in September so that I personally make sure that your stay is flawless.

I look forward to hear from you!
Kind regards

Anne Marie Scicluna
Guest Relations
Hilton Malta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.1 mi away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,734 reviews
8.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.9 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
0.3 mi away
Hotel Juliani
Hotel Juliani
#2 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Malta

Property: Hilton Malta
Address: Portomaso, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta PTM 01, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the prestigious Portomaso development within the fashionable district of St. Julian’s, the Hilton Malta hotel has come to represent the style, comfort and hospitality for which the Hilton brand is renowned. Standing as a centrepiece of the coastline and an intrinsic part of the Tumas Group’s flagship design, Hilton Malta sits comfortably alongside Portomaso Business Tower, the Residences and Yacht Marina in one of the most exciting and dynamic property developments anywhere in the Mediterranean. With remarkable views of the Mediterranean, the 410 rooms and suites available offer the discerning guest unrivalled relaxation and comfort. All the hotels rooms and suites have a Mediterranean décor with eith a balcony or terrace overlooking the prestigious Portomaso Yacht Marina or offer spectacular views of the Mediterranean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Hilton Saint Julians
Hilton Saint Julian's
Hilton Hotel Malta
Saint Julian's Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing