We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with excellent staff”
Review of Hilton Malta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Malta
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Have just returned from a 7 night stay with my daughter. We both really enjoyed the holiday and were impressed with the hotel. On arrival we were told they only had a king sized bed available, we had booked a twin room so were not too pleased, after pointing this out a twin bed room was found for us, not quite sure why it wasn't offered in the first place. I was a little concerned as our room was very close to the reception and public areas, but noise was not an issue except for the Saturday night when there was a wedding on and noise was an issue for anyone with a room near the pools! As I was on holiday I was quite relaxed about the very intrusive noise from the band, don't know if it would be the same if we had had an early start the next day.
Apart from this, the beds and pillows were very comfortable so conducive to a good nights sleep. The room and balcony were spacious, the bathroom was somewhat dated but all worked well even if the shower was not very powerful.
Breakfast was good with plenty of choice. We had dinner at the hotel most nights trying all the restaurants. The Blue Elephant was our favourite (reviewed separately). Throughout the hotel the waiting staff in particular were very friendly and helpful.
We would definitley return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank jamly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear jamly,

Thank you very much for your comments about your stay with us, Hilton Malta!
I am very sorry that we did not pay attention to detail with regards to the room / bed prefernce but am very happy that we were able to accomodate and rectify this mistake in due time.

Should we have the pleasure to welcome you back, please do email me on annemarie,scicluna@hilton.com so that i personally take care of your room allocation and make sure that your holiday is flawless!

Kind regards
Anne Marie Scicluna
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,759)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Malta
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,943 - 1,949 of 4,759 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

We researched all hotels in the St Julian's area before our trip for a week.
We are glad we chose the Hilton.Its a great location and well run with very friendly staff.
There are four pools with plenty of space,several restaurants including two pool side restaurants.The health club is first class with an indoor pool ,squash courts ,gym,sauna,steam room and tennis court.
We would return to this Hilton

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank ManxManandWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nevise W, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Guests,

On behalf of the Hilton Malta Team, thank you very much for your review. Makes us all feel great to hear our guests have enjoyed their stay with us as the continual monitoring of guest satisfaction is vital for our continued success.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kindest Regards,
Nevise Webb.
Guest Relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Our first "family" holiday in 44 years and we decided on the Hilton in Malta, main reason being that neither of the 4 couples in our family group had been there previously and the flying time suited us. We arrived at around 1145 and was pleasantly surprised to find that all 4 rooms were ready for occupation. Whilst they were not next door they were close enough and we had not requested adjoining so everyone was happy with that. The rooms were Marina view on 5th floor and had no complaints from any of us. We booked on a half board basis and the restaurants once explained to us how they worked provided a good variety based on different "themed" nights. we did experience confusion as to where and when we booked for our evening meal to the extent that on the third night of not being booked (according to the hotel staff) and being as he was passing I had a conversation with the hotel's General Manager (Mathew Mullen) and had no problems after that. If we were to return to Malta in the future then we would definitely choose to stay in the Hilton again.

Room Tip: The Marina view rooms suited us fine and if you prefer quiet then that was provided.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank lhollydene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear JuLarry,

Thank you!
We are sorry for any confusion caused with regards to your half baord entitlement. We do hope that this "issue" did not affect the enjoyment of your whole stay and look forward to have the pleasure to welcome you back for the second and for many more visits!

On Behalf of our General Manager and the Hilton Malta Team, thank you once again for choosing to stay in our hotel.

Kind regards

Anne Marie Scicluna
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My husband and I went on our second visit at the Hilton Malta at the beginning of July. We arrived in the evening and were greeted by very pleasant and helpful staff.
When we arrived at our room we were pleasantly surprised as the Front Desk Manager (Alastair) had ensured that we had a similar room to last year - it was amazing! It was a corner room, huge with two balconies: one overlooking the pool and sea and one the marina and harbour. The views are fantastic! We were both impressed with the extra special customer care we received and were made to feel special.
Breakfast was to the same high standard of any other Hilton, with a great choice and something available for everyone.
There is a varied choice of restaurants to eat during the evening and previous reviews have suggested that it was cheaper to eat outside the hotel. Personally it depends on what you want to eat and how you want to dine - on this visit we went back to The Blue Elephant restaurant, which was a wonderful experience and the food quality, service and value for money were excellent. I would definitely recommend the Blue Elephant.
I think it is important to say that all the hotel colleagues we spoke to, were very pleasant, helpful with a 'nothing is too much trouble' attitude - can't wait to return to this hotel again next year!
Thank you for a lovely holiday.

Room Tip: Try an book a corner room or one overlooking the marina.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LIZ W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nevise W, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Guests,

'Fantastic' review and warmest of greetings from the Hilton Malta team.Thank you for choosing to stay with us once more and for you marvellous comments . When our guests are happy and content it makes all our efforts worth while.
We look forward to welcome you back for your 3rd visit, anytime soon? It would be our pleasure!

Kindest Regards,
Nevise Webb.
Guest Relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We have been to this hotel before and it was excellent. Returned and it didn't disappoint again. Everything we wanted was there. Location is spot on for Spinola Bay. The hotel itself is lovely. The staff are all polite and friendly without exception. Nothing is too much trouble. It's not cheap but then is any five star hotel. Based with all the information I have, will I stay at this hotel again? Definitely. Looking forward to it already.

Room Tip: Room 833. High enough to be quiet even when there is a wedding downstairs round the pool. Lovely sea...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ken A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nevise W, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you for choosing Hilton Malta once again and for your great review, especially your lovely comments on our staff. It makes all our efforts worth while. We forward to greeting you again in the near future!

Kindest Regards,
Nevise Webb.
Guest Relations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed here the last two days of our holiday - bit disappointed with our arrival, no porter to help with the luggage and nobody offered to take the car. We arrived early 12.30 and were advised someone would check to see how long it would be before our room was ready - after about 20 mins of waiting we asked again, the room wasn't ready so we asked for our bags to be looked after - this wasn't offered. Check in we were told is usually about 2pm so surprised that we only managed to be allocated our room at 4.30. We booked one of their newly refurbished EXECUTIVE KING SEA VIEW rooms which was really lovely HOWEVER, yes you could see the sea you also looked straight at all the other balconies - only privacy is if you closed the curtains. As this was our last two days I felt quite annoyed as I had wasted a lot of the day waiting to be given my room only to find I didn't like it - we asked if there was an alternative to which we were told the hotel was fully booked. With that I looked on bookings.com and found that I could book a relaxation room (more cost that I was happy to pay) and that there were 3 available !! We called reception and mentioned this and they said they would offer one of these rooms but we were not finally settled until 7.30pm. In fairness the Hilton did offer this room discounted and for that we are grateful but it did take an awful long time. ON A GOOD note, the room was amazing, just sea views a beautiful balcony and we even had a balcony from the bathroom ( we were told this is the only room like it) The hotel has an awful lot of space and facilities and other than our bad start I would definitely go again should I return to Malta.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank JJQ1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear JJQ1965,

Thank you for the time taken and please do accept our sincere apologies for not making your stay right for when you walked in our hotel. The experience you mentioned about your welcome did not reflect our five star guest experience but I am very glad to read your last line which stated that "definitely go again should I return to Malta".

Should we have this opportunity to welcome you back, please do email me directly as I wish to make it perfect from the check in to the check out stage.

Kind regards
Anne Marie Scicluna
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Just sitting at Luqa airport on our way home having had a weeks stay at the Hilton. All the staff from the waiting staff and the room maids to the duty managers were polite friendly and helpful. We were upgraded to a sea view which was lovely to wake up to each morning. The breakfasts were very good. My only grievance is that you have to pay for wi-fi. In other hotels we have stayed at, you pay for this service in your room but it is free in specific public areas. I was surprised that this does not appear to be the case at the Hilton.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Patricia H,

Thank you veyr much for your time. We are pleased to have provided you with a "restful" stay. Thank you also for your kind words on the Hilton Malta Team.

Yes, as yet we offer free wifi in the public areas but against payment in the rooms. This is also being revised and any possible changes will be in place shortly.

We do hope that this was the first of your many visits to Hilton Malta.

Kind regards
Anne Marie Scicluna
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,008 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
8.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#8 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,675 reviews
0.5 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#9 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,272 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Malta

Address: Portomaso, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta PTM 01, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range: £89 - £364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the prestigious Portomaso development within the fashionable district of St. Julian’s, the Hilton Malta hotel has come to represent the style, comfort and hospitality for which the Hilton brand is renowned. Standing as a centrepiece of the coastline and an intrinsic part of the Tumas Group’s flagship design, Hilton Malta sits comfortably alongside Portomaso Business Tower, the Residences and Yacht Marina in one of the most exciting and dynamic property developments anywhere in the Mediterranean. With remarkable views of the Mediterranean, the 410 rooms and suites available offer the discerning guest unrivalled relaxation and comfort. All the hotels rooms and suites have a Mediterranean décor with eith a balcony or terrace overlooking the prestigious Portomaso Yacht Marina or offer spectacular views of the Mediterranean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hilton EMEA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hilton Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Hilton Saint Julians
Hilton Saint Julian's
Hilton Hotel Malta
Saint Julian's Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing