We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”
Review of Hilton Malta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Malta
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

A large impersonal hotel that functions well for the large volume of guests. Lots of pools including an adult only one which is a bonus. I visited for a long weekend to find 2 of the poolside restaurants booked out on the Saturday night for weddings, leaving a buffet option or the Thai restaurant. Having booked through British Airways I selected this hotel for the location and the fact that it stated WiFi was included in the room price, on arrival I was told it was just free WiFi in the lobby despite it being printed in the room description on my voucher. The receptionist did then honour this but made the point it was a mistake and WiFi is charged for in the rooms.
Avoid the Hammam, not as authentic as a good old Morroccan one and extremely overpriced €100, yes, €100 for 55mins! All in all an average experience that is unlikely to be repeated.

Room Tip: Avoid level 3, which is pool level, very noisy music heard from the quarterdeck bar and outside musi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BlondieMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alastair_morin, Front Office Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear BlondieMo,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us on trip advisor.

I am distressed to read that some aspects of your stay did not met your expectations.

please allow me to contact you to review in more details your experience with us in order to bring the adequate improvement to the concerned area, may I ask you to contact me directly so we can further discuss the shortfall of your stay?

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us.

warm regards,

Alastair Morin
alastair.morin@hilton.com
+356 2373 3050
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,178
    1,089
    285
    82
    53
See reviews for
1,150
2,088
180
611
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,015)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Uppsala, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed for four nights. Excellent service and location. The staff was very friendly and the room was fantastic. Pool area was very nice and the breakfast service perfect! Would definitely recommend it. Only thing you could ask for would be free wifi.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rikard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Rikard S

Thank you for choosing tospend you short break with us. We are glad that you had a perfect stay and look foward to have the pleasure to welcome you back.

At present, wifi is free in our public areas but might be due for change in the very near future!
Thank you once again for your time!

Kind regards
Anne Marie Scicluna
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I have just returned from our 1st visit to sunny Malta and our 14 night stay at the Hilton was fantastic. The staff are indeed exceptional from the housekeepers to management team. They maintain a very high standard and are always willing to help in any way possible.
The hotel is in a prime location, next to the harbour and within easy walking distance to Spinola bay and Paceville. The facilities include four outdoor pools and a heated indoor pool, along with a spacious spa, sauna, steam room, and cold plunge pool.
The sports facilities include table tennis, squash courts, a tennis court and fully equipped gym.

We had a Marina view room on the 10th floor with an amazing outlook of the Marina , the room was clean and spacious with a comfortable kingsize bed. A large safe is provided for your valuables, with tea and coffee making facilities, iron and ironing board and we'll stocked mini bar.
The a la carte menu in the Oceana restaurant was 1st class, the Blue Elephant restaurant is worth a visit and The Gazebo restaurant is in a lovely romantic serving although the food could be improved. A fine selection of wine and beer's are available in all of these restaurants.
I thoroughly recommend a visit to Zeri's restaurant in the harbour (best to book a table), Caffe Portomaso just outside entrance to hotel and Da Pippo's in Valetta. See my separate reviews for these restaurants.

We had a very relaxing holiday and made many friends with the fantastic staff and friendly guests. We are very much looking forward to returning to the Hilton next summer.
Finally many thanks to all the staff that made our holiday so special.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonCrossie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear LondonCrossie,

Thank you!
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your 1st stay on the island of Malta!
We, the Hilton Malta Team, are glad to have made your holiday a "fantastic" one and look forward to see you next year!

Kind regards
Anne Marie Scicluna
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Returned this week from a week at the Hilton. It is indeed a beautiful hotel with wonderful facilities including four gorgeous outdoor pools. Service was excellent and we were very pleased to be able to use the Executive Lounge with its afternoon tea and evening drinks service. Our rooms were fabulous - a Junior suite with an interconnecting room for our two children. The rooms were in the front of the hotel facing the sea. Underneath was the Gazebo Restaurant, and herein lies the most disappointing aspect of the hotel for us. Every night live entertainment meant we were regaled til past ten (not late I know, but late enough to be irritating) by singers belting out the usual horrendous cover versions of Barry Manilow and the like. The crowning glory was Saturday evening. We were warned that there would be a wedding taking place in the hotel. In fact there were TWO weddings that evening taking place simultaneously in different parts of the hotel environs. This meant that we were treated to Barry Manilow & his pals shaking our windows from below, and what may well have been trance or rave music coming from further afield. We were defeaned until gone midnight. To be fair to the hotel, we were offered another room to sleep in for the night by a very charming Duty Manager. However, I wasn't altogether keen to uproot myself to another part of the hotel and wake up in a strange room with none of my belongings the next morning. Not part of my holiday experience. We don't expect to go to a 5* hotel and be subjected unwillingly to Butlins style entertainment. Thank heavens for World Cup football which was a distraction from the cacophony going on outside.

Food in the hotel is average. A recycled buffet every evening. We were pleased we had only pre-booked three dinners as there are many more interesting eating experiences within walking distance of the hotel. Breakfast is good.

This is a review of the hotel, not a review of Malta - suffice to say, however, we won't be returning to the island in the foreseeable future.

Room Tip: Think about your view versus noise preferences...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JECW_57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear JECW_57

Thank you for the time taken in writing a review about our hotel. Am very sorry that you left the hotel on a bad note and that your experience did not meet and exceed your expectations.
The issues and observations you mentioned in your review will soon be discussed to find a balance not to effect our inhouse guests

Once again thank you for your time and sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused
Kind regards

Anne Marie Scicluna
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We were looking forward to our first holidays in Hilton, but unfortunately returned a little disappointed. We have definitely expected more from a Hilton. The hotel looks good and has lots of good features as described in numerous reviews, but we had quite a few grievances, that individually would not be worth mentioning, but together were rather disappointing for a 5 start hotel.
The hotel looked good on the outside, but the devil was in the details. Our room was large enough for a king size bed and a child bed and still there was place for a sofa, table and a work desk. But the room was damp and after two days all our clothes were damp and smelly as well. After a complaint they applied some treatment, so it did not smell so badly, but was still quite damp. After another complaint we were offered a change for the last day, so this was quite pointless. The room was quite aged, particularly the bathroom. The toilet, although clean, was overdue for an exchange and actually failed once and needed repair. The shower was pathetic, old, low pressure and limited temperature. Executive rooms are probably worth the supplement.
We stayed on a half board basis. The breakfast was good, good selection of food for any taste. The fresh omelettes were great, but the traditional English breakfast was not so good. The dinners in Gazebo were rather disappointing. Despite the themed dinners, big part of the food was recycled and appeared several times in a row. It was prepared well in advance and therefore often lacked the freshness and crispness. The food generally looked better than it tasted. There was a poor selection of fresh vegetables and salads and very limited selection of fruit. Had much better and fresher food in 4 or even 3 star hotels before.
Service was usually good, the staff in restaurants was mostly very friendly, check in and out quick and efficient. The hotel dealt well with small repairs. However, they managed to lose a cuddle toy of our son, that he had from his birth with him and that traveled with us for 12 years. He left it on his bed and after room cleaning it was gone. The hotel tried to look for the toy in the laundry, but it was lost. This has been a huge stress and loss for us and completely spoiled several days of the holidays. On the evening the hotel brought a few packs of crisps and sweets, and from a personal initiative he got another toy from one of the hotel staff. But for the hotel, the 12 years of memories were worth a few sweets only. Rather pathetic response and again something not expected from Hilton at all.
This is not a classical holiday hotel, so there is no children club or animation. In the main area there is a large pool, a smaller pool for swimmers (but only for adults), a baby pool and a jacuzzi, plus another pool at a "beach" club. The big pool was not cleaned regularly, it was full of sand, with a slippery floor and a very warm water. Our 12 years old son was not allowed to swim in the dedicated pool, although he was with us and wanted only to swim quietly. The hotel provides towels and generally there is enough sunbeds. Nevertheless, twice we returned after lunch break to find that our sunbeds and towels were taken by other guests. Definitely did not expect that in a 5 star hotel.
In summary, we have definitely expected more from a Hilton. In our opinion it is not a suitable hotel for a beach holidays. Of course the lost toy was a major issue and we expected a better understanding from the hotel, the few sweets did not really measure to the 12 years of memories. The value for money is rather poor, the prices particularly at the pool bar are rather steep. We definitely discourage half board, this is not worth the money and would not recommend the hotel except perhaps for a business trip. We definitely won´t return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stanislav K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Stanislav K,

Thank you for sharing your experience.
I would be very gratefull if you could contact me on annemarie.scicluna@hilton.com as we have tried several times to email you but at no success.

I really look forward to hear from you as we wish to clarify and make up for any shortfalls you encountered during your stay.

Kind regards
Anne Marie Scicluna
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I have just spent 10 days here with my husband, 2 children and 11 of our friends. From the moment we arrived at 2am the staff were excellent and very welcoming, which is what you want at that time of the morning. Breakfast was great with plenty of choices, the waiting staff are very friendly. I had a party catered for at the Aqua bar and the food was superb it outdid my expectation which isn't an easy feat. Mario in concierge was fantastic as there were so many of us he organised buses and day trips with a tour guide and customised them to our needs, he truly went out of his way to make sure everything was perfect for my group. Like all hotels we did encounter a few problems but they were dealt with very quickly and efficiently. The only fault I have is the carpet in the hallways of the old part needs updating and there is a terrible smell on level 5 as you are heading to the foyer. Overall I would defiantly stay at the Hilton Malta again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Rita B,

Thank you!
It was a pleasure to have you and all your family staying with us!. I am glad that overall your stay was a perfect one and look forward to have the pleasure to welcome you back in the very near future!

Am sorry that you have had to encounter issues but am happy that they have been solved in a timely and effecient manner.

Kind regards from the Hilton Malta Team!

Anne Marie Scicluna
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berrynarbor, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Have just returned from a 7 night stay with my daughter. We both really enjoyed the holiday and were impressed with the hotel. On arrival we were told they only had a king sized bed available, we had booked a twin room so were not too pleased, after pointing this out a twin bed room was found for us, not quite sure why it wasn't offered in the first place. I was a little concerned as our room was very close to the reception and public areas, but noise was not an issue except for the Saturday night when there was a wedding on and noise was an issue for anyone with a room near the pools! As I was on holiday I was quite relaxed about the very intrusive noise from the band, don't know if it would be the same if we had had an early start the next day.
Apart from this, the beds and pillows were very comfortable so conducive to a good nights sleep. The room and balcony were spacious, the bathroom was somewhat dated but all worked well even if the shower was not very powerful.
Breakfast was good with plenty of choice. We had dinner at the hotel most nights trying all the restaurants. The Blue Elephant was our favourite (reviewed separately). Throughout the hotel the waiting staff in particular were very friendly and helpful.
We would definitley return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jamly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne Marie S, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Malta, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear jamly,

Thank you very much for your comments about your stay with us, Hilton Malta!
I am very sorry that we did not pay attention to detail with regards to the room / bed prefernce but am very happy that we were able to accomodate and rectify this mistake in due time.

Should we have the pleasure to welcome you back, please do email me on annemarie,scicluna@hilton.com so that i personally take care of your room allocation and make sure that your holiday is flawless!

Kind regards
Anne Marie Scicluna
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Malta
InterContinental Malta
#12 of 33 in Saint Julian's
3,963 reviews
8.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort, Malta St Julian's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien St. Julians
Le Meridien St. Julians
#9 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,643 reviews
0.5 mi away
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
Corinthia Hotel St. George's Bay
#7 of 33 in Saint Julian's
2,228 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 28 in Sliema
3,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Malta

Property: Hilton Malta
Address: Portomaso, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta PTM 01, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
#2 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#3 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#4 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Malta 5*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the prestigious Portomaso development within the fashionable district of St. Julian’s, the Hilton Malta hotel has come to represent the style, comfort and hospitality for which the Hilton brand is renowned. Standing as a centrepiece of the coastline and an intrinsic part of the Tumas Group’s flagship design, Hilton Malta sits comfortably alongside Portomaso Business Tower, the Residences and Yacht Marina in one of the most exciting and dynamic property developments anywhere in the Mediterranean. With remarkable views of the Mediterranean, the 410 rooms and suites available offer the discerning guest unrivalled relaxation and comfort. All the hotels rooms and suites have a Mediterranean décor with eith a balcony or terrace overlooking the prestigious Portomaso Yacht Marina or offer spectacular views of the Mediterranean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Malta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s
Hilton Saint Julians
Hilton Saint Julian's
Hilton Hotel Malta
Saint Julian's Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing